Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cap'n Crunch Gluten Free?


KristenPK

Recommended Posts

KristenPK Rookie

Does anyone know if Cap'n Crunch-Crunch Berries is gluten free? It looks to be from the label, but I'm not sure about the "natural flavoring" ingredient.

Ingredients:

CORN FLOUR, SUGAR, OAT FLOUR, BROWN SUGAR, COCONUT OIL, SALT, SODIUM CITRATE, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL**, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, STRAWBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE, MALIC ACID, MALTODEXTRIN, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, ZINC OXIDE, YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, BHT (A PRESERVATIVE), RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



happygirl Collaborator

It has oat flour - it is not gluten free. Not safe for a Celiac to eat.

psawyer Proficient

I would be MUCH more concerned about the oat flour than the flavoring. Even if you tolerate pure oats, the oat flour is almost certain to be contaminated with wheat. So, my vote is that it is NOT gluten-free.

KristenPK Rookie
I would be MUCH more concerned about the oat flour than the flavoring. Even if you tolerate pure oats, the oat flour is almost certain to be contaminated with wheat. So, my vote is that it is NOT gluten-free.

Thanks for the quick help. We're brand new to this, and didn't know that oat flour was a no-no! Thanks--I'm learning every day.

happygirl Collaborator

Wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, and oats (unless a specialty gluten free oat) are off limits.

Here is some help with label reading:

 

Here are lists of companies that will clearly disclose any gluten source. If you don't see wheat/rye/barley/malt/oats on their labels, then its not hidden.

Wheat is required to be listed as an allergen by FDA law. Wheat cannot be hidden.

Let us know if you need more help!

Darn210 Enthusiast

If you are looking for mainstream cereals ('cause those specialty ones are so expensive :o ) try

Fruity Pebbles

Coco Pebbles

Rice Chex

Tiger&Pooh (kind of like a sweet Kix)

Dora the Explorer Stars (cinnamon-y)

Treen Bean Apprentice

Are Fruity and Coco Pebbles still gluten free? I thought I read somewhere that they weren't any more. I can't remember where I read it though.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Skeet Rookie

Pretty sure rice chex has malt flavoring... as do most mainstream cereals. :angry:

Fiddle-Faddle Community Regular

No, Rice Chex is now gluten-free! It used to have barley malt, but they now use molasses instead.

It even says "now gluten-free!" on the box.

Skeet Rookie
No, Rice Chex is now gluten-free! It used to have barley malt, but they now use molasses instead.

It even says "now gluten-free!" on the box.

YAY!! My DH will be SO happy! When we were early into the gluten elimination diet he ate the heck out of rice/corn chex until we figured out the malt thing. I guess corn chex still has the malt flavoring though?

happygirl Collaborator

Rice Chex is the only one thats gluten free.

http://www.chex.com/Recipes/CategoryView.a...yId=447&t=5

  • 1 year later...
brenna.v Newbie

Rice Chex is the only one thats gluten free.

http://www.chex.com/Recipes/CategoryView.a...yId=447&t=5

They make five different kinds of gluten free cereals now! Rice Chex, Corn Chex, Honey Nut Chex, Chocolate Chex and Cinnamon Chex :)

http://www.chex.com/recipes/glutenfree.aspx

sunnybabi1986 Contributor

Here is a good list to refer to if you aren't sure which General Mills products are gluten free:

http://www.liveglutenfreely.com/products/default.aspx

You can click on the brands on the side to see which products are gluten free, and you can also print a pocket list to take to the store with you. :)

Grace'smom Explorer

Does anyone know if Cap'n Crunch-Crunch Berries is gluten free? It looks to be from the label, but I'm not sure about the "natural flavoring" ingredient.

Ingredients:

CORN FLOUR, SUGAR, OAT FLOUR, BROWN SUGAR, COCONUT OIL, SALT, SODIUM CITRATE, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL**, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, STRAWBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE, MALIC ACID, MALTODEXTRIN, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, ZINC OXIDE, YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, BHT (A PRESERVATIVE), RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*.

The ingredient "oat flour" always suggests the presence of gluten, according to Children's Hospital Boston. We just took a celiac nutrition class there this week and that was the advice we were given. They also said to be wary of seemingly gluten free cereals that are not labeled gluten free; as there is evidence of cross contamination in the factory. This is true for Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles... they do not contain gluten in their list of ingredients, however Post Cereals makes gluten-containing cereals in their factory and tests showed that Children eating Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles frequently were ingesting significant amounts of gluten. The only other mainstream cereal I've found (not including those labeled gluten free, like Envirokids} is Chex, which comes in Cinnamon, Chocolate and Strawberry. They are labeled gluten free and do not risk cross contamination. My daughter likes them.

Grace'smom Explorer

If you are looking for mainstream cereals ('cause those specialty ones are so expensive :o ) try

Fruity Pebbles

Coco Pebbles

Rice Chex

Tiger&Pooh (kind of like a sweet Kix)

Dora the Explorer Stars (cinnamon-y)

Hi Janet

My husband and I took a course on Celiac disease for our 6 yr old daughter this past week at Children's Hospital in Boston. They advised us to stay away from Fruity and cocoa Pebbles as the hospital did a study on two celiac siblings who were eating these cereals. One of them had a high gluten count in her blood work and they traced it to her eating the cereal every day. The other rarely ate the cereals and was fine. It turned out, they said, that while the ingredients do not contain gluten, Fruity and cocoa pebbles are manufactured in a Post cereal factory that produces gluten containing cereals and therefore there was significant cross contamination. Hope this helps. Emily

  • 6 months later...
HAVD Newbie

I contacted Quaker and asked if any of the Cap'n Crunch cereals are gluten free. Here is the response I received:

"We understand how difficult it can be to live a gluten free lifestyle. Please understand, however, that we cannot guarantee Cap'n Crunch to be gluten free.

Even when gluten is not present in any of the ingredients, the grains in this product could be grown, harvested, or stored with other gluten-containing grains and thus may contain trace amounts of gluten from those other grains. It may seem minor, but many individuals sensitive to gluten cannot tolerate even small amounts.

Presently, we only label one product line, Quaker Large Rice Cakes, as gluten free. You can find this claim above the Nutrition Facts Panel on the bags.

We're sorry to disappoint you, Heather. We hope this information is helpful.

Dan

Quaker Consumer Relations

A Division of PepsiCo

Ref# 027377882A

At Quaker, we're committed to reducing our environmental impact through creative solutions for minimizing waste - like using oat hulls as a renewable fuel source."

  • 7 years later...
Jmccay Newbie

Lucky charms is gluten free also. General Mills is committed to making gluten free foods 

cyclinglady Grand Master
(edited)
17 hours ago, Jmccay said:

Lucky charms is gluten free also. General Mills is committed to making gluten free foods 

My family is still avoiding mechanically sorted “gluten free” oats and will continue to only purchase purity gluten-free oats (certified and grown in dedicated fields) until a safe testing method is in place (manufacturers, part of a stakeholder panel,  are working on this).   General Mills pulled gluten-free Cherrios from the Canadian market.  They sell Cherrios but no longer labeled as gluten free until they can prove they are safe (unfortunately, the FDA (USA) does not worry about their celiacs — at least that is how I interpret it).    

https://www.glutenfreewatchdog.org/news/general-mills-removing-gluten-free-claim-from-cheerios-in-canada-implications-for-us-market/

Meeting minutes from AOAC indicates they are still working on it (Item V), so I am still not buying mechanically sorted oats.  

ISPAM_Draft_Minutes_3-13-18_FINAL.pdf

Edited by cyclinglady
  • 11 months later...
chiqlin23 Newbie

I bought the Nima tester. An electronic antibody based gluten detecting machine. Highly accurate. Cap'n Crunch tested positive for gluten, as did Frosted flakes. 

Cereals that have tested gluten free so far are: Cookie Crisps, and the Peanut Butter and Chocolate version of Cocao/Fruity Pebbles. 

kareng Grand Master
(edited)
3 hours ago, chiqlin23 said:

I bought the Nima tester. An electronic antibody based gluten detecting machine. Highly accurate. Cap'n Crunch tested positive for gluten, as did Frosted flakes. 

Cereals that have tested gluten free so far are: Cookie Crisps, and the Peanut Butter and Chocolate version of Cocao/Fruity Pebbles. 

 

I don’t think that Cap’n Crunch nor Frosted Flakes have ever claimed to be gluten-free in the US.  

 

Edited by kareng
cyclinglady Grand Master
(edited)
3 hours ago, chiqlin23 said:

I bought the Nima tester. An electronic antibody based gluten detecting machine. Highly accurate. Cap'n Crunch tested positive for gluten, as did Frosted flakes. 

Cereals that have tested gluten free so far are: Cookie Crisps, and the Peanut Butter and Chocolate version of Cocao/Fruity Pebbles. 

I think it is safer to read labels and to contact the company.  I am not sure if your box for the Cookie Crisp matches the boxes sold at Target.  Those at Target state that they may contain wheat.  The ones sold in the UK by Nestle do have wheat.  

https://www.target.com/p/cookie-crisp-breakfast-cereal-11-25oz-general-mills/-/A-12935813

The Pebbles look to be okay per the company website.  I would personally stick with Post’s cereals that are labeled gluten free which means it should be under 20 ppm.  

https://www.postconsumerbrands.com/questions-answers/

From the NIMA website which also advises asking questions and reading labels over the NIMA result:

“THE PRODUCT IS NOT A MEDICAL DEVICE; IS NOT REGULATED OR APPROVED BY THE U.S. FOOD AND DRUG ADMINISTRATION; AND IS NOT DESIGNED TO DETERMINE WHETHER YOU WILL HAVE AN ALLERGIC REACTION OR SENSITIVITY TO THE FOODS THAT YOU TEST. YOU SHOULD NOT RELY ON NIMA ALONE TO IDENTIFY THE PRESENCE OF ALLERGENS. YOU WILL STILL NEED TO ASK QUESTIONS OF THOSE WHO PREPARE FOOD, READ PACKAGING LABELS AND MENUS, AND CONSIDER ALL SOURCES OF INFORMATION IN ADDITION TO TESTS CONDUCTED WITH A NIMA. USING NIMA WILL NOT REPLACE THE NEED TO CARRY AN EPINEPHRINE AUTO-INJECTOR. IF A PRODUCT IS LABELED AS CONTAINING AN ALLERGEN, YOU SHOULD RELY ON THE LABEL. THE PRODUCT IS INTENDED TO BE USED WITH THE NIMA ONE-TIME-USE CAPSULES AND THE NIMA MOBILE APPLICATION TO DETERMINE WHETHER GLUTEN IS IN THE FOOD SAMPLE THAT YOU TEST, AND IS LIMITED TO THAT SAMPLE, WHICH MAY NOT BE REPRESENTATIVE OF THE FOOD SERVING AS A WHOLE. THE PRODUCT IS NOT A SUBSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL CARE OR ADULT SUPERVISION. THE PRODUCT IS NOT INTENDED FOR USE IN WHICH ERRORS OR FAILURE COULD LEAD TO PERSONAL INJURY OR DEATH. NONE OF THIS INFORMATION OR ANY OTHER INFORMATION IN OUR USAGE GUIDES IS IN ANY WAY INTENDED TO CONSTITUTE OR REPLACE MEDICAL ADVICE.”

https://nimasensor.com/nima-warranty/

 

Edited by cyclinglady
  • 1 year later...
jduffey3 Newbie

Oats ARE naturally gluten free, but in this case they are cross contaminated.

They're site says they share transportation with other gains and it gets mixed when processing. This was my favorite sugary cereal 

trents Grand Master
3 hours ago, jduffey3 said:

Oats ARE naturally gluten free, but in this case they are cross contaminated.

They're site says they share transportation with other gains and it gets mixed when processing. This was my favorite sugary cereal 

Apparently, about 10% of Celiac Disease suffers react to oat gluten like they do wheat/barley/rye gluten and I'm talking about oats that are not cross contaminated. 

  • 3 years later...
celiacpaula Rookie
On 10/30/2008 at 8:30 PM, KristenPK said:

Does anyone know if Cap'n Crunch-Crunch Berries is gluten free? It looks to be from the label, but I'm not sure about the "natural flavoring" ingredient.

 

Ingredients:

CORN FLOUR, SUGAR, OAT FLOUR, BROWN SUGAR, COCONUT OIL, SALT, SODIUM CITRATE, PARTIALLY HYDROGENATED SOYBEAN OIL**, NATURAL AND ARTIFICIAL FLAVORS, STRAWBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE, MALIC ACID, MALTODEXTRIN, MODIFIED CORN STARCH, NIACINAMIDE*, REDUCED IRON, ZINC OXIDE, YELLOW 5, RED 40, YELLOW 6, BLUE 1, THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE*, BHT (A PRESERVATIVE), RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*.

No, because it might come in contact with other cereals that aren't  gluten free. The company said this.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,661
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JR2025
    Newest Member
    JR2025
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • pplewis3d
      Thanks, Scott! I appreciate you looking that up for me. Perhaps that will be good enough for someone but not for me...super sensitive dermatitis herpetiformis here. I don't take any chances that I can avoid. ~Pam
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
    • Liamclarke
      I was diagnosed with celiac at age 8 when I dropped down to the bottom 18% of my height and weight class this lead to tests which lead to celiac. I was devastated however with a gluten-free diet I am now taller than 60% of my grade. As I grew older I grew but my symptoms changed to violently throwing up everything inside of my body from a tiny macaron that I know had gluten in it and caused my reaction. However recently I had a full wheat containing cookie and didn’t feel a thing. Absolutely no symptoms at all. No upset stomach no diharea no anything not even a headache. So I told my doctor and he told me to experiment. What better than a fried fluffy donut that aren’t the same gluten-free I had half and had no reaction, not to mention the top ingredient was wheat and it was delicious. Yet still my mom is skeptical and I need to know. Can a kid outgrow celiac?????
    • knitty kitty
      Hi, @Richardo,  Welcome to the forum!   Good suggestions, although we are aware here that oats, corn and rice can cause problems for some because their proteins have segments that resemble segments of the gluten protein.   What I find most helpful for my dermatitis herpetiformis flares is to increase Niacin Vitamin B 3 and Thiamine Vitamin B 1.  Niacin and Thiamine are needed to turn those carbohydrates into energy to fuel metabolic reactions that keep us healthy.  An influx of carbohydrates demands more of these vitamins.  Since malabsorption of Celiac can cause us to be low in the eight essential water soluble B vitamins, consuming a high carbohydrate diet can deplete thiamine and niacin stores rapidly. There's evidence that Niacin insufficiency plays a big part in dermatitis herpetiformis.   The flushing form of Niacin is known to dilate small blood vessels in the skin which allows the antibodies to be easily cleared from the blisters and induce healing.   Niacin intake should be kept under 500 mg a day otherwise it will lower bad cholesterol and raise good cholesterol, but this should only be done under doctor supervision.   Thiamine is nontoxic and safe Eve in high doses.  Every cell in the body needs thiamine to fuel the mitochondrial functions.  A high carbohydrate diet requires 500 - 1000 mg more for every 1000 calories from carbs.  
    • trents
      @Tracey Thomas, Is that the only celiac test that was run? From the magnitude of the reference range, that looks like it was the "total IGA" test to check for IGA deficiency. It is not checking for celiac disease per se. If you are IGA deficient, it can cause false negatives in the individual IGA celiac antibody tests. Were there any other celiac antibody tests run?
×
×
  • Create New...