Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

More Trouble At Pf Changs?


jmreed

Recommended Posts

HappyGrandma Rookie

Always had good luck at PF Chang's. I don't eat any soy sauces. Did eat a smiching of hot mustard.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Wartooth Newbie

One thing that I have found helps is to have at least one "gluten-free sympathetic" person at your table who will also order from the gluten-free menu. My husband is now in the habit of ordering a gluten-free entree when we go to P.F. Chang's. That's in addition to requesting the gluten-free lettuce wraps. I've yet to have an issue with them, but we go rather infrequently. When there are two or three other people at the table and you're not the only one ordering gluten-free food, it seems to help get the point across and adds yet another sale of gluten-free food for them to notice.

I think a lot of people, despite training, believe that gluten isn't THAT big of an issue since we don't go into some anaphylactic shock and there aren't horror stories of that sort where people are dying within minutes unlike, say, peanut allergies and such. And a lot of others think this is just some voluntary dietary thing.

kareng Grand Master

We all (4) order from the gluten-free menu at PF Changs. That way we can share and my picky guy can find one he likes ( beef with peppers )

Lisa Mentor

Don't ever use the soy sauce they put on the table. You have to request gluten free soy sauce and they will bring it to you.

minniejack Contributor

Just ate again yesterday at PF Changs in Pittsburgh (Homestead) without a problem. However, it took me months to go back again after an incident last December--I think the waitress deliberately put hair in my and my daughter's meals.

Don't even say come on....it was busy...she got nasty when I told her that all but one of needed gluten-free menus, then condescendingly informed me that vinegar was glutened--I told her that it was fine for me and that only malt vinegar was not safe. The food was cold.

Took me a lonnnnnng time to return and even then went to another one in Pitts.

Could've, should've complained, but dear hubby didn't want to complain on his b-day meal. :rolleyes:

Servers should have the maturity to realize that when a customer tells them about a food allergy, it's not to annoy them. We are trying our best not to have to spend the weekend in the bathroom, the emergency room, or the morgue.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,792
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Duzy
    Newest Member
    Duzy
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...