Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Help! Kraft Jello And Salad Dressing


Donna F

Recommended Posts

Donna F Enthusiast

I am really confused about Kraft. I see a product lising for Canada, but nothing for the US. I've read here that Kraft CLEARLY LABELS allergens after each ingredient, but now I've read that "natural flavors" may have gluten in it? And I also bought Viva Italian salad dressing b/c there was nothing in the ingredients to worry about, but I don't even see it on the Canadian site as being gluten-free. So what's going on here? Do they truly list allergen sources or not? I've just eaten the Jello before finding that information, and I'm worried I'll have a problem now (which I can't afford to have, since I am in an already high-risk pregnancy!). I haven't had the dressing (thankfully), but it doesn't say anything after 'vinegar' in the ingredients. Does that mean it's a gluten-free vinegar?

Confused and worried,

-donna


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiac3270 Collaborator

Do you want to know if it's gluten-free in the US or Canada? Jello is gluten-free in the US and all gluten must be listed. If there are flavors that contain gluten, Kraft would write them like this: natural flavors (wheat). So in the US, just read the label.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

I'm not sure about Canada because I do not live there but I know in the US that Kraft will not hide wheat,rye,barley, or oats under anything.For example:if there is modified food starch on the label of a Kraft product but doesn't say wheat,rye, barley, or oats after it then it is safe...Kraft will list the allergen after the ingredient if it is in the product. Hope this clears some things up :D

tarnalberry Community Regular

There is - apparently - a difference in how Kraft handles their items in Canada versus the US. There is a list for Canada, the general policy for labeling in the US. So, if you're in Canada, go by the list. If you're in the US, go by the label. (Even if they're different - sometimes the product formulations ARE different.)

Donna F Enthusiast

Ok, I am in the US and couldn't find a gluten-free US listing. But as far as ingredients go, do you think they would label wheat after vinegar? I've never seen that before. I would love to try this dressing (Viva Italian) but I want to make sure.

Really relieved about the Jello!

-donna

celiac3270 Collaborator

They should...otherwise they wouldn't be living up to their pledge about listing gluten on the label.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yes they would list wheat,rye,barley,or oats after the vinegar if it contained it.(in the US that is)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Donna F Enthusiast

sounds hopeful!

Have either of you (or anyone else) ever tried the Viva Italian? I just can't believe it could be gluten-free. That would be so awesome! It was my favorite dressing and marinade!

-donna

lovegrov Collaborator

Can't think of how else to say this except to repeat -- Kraft will clearly list wheat, rye, barley or oats if it's in there. They are one of the best big companies about this. If those are not in the ingredients, IT IS gluten-free. No need to question it any further.

richard

Donna F Enthusiast
Can't think of how else to say this except to repeat -- Kraft will clearly list wheat, rye, barley or oats if it's in there. They are one of the best big companies about this. If those are not in the ingredients, IT IS gluten-free. No need to question it any further.

richard

Aye captain! :D

Guest gfinnebraska

I, personally, LOVE Richard's frank comments. If I need an answer, I know Richard will give it to me straight. No flowery terms or doubts. He is a blessing to this site!!! :D

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,805
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Jennifer G
    Newest Member
    Jennifer G
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...