Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

See's Candies


Ahorsesoul

Recommended Posts

Ahorsesoul Enthusiast

I wanted to order some See's Chocolate for the Holidays. I wrote to them about 6 p.m. last night, they answered at 9:16 pm. With the following information. They get the seal of approval from me!

Denise Becerra <custserv@sees.com> Mon, Dec 8, 2008 at 9:16 PM

Thank you for visiting Sees.com. In response to your request for information about the presence of gluten in our candies, our Quality Assurance Manager has advised that we have reformulated our products and eliminated wheat as a direct ingredient in all of our candies packed in standard boxes. Some of our packaging for our Awesome Candy Bars still lists flour (wheat) however this is no longer the case. We also do not use rye, barley, oats or malt as ingredients in our candies. Therefore, none of our Custom Mix pieces contain gluten as a direct ingredient and cross contact is no longer a possibility. This would include our Peanut Brittle, Krispys, and our Sugar Free products.

You may have noticed that we do have some products which are manufactured for us. Some of these items that do not contain gluten are our Milk Chocolate Drops, Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips, Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Foil Novelties, Sugar Sticks and Sour Chews. As we've noted, most of our products are gluten free.

However, we do have a few items which our Quality Assurance Department does not consider to be gluten free because of their decorations or they are produced in a facility that processes gluten. These are all decorated Creams (decoration), Springtime Truffles (decoration), Egg Nog Truffles (decoration), all Climber Canes, Puppet Canes and Candy Canes, and the 3 oz. Bordeaux, Chocolate Walnut, and Dark Raspberry Hearts (decorations). Also, all of our decorated Easter Eggs may contain gluten because of their decorations. The only decorated Easter Eggs that would not contain gluten are our 9.5 oz. decorated Rocky Road Egg and our 13.5 oz. decorated Chocolate Butter with Pecans Egg.

In addition to the information above, we wish to advise that the distilled apple cider vinegar used in our Butterscotch Lollypops and Little Pops is grain based.

I hope this information is helpful. Thank you for your interest in See's Candies and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you soon.

Denise Becerra

See's Candies Customer Service

--- Original Message ---

Received: 12/8/2008 5:56:35 PM Pacific Standard Time (GMT - 8:00 )

To: custserv@sees.com

Subject: gluten?

Do you have a list of which of your candies contain gluten? Thank you

for your time.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



fedora Enthusiast

I was just checking on this because someone gave us some see's for christmas.

we got 3 foil wrapped chocolates and a box of mixed chocolates.

according to this letter, they should be fine.

They say their candies in standard boxes, I assume they mean their chocolates?

msmini14 Enthusiast

They should be safe except for the ones listed and the decorated ones. Be careful with ones that could have graham cracker, not sure if that is in your box. Maybe cut them open before you eat? No one ever gets me candy but I always buy the ones from the kids that sell the bars lol

  • 8 years later...
HST Newbie

Hello!  I wanted to share an updated reply from See's Candies on their gluten free products......

 
"Thank you for your inquiry about the presence of gluten in our candies. You’ll be happy to know that all our candies are gluten-free.  This would include the pieces with decorations on them.
 
We do not make “gluten free” claims in our product packaging.  Gluten free certification is typically pursued by companies that make such claims on their labels or package and therefore need independent accreditation that they are following a specific process/program to comply.  See’s only purchases ingredients that do not contain wheat/gluten and if the facilities from which ingredients are purchased process wheat, then the supplier is required to test for presence of gluten in their environment and/or product. 
 
FDA defines gluten free as a product that is inherently gluten free; or does not contain:
 
1) a gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt wheat);
2) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour); or
3) derived from a gluten-containing grain that has been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat starch), if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 parts per million (ppm) or more gluten in the food.
Also, any unavoidable presence of gluten in the food must be less than 20 ppm
 
Our products meet the above criteria.   We do not intend to make gluten free claims in our packaging and do not intend to pursue certification at this time.
 
I hope this information is helpful.  We appreciate your interest in See's Candies and look forward to serving you soon."
 
Consumer Affairs Department
See's Candies
===============
 
  • 1 month later...
Jkat Newbie

How can a 13.5 decorated chocolate butter with pecans Easter egg be gluten free ?

thanks, Judy 

kareng Grand Master
1 hour ago, Jkat said:

How can a 13.5 decorated chocolate butter with pecans Easter egg be gluten free ?

thanks, Judy 

If you are commenting on one of the original posts - that info is 9 years old.  You might want to get up to date info on the product.  

Jkat Newbie

Thanks for pointing the date out .


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



cyclinglady Grand Master
17 hours ago, Jkat said:

How can a 13.5 decorated chocolate butter with pecans Easter egg be gluten free ?

thanks, Judy 

Here is the current See's gluten free statement:

Open Original Shared Link

So, it is not certified gluten-free, but all the ingredients are gluten free.  We eat See's! 

But I do not eat it once the box has been opened and all my gluten-eating nieces and nephews touch the candy searching for their favorite pieces while at parties.  Of course, their parents do not condone this action.....but the kids still do it.  ?

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...