Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Are Halls Gluten Free


1morething

Recommended Posts

1morething Explorer

I'm checking the ingredients in Halls and they list isomalt as an ingredient. I know that malt is gluten but is isomalt??

thanks

Rachel


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

Isomalt is a sweetener and does not contain malt. It is gluten-free.

fedora Enthusiast

halls are gluten free. I ate tons this winter(sick) and was fine.

ricola was not the last time I checked.

wschmucks Contributor

Yes! They are gluten free. I am always nervous about "natural"...themed products, like Halls natural (im always scared they will have gluten in there), so i personally stay away from those types of flavors. But technically yes-- they have said their products are gluten-free. Feel better!

  • 9 years later...
sdvikingmac Newbie

A July 2018 "verywellfit" article states they aren't (or at least may not be), after asking the manufacturer: https://www.verywellfit.com/gluten-free-cough-drops-562381

  • 4 weeks later...
Gemini Experienced
On 7/31/2018 at 3:11 PM, sdvikingmac said:

A July 2018 "verywellfit" article states they aren't (or at least may not be), after asking the manufacturer: https://www.verywellfit.com/gluten-free-cough-drops-562381

I have been using the Halls sugar free honey lemon cough drops for years and have never had any kind of issue with them. My blood work is always stellar and I am a very sensitive Celiac who does not play Russian Roulette with my food.  The review just sounds like the usual disclaimer written by a company who doesn't want to get sued.  I consider them safe.

  • 4 years later...
miraaaaaaa Newbie
On 8/27/2018 at 4:11 PM, Gemini said:

I have been using the Halls sugar free honey lemon cough drops for years and have never had any kind of issue with them. My blood work is always stellar and I am a very sensitive Celiac who does not play Russian Roulette with my food.  The review just sounds like the usual disclaimer written by a company who doesn't want to get sued.  I consider them safe.

They are made in the same factory as oreos and cadbury chocolate so they say it’s not gluten free due to the possibility of cross contamination, so no, i wouldn’t just tell everyone it’s completely safe. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Scott Adams Grand Master

Welcome to the forum @miraaaaaaa, would you mind sharing where you got this info?

miraaaaaaa Newbie
20 minutes ago, Scott Adams said:

Welcome to the forum @miraaaaaaa, would you mind sharing where you got this info?

www.verywellfit.com states, “Halls are not gluten-free. This well-known brand is a subsidiary of Mondelez International, a huge multinational snack company that makes such products as Oreos cookies and Cadbury chocolate bars.Sep 29, 2021”

Scott Adams Grand Master

It seems they are doing the CYA here, which is unfortunate, as they cough drops don't contain any gluten ingredients, and don't list wheat as an allergen:

https://www.amazon.com/HALLS-Relief-Cherry-Cough-Mentho-Lyptus/dp/B09HY4SCR5

This article may be helpful:

 

  • 2 weeks later...
Nikhil12 Newbie

Isomalt is a sugar substitute that is commonly used in sugar-free and low-calorie products, including some flavors of Halls cough drops. Fortunately, isomalt is gluten-free, so it should be safe for individuals with gluten sensitivities or celiac disease to consume.

 

 

Wheatwacked Veteran

I've been using zinc gluconate lozenges (Cold-Eeze) and have not had a cold or sinus infection since starting in 2004.  Until then I had two or three a year, almost like on schedule.

  • 6 months later...
Jane07 Enthusiast

Does anyone know if the cherry halls are gluten free . If not what can I used for a sore throat 

Scott Adams Grand Master

I'm not sure about Halls, but:

 

Aaron2018 Enthusiast
On 5/1/2023 at 5:50 PM, miraaaaaaa said:

They are made in the same factory as oreos and cadbury chocolate so they say it’s not gluten free due to the possibility of cross contamination, so no, i wouldn’t just tell everyone it’s completely safe. 

I agree with this comment, cross contamination is a big deal, especially if you have celiac disease. No company’s products that you are buying should have cross-contamination to be safe. I don’t take risks and if a company cannot assure me from either contacting them or their website that they are gluten-free, then I will not consume the product, it’s best to play it safe rather than take a chance if you’re uncertain , I would look for one that is certified if you can find one or try a different company that says they don’t have cross contamination.

Jane07 Enthusiast

Thanks for everyone comments about halls. How about Mouthwash toothpaste what ones are gluten free .  

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

Are use Sensodyne toothpaste, and they are gluten-free, there are sensitivity toothpaste, but I can’t comment for any other toothpaste, because this is the brand of specifically used only maybe someone else can comment on other toothpaste

Just now, Aaron2018 said:

Are use Sensodyne toothpaste, and they are gluten-free, there are sensitivity toothpaste, but I can’t comment for any other toothpaste, because this is the brand of specifically used only maybe someone else can comment on other toothpaste

Sorry, I meant to say are use Sensodyne toothpaste it is for sensitivity it is gluten-free but I cannot comment about other brands because I do not use other brands. Maybe someone else can comment an update with other brands they use that are gluten-free.

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

I also recommend that you use plain unflavoured to floss or a brand that is certified gluten-free, because there can be gluten in the flavourings I found

Aaron2018 Enthusiast

I will also direct you to a different posting that talks about gluten free mouthwash https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/what-brands-of-mouthwash-are-gluten-free-r5944/

Scott Adams Grand Master
21 hours ago, Aaron2018 said:

Are use Sensodyne toothpaste, and they are gluten-free, there are sensitivity toothpaste, but I can’t comment for any other toothpaste, because this is the brand of specifically used only maybe someone else can comment on other toothpaste

Sorry, I meant to say are use Sensodyne toothpaste it is for sensitivity it is gluten-free but I cannot comment about other brands because I do not use other brands. Maybe someone else can comment an update with other brands they use that are gluten-free.

 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,803
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Nikki W
    Newest Member
    Nikki W
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...