Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Nestle's Hot Chocolate


JoeB

Recommended Posts

JoeB Apprentice

I just started using Nestle's hot chocolate mix last month after seeing on this site that it is gluten free. Unfortunately, I just bought a new box and it no longer says that it's gluten free. It now says it is made in a factory that processes wheat.

Be careful! Check the box before using.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

The fact that it's made in a facility that also has wheat doesn't necessarily mean it isn't gluten-free. I eat --and so do many people with celiac -- a number of items made in facilities with wheat. Every time you eat a restaurant, you're doing the same thing. It's simply a matter of choice.

richard

happygirl Collaborator

Its important to note that the product and processing may not have changed from when it said gluten free. They may have just updated their labels. (Meaning - if it was gluten free then, it would still be gluten free now).

A shared facility does not mean it contains gluten. Most places are "shared" (including many homes and work environments).

ravenwoodglass Mentor

If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

lovegrov Collaborator

Did it actually ever say gluten-free on the box, or were you just assuming it did because people said it was gluten-free? I didn't think Nestle labeled things gluten-free.

richard

Judyin Philly Enthusiast
If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

happygirl Collaborator

Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Judyin Philly Enthusiast
Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.

Thanks Laura

Judy

ravenwoodglass Mentor
wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

Yes barley malt can be hidden and is one of the most risky items for us. Wheat has to by law be on a label, barley and it's malt as well as oats and rye don't. One of the reasons why I always call with the words 'natural' flavors on a label unless it is from a for sure 'doesn't hide gluten' company. Rice Dream is one company that hides barley malt in this way and others do also.

JoeB Apprentice

Barley malt is not listed as an ingredient.

The box previously was labeled gluten-free. The new boxes are not.

I understand the cross contamination issue, however, I've gotten very sick on several products that contained no gluten, but were produced in a factory that processed wheat products. As a result, I try to stay away from those products whenever possible.

Joe

happygirl Collaborator

The ingredients have not changed, nor has the processing changed (per phone call). It was gluten free then, and is gluten free now.

Eric-C Enthusiast

Yep I can confirm the old boxes said gluten free.

We just had this discussion at the grocery story. We rarely buy it in the first place and when we did the wife always bought Nestle because it was the only one that said gluten free.

With the power outage all last week and no heat we picked up a few boxes and immediately noticed not gluten free.

A box later no problems but you never know. I don't think they can put the gluten-free label because its not an exclusive factory?

Darn210 Enthusiast

Personally, I still trust the Nestle's but if you would like for your hot chocolate to be labeled gluten free (and be cheaper), check out the Great Value (Wal-Mart) brand.

JennyC Enthusiast
If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

  • 1 month later...
brigala Explorer

Try Stephen's Gourmet Hot Cocoa. It's labeled "Gluten Free" and it is delicious. And less expensive (oz for oz) than Nestle, at least at my local Winco.

( Open Original Shared Link )

I don't know about possible cc issues with them, although I have sent an inquiry through their website, and will post when I hear back. I am not a super-sensitive Celiac so the fact that I haven't had a problem with it probably is not a good benchmark for others to follow.

Guittard also makes a "Drinking Chocolate" but it's fairly spendy and I've never seen it in the store. It can be ordered on their website:

( Open Original Shared Link )

According to the FAQ at guittard.com, they do not produce any gluten-containing products in their factory. I bought some of their butterscotch chips at the store the other day. They've got a to-die-for-looking butterscotch brownie recipe on their website that I'm going to try using rice flour as a substitute.

I avoid Nestle for reasons of conscience anyway, so I've been on the lookout for alternative-hot-cocoa-mixes for a long time. :)

-Elizabeth

Takala Enthusiast
Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

________________

Then why change the label ?

From a legal standpoint, if they do not label the package "gluten free" they don't have to make it that way, be consistent from batch to batch, nor do they have to guarantee that the item is that way.

It says the consumer must take the initiative to contact them repeatedly, and then rely on verbal confirmation that the item has not hidden anything in the ingredients.

  • 3 years later...
camillesyl Newbie

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

kareng Grand Master

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

Please notice that this thread is over 3 years old. Products can change in that time. Always read the package for the most up-to-date ingredients.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,001
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Sharon AJ
    Newest Member
    Sharon AJ
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
    • knitty kitty
      Welcome to the forum, @WildFlower1, Here's an article that explains about the updated gluten challenge guidelines.  Be sure to read the comments below the article. Have you been checked for nutritional deficiencies?  Low iron can affect antibody production, causing false negatives on antibody testing.  Do you currently struggle with low iron?   Low Vitamin D can cause amenorrhea, cessation of menstrual periods.   Correcting nutritional deficiencies is a big part of Celiac disease.  We don't absorb well the eight essential B vitamins and other vitamins and minerals like calcium, resulting in osteopenia, hair loss, infertility, and neurological symptoms.  Unfortunately, doctors are not given much training in nutritional deficiencies and don't recognize the connection with the malabsorption of Celiac disease. We get very frustrated here with doctors ordering us to put a harmful substance in our bodies in order for them to say "that makes you sick".   Duh, we know that already. Do try to increase your consumption of gluten for at least two weeks before retesting.  Eat the chewy kinds of breads.  Cookies and cakes don't have as much gluten in them as those chewy artisan breads and thick pizza crusts. I admire your tenacity at continuing the gluten challenge.  Do keep us posted on your progress.  We'll continue to support you on your journey to diagnosis and recovery.
×
×
  • Create New...