Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

National Post - Discovery Offers Hope For Celiac Sufferers


leadmeastray88

Recommended Posts

leadmeastray88 Contributor

Not sure what to think of this:

Open Original Shared Link

DISCOVERY OFFERS HOPE FOR CELIAC SUFFERERS

Canwest News Service Published: Wednesday, January 07, 2009

A researcher at the University of Alberta has found a cost-effective way to produce antibodies against gluten, potentially opening up a whole new world for people with celiac disease. Celiacs cannot tolerate gluten -- a protein found in wheat, barley and rye -- and currently there is no cure. Hoon Sunwoo, a research associate in the faculty of pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences, has produced antibodies in chicken eggs that will allow celiacs to eat bread and other foods containing gluten. It will head to human clinical trials this fall, provided it passes animal safety studies. Gluten helps bread and other baked goods bind and prevents crumbling, and is used in many processed and packaged foods. It is estimated that one in 133 Canadians is affected by celiac disease.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tom Contributor

I don't get how this makes any sense whatsoever.

It says "celiacs can't tolerate gluten", but we all know we have an auto-immune reaction, not an intolerance.

Antibodies???? Umm we make plenty on our own & they are the basis of the blood test.

Maybe there's something real here & the reporter just did an incredibly poor job??

sbj Rookie

This article is poorly written. I found something much more clear:

Open Original Shared Link

Another nutraceutical being developed in Alberta may offer a treatment of sorts for a disease that
elonwy Enthusiast

Well, I'm allergic to eggs... but it sounds very interesting.

lizard00 Enthusiast
Well, I'm allergic to eggs...

Me too!

It just sounds more like glutenease or something already out there. Just to serve as a precaution against contamination, not so much to actually make it edible for us.

That was a very poorly written article.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,876
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Calsmom
    Newest Member
    Calsmom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...