Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

I'm Mad At Nature Valley's Granola Bars


626Belle

Recommended Posts

Roda Rising Star

If you tolerate oates may I suggest you try certified gluten free oats? I saw Udi's gluten free granola at the store. It was in a bag and is made with certified gluten free oats. Most other sources of oats are cross contaminated. I am envious of anyone who can eat gluten free oats. Even those I react badly to. Kind and boomi bars are my favorite and are oat and gluten free.

  • 3 years later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tlbpeterson Newbie

hi!  i'm finding this post 5 years too late, but i just wanted to let you know that malt is no longer listed as an ingredient on the deliciously crunchy oat n honey bars.  (they are so good!)  i sent nature valley a message to see if there are any other ingredients in the bars that would prevent the item from being gluten free.  (besides the oats, that is.  i have full blown celiac, but do fine with non-gluten-free oats)

 

 

Figuring out that it was gluten that was causing me such digestive pain and discomfort starting almost a year ago sent me into a deep depression. Suddenly, I couldn't eat ANYTHING, and everything hurt. I racked up some doctor bills, maxed out my crappy health benefits, and didn't even get a diagnosis. Before all this mess, getting through the day was hard enough hungerwise because of my high metabolism. I also get really bored with large portions of the same food, so I like to have numerous sides or snacks to go with meals.

Now, with this new stumbling block, it became extremely difficult to pack lunches to take to work. I found time to prepare steamed or sauteed zucchini and white or brown rice, but what about snacks? Sure, applesauce, yogurt, fruit snacks, fresh fruit, carrots, and the like are good choices that are easy to take along, but I was missing something more "substantial." Since I could no longer choose crackers or cookies, I looked at various bars and thought my usual staple made by Nature Valley would still work. Unfortunately, when I first started the gluten-free diet, I didn't comprehend the intricacies of it, which include the danger of the word malt.

Now I know and I'm more careful, but I had overlooked my granola bars. (I haven't noticed any discomfort from eating oats, by the way)
I was all too trusting of your labeling practices, NV. Sure, you list out everything all nice and neat:

and even include a nice little warning that seems pretty specific:

...leaving it all too easy to overlook the fact that your "crisp rice with soy protein" is infected with malt. ohmy.gif
I've been eating your bars on and off for the last 9 months, so trusting, so unaware, blaming the gurgly guts on cross-contamination of *other* products until I was bored the other day at school and read the ingredients of an Oats 'n Honey bar just to occupy myself as I munched on it.

I'm mad now.

  • At your company for having such delicious, inexpensive, and easily obtainable bars that I can't eat.
  • At myself for not reading more slowly and noticing "malt" hiding there right next to "salt"
  • At crisp rice makers for finding it completely necessary to flavor their products with malt powders, syrups, and extracts.
...and at gluten in general. I feel like I didn't evolve properly or something :angry:

(Quotes sourced from Open Original Shared Link because the US Nature Valley site doesn't list their individual product ingredients)
Note:
While I was searching for the ingredients for the granola bars, I may have stumbled upon one or two flavors that might not have the crisped rice and offending malt in them, so I'm going to check all of the flavors next time I'm at the store. You're still on my pooplist, though. *shakes fist*

 

kareng Grand Master

hi! i'm finding this post 5 years too late, but i just wanted to let you know that malt is no longer listed as an ingredient on the deliciously crunchy oat n honey bars. (they are so good!) i sent nature valley a message to see if there are any other ingredients in the bars that would prevent the item from being gluten free. (besides the oats, that is. i have full blown celiac, but do fine with non-gluten-free oats)

The oats are not gluten free oats, so these products would not be safe for a Celiac.

Open Original Shared Link

For someone with Celiac, even one with no symptoms, gluten is causing damage.:

Open Original Shared Link

"The gluten-free diet is a lifetime requirement. Eating any gluten, no matter how small an amount, can damage your intestine. This is true for anyone with the disease, including people who do not have noticeable symptoms. It can take weeks for antibody levels (indicating intestinal damage) to normalize after a person with celiac disease has consumed gluten. "

gilligan Enthusiast

Am I understanding this correctly?  Nature Valley gluten free granola bars are not gluten free?

kareng Grand Master

Am I understanding this correctly?  Nature Valley gluten free granola bars are not gluten free?

 

This new poster dredged up an old top from before the gluten-free ones were even made. This topic  is talking about the regular granola bars with oats. The oats are not gluten free and that makes them not safe for Celiacs.  

 

 

 

The Almond Crunch, labelled Gluten free, do not contain oats.

tlbpeterson Newbie

Am I understanding this correctly?  Nature Valley gluten free granola bars are not gluten free?

they only marking on the wrapper is the kosher U, no gluten-free label listed.  the allergens list soy, peanut, almond and pecan.  when this thread originated in 2009, the ingredients listed malt.   but it's not on there any more.

 

have you been eating them with no problems?  i'm okay with them.

kareng Grand Master

they only marking on the wrapper is the kosher U, no gluten-free label listed.  the allergens list soy, peanut, almond and pecan.  when this thread originated in 2009, the ingredients listed malt.   but it's not on there any more.

 

have you been eating them with no problems?  i'm okay with them.

 

 

I thought you said you were talking about the ones with oats.  Those are not safe forCeliacs.  They do make a kind with almonds that are gluten-free.

 

This is the gluten-free one.  There is a peanut ones, too, but I have never seen them.

 

 

Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



gilligan Enthusiast

I got a box of the roasted almond nut crunch in a "gluten free box of the month" club from TasteGuru.  Yes, I ate them without a problem. The box states gluten free, and I didn't see anything scary listed in the ingredients.  I just ordered more boxes from Amazon, so I sure hope they are okay.  Yikes!  I didn't look for an official gluten-free insignia, but I certainly will next time.

kareng Grand Master

I got a box of the roasted almond nut crunch in a "gluten free box of the month" club from TasteGuru.  Yes, I ate them without a problem. The box states gluten free, and I didn't see anything scary listed in the ingredients.  I just ordered more boxes from Amazon, so I sure hope they are okay.  Yikes!  I didn't look for an official gluten-free insignia, but I certainly will next time.

 

 

Those are fine!  Its the ones with the oats that are not fine!

kareng Grand Master

Those are fine!  Its the ones with the oats that are not fine!

This is getting silly. The info on this thread was from 2009. I don't think The gluten-free ones were even around then.

The problem is the other granola bars that contain oats. NAture valley isn't using gluten-free oats, so they do not claim those are gluten-free. No matter what tbpetersen says, experts do not recommend Celiacs eat oats which have not been certified gluten-free. It is an accepted " practice " that oats can contain wheat.

gilligan Enthusiast

This is getting silly. The info on this thread was from 2009. I don't think The gluten-free ones were even around then.

The problem is the other granola bars that contain oats. NAture valley isn't using gluten-free oats, so they do not claim those are gluten-free. No matter what tbpetersen says, experts do not recommend Celiacs eat oats which have not been certified gluten-free. It is an accepted " practice " that oats can contain wheat.

Thank you for clearing this up.

kareng Grand Master

Thank you for clearing this up.

Thank you for saying this. Sometime I feel like I am talking to myself here! :)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,006
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...