Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Fry's Cocoa


misseditbythatmuch

Recommended Posts

misseditbythatmuch Newbie

Fry's is a brand of Cocoa that is sold in Canada (and possibly other countries). I recently have been trying to figure out if it is gluten-free, so I have been reading labels.

Initially figuring this out was confusing. One of my sisters has a can of this cocoa which says that it may contain traces of wheat (and may also mention other allergens). My parents have a can of it that says it may contain traces of milk (but does not mention wheat). I just recently bought a can of it that has no mention of traces of allergens. So what gives?

My mother phoned up Fry's and got the answer. It turns out that Fry's Cocoa is produced by at least three different suppliers. So, though the cans look nearly the same, they have been made at different facilities. The can my sister has was made at a place where wheat cross-contamination could happen. The cans that my parents and I have don't have this problem.

So, one product, three different cans, two of the products with different allergy alerts and one with none. Always read the label!.

Geoff


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Chicklet Rookie

Oh, how annoying. I stopped using Fry's because of the warning of being made in a facility with wheat. <_<

jerseyangel Proficient

Hi Geoff,

Thanks for taking the time to post that. It serves as a great reminder that we should always read labels, as ingredients and (in this case) manufacturing practices can and do change. :)

misseditbythatmuch Newbie

It also shows that it can be worth it to phone up the number provided on the label.

For that, it may be hit or miss. In some cases, the person you talk to may be very helpful and informative. In other cases, unfortunately, they may not have a clue of what you're talking about.

num1habsfan Rising Star

Oh, weird. I have never seen a can with warnings on them...ever! Also have never been glutened (and have used a lot of recipes that need cocoa. Plus somewhere I seen a list saying that Frye's was safe, hmm...I don't remember what list or from where, I re-write everything into my "gluten-free bible".

misseditbythatmuch Newbie

Well, if the cans you have used have never had warnings about wheat on them, they are OK (according to Fry's customer service number).

Fry's may use multiple suppliers simultaneously, or they may just switch suppliers occasionally. The three cans of cocoa I mention in my original post were bought at different times. It is possible that Fry's had one supplier when my sister bought her cocoa, another one when my parents bought their cocoa, and yet a different one when I bought mine. We don't know.

num1habsfan Rising Star
Well, if the cans you have used have never had warnings about wheat on them, they are OK (according to Fry's customer service number).

Fry's may use multiple suppliers simultaneously, or they may just switch suppliers occasionally. The three cans of cocoa I mention in my original post were bought at different times. It is possible that Fry's had one supplier when my sister bought her cocoa, another one when my parents bought their cocoa, and yet a different one when I bought mine. We don't know.

Sheesh, way to confuse a Celiac, hey??

Still is going to make me double-check anytime I buy a can or use someone else's cocoa, that's for sure.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Felidae Enthusiast

I guess the Fry's cocoa made in the prairies is fine. I too, have never seen a warning on a can. I've been using Fry's for as long as I can remember. I'm sure glad they are safe here!

Thanks for the info.

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

That is very interesting. Thank you for posting!

lorka150 Collaborator

Fry's Cocoa in the small canister is gluten-free, casein-free and made in a gluten-free/CF facility. The large canister sold at Costco may contain milk ingredients. That is what they told me over Christmas, when I ran out of cocoa and was confused that Costco's was different.

Felidae Enthusiast

I take back what I said, that Fry's cocoa in the prairies is gluten-free. Okay the small cans are gluten-free. The large cans sold at Costco say right on the label, "may contain wheat."

Chicklet Rookie

Well mine was bought in Alberta from Safeway and was a small can. Sorry.

  • 8 months later...
allergymom Newbie

Thanks...this was great info to find. We have just found a Frys cocoa that may contain milk and my sister has one with no warnings. Mine came from Costco and we've had to get rid of it. My daughter has a severe milk allergy and my mother-in-law is celiac. We now know it is possible to purchase cocoa at a grocery store. We all know specialty stores come with a special price!!

2Boys4Me Enthusiast

On a semi-related note Nestle Hot Chocolate mix (50 envelope packets in a box) now has a "may contain wheat" disclaimer on it. I checked it at both Costco and Superstore and the boxes had the may contain, but the canister did not. Cadbury was off limits last time I checked, but the PC ingredients seem safe.

solitaire Newbie

Hi I'm a Canadian temporarily living in the US while a family member goes through treatment for health issues.

Can anyone in Canada help me out by sharing their copy of the Fry's Cocoa recipe for CHOCOLATE PECAN PIE?

The recipe has been in countless recipe booklets given out for free in groceries. I left Canada without it.

I really don't have the time to experiment with a new recipe and that one worked perfect for me. I'm already spending countless hours figuring out where to find Dutch processed cocoa in the US.

Thanks in advance!

From one homesick Canadian!

  • 4 years later...
gollygee Newbie

Fry's is a brand of Cocoa that is sold in Canada (and possibly other countries). I recently have been trying to figure out if it is gluten-free, so I have been reading labels.

Initially figuring this out was confusing. One of my sisters has a can of this cocoa which says that it may contain traces of wheat (and may also mention other allergens). My parents have a can of it that says it may contain traces of milk (but does not mention wheat). I just recently bought a can of it that has no mention of traces of allergens. So what gives?

My mother phoned up Fry's and got the answer. It turns out that Fry's Cocoa is produced by at least three different suppliers. So, though the cans look nearly the same, they have been made at different facilities. The can my sister has was made at a place where wheat cross-contamination could happen. The cans that my parents and I have don't have this problem.

So, one product, three different cans, two of the products with different allergy alerts and one with none. Always read the label!.

Geoff

DON'T BUY FRY'S COCOA! My son had a violent reaction to Fry's the other day - quite a surprise because we'd been using this brand for years.  The product had the new packaging with the red band around the top warning against milk, but there is no mention of possible wheat contamination or even the ambiguous "natural and artifical flavoring".  I spoke to the company, went through 3 levels of their customer service- they were concerned whether or not he had needed medical attention, but feel no responsibility to notify people of the likelihood that there is gluten in this cocoa powder that will make a great number of people very ill.  I would not trust this company's labeling AT ALL - sometimes they label for wheat, sometimes for other allergens, which gives the impression that if they only list milk, that the product is clear of other allergens (that the company themselves consider in their 'Top 5") if the ingredient list is clear... VERY MISLEADING!!

psawyer Proficient

This topic is four years old, and information may be out of date.

In both Canada and the US, wheat is an allergen whose presence must, by law, be clearly disclosed.

Open Original Shared Link

The updated Canadian rules require disclosure of ALL gluten sources. In the US, only wheat is required by law, but most manufacturers voluntarily disclose all gluten sources.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,876
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Calsmom
    Newest Member
    Calsmom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...