Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ativan...gf Or Not?


mela14

Recommended Posts

mela14 Enthusiast

I've been taking generic ativan and not sure if it is gluten-free. I can't seem to find the manufacturer but have been feeling sick. I am also taking Nystatin by Teva Pharm....I can't get any information from them either.

I check both meds on the gluten-free drug list and neither are on there. they DO list lorazepam which is generic ativan as being gluten-free but they only list the one company that makes it. I'm assuming that other forms of lorazepam have gluten.

If it's not on the list does that mean that it has gluten?

I've also started on Nystatin for Candida and seem to be feeling really sick form it. It wakes me during the night and am sooo nauseous and sick. maybe it is just the drug itself.

this is soooo confusing and it's driving me crazy...especially when you get sick and you try to figure out where it came from.

any help would be appreciated.

thanks,

mel


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mela14 Enthusiast

Well, Teva Pharm just contacted me and told me that Nystatin is gluten-free! It is made with corn starch.

I've been starting to question my allergy to corn. I never thought I had one but all of the blood tests and the York test came back postive for corn allergy. Could this be making me sick.

Has anyone else had a corn allergy and reacted to corn starch in the meds?

I don't know what to think anymore.

  • 3 years later...
jaylia Newbie

Hi...i guess this is about 3 years late seeing the date on your message =) but the sickness could (or i guess could have) been from the dye-off of the candida. The nystatin will kill the yeast but then that died-off yeast will make you sick as its leaving your body...but better than then having it there forever making you sick :) I hope you are better now

darlindeb25 Collaborator

Well, for those who may be reading this and wanting an answer...each drup company has their own ingredients. The drug must be made in the original form, yet the fillers can always be different. If the company making say Ativan, says it is gluten free, that does not mean the generic is gluten-free. You must always call the particular lab that makes the generic you are going to use. I call the pharmacy first, find out which generic they use, then I call the lab and ask for the ingredients.

I take Xanax occasionally, and we were told for years that it was gluten free. It is made my Pfizer. I was taking it and always having this weird reaction to it, yet was told it was gluten free. Years later, it came out that Pfizer had been lying all along...so I had to find a new supplier. I had been taking the generic made by Greenstone, which is a subsidiary of Pfizer, and also not gluten-free. I think there are 3 labs that make it gluten-free...Mylan Labs will always disclose the ingredients. Once I found Mylan Labs, then I had to find a pharmacy that used these generics. Sometimes it's not easy, yet it is necessary for us to find out first.

debmidge Rising Star

To find out if a generic is gluten-free or not you really need the phone number of

the generic manufacturer. I have been asking the pharmacist what

generic he'll use and then before I fill the prescription I call the generic company

to find out if their product is gluten-free or not.

The scarey part is is when a food, or drug manufacturer for that matter, replies

that they don't know what's in their product because they do not know what

their raw goods suppliers use :o .....Keep in mind that a lot of pharmaceutical

raw material comes from China and the Asian continent...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...