Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Kix Formula -- Without Oats!


brigala

Recommended Posts

brigala Explorer

Has anybody seen these? There was only one box on the shelf, and I bought it. There are no "Gluten-Free" claims on the box, like there are with Rice Chex; I presume it's still made in the same factories as other cereals.

The ingredients are:

CORN MEAL, WHOLE GRAIN CORN, SUGAR, CORN BRAN, SALT, BROWN SUGAR SYRUP,

TRISODIUM PHOSPHATE, VITAMIN E (MIXED TOCOPHEROLS) ADDED TO PRESERVE

FRESHNESS.

After that, they list all the vitamins.

The box was completely redesigned, which is what made me notice it and pick it up to read the ingredients. They still had a bunch of the old Kix on the shelf, with the oat flour included.

I can't find anything on the General Mills website about this new version of Kix. All the info still only covers the old version. There are no press releases or advertisements of this new formula with the "Great NEW Taste" as it says on the box!

I haven't opened my box yet to try it.

-Elizabeth


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Guhlia Rising Star

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This was my absolute favorite snack prior to going gluten free! Let us know what you find.

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

Now this is great news!!!! Thanks for sharing! I have been living on the Berry Berry Kix!

Guhlia Rising Star

Berry Berry Kix is gluten-free???

Guhlia Rising Star

Hey, look at these too!!!

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Gluten free? Appears to be...

taweavmo3 Enthusiast

Forget the kids being excited over this, I am thrilled! I used to absolutely love Lucky Charms. These look very promising.......it sure is nice to have a splurgy, junk food breakfast every now and then on a lazy Saturday morning. Thanks for heads up!

JennyC Enthusiast

I have to say that I love General Mills! :lol: I just wish that I could find these cereals on the West Coast. We've never even seen Berry Kix in the grocery store.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



blueeyedmanda Community Regular

In my area the only store I find my Berry Berry Kix in is Wegmans- Giant and Weis dont seem to carry it.

Angie thanks for giving those links--they look good!!!

neesee Apprentice

:D Wow! I don't even bother to look for stuff like this anymore. I'm going to check this stuff out.

Who would have thought it? Cereal and several weight watchers frozen dinners are gluten-free too. I found the weight watchers stuff a few months ago.

blueeyedmanda Community Regular
:D Wow! I don't even bother to look for stuff like this anymore. I'm going to check this stuff out.

Who would have thought it? Cereal and several weight watchers frozen dinners are gluten-free too. I found the weight watchers stuff a few months ago.

Which weight watchers meals- I could bring them to work. :) Always exciting to see new stuff!!!

jjdthmpsn Rookie

How come when you email general mills they can't tell you if they are gluten free or not? I emailed them last week about the honey kix and the berry berry kix and they emailed back but never said they were gluten free???? Anyone know why they can't just specify if they are or not? Thanks for any help....

Keep us all informed if you know anything :)

Darn210 Enthusiast
How come when you email general mills they can't tell you if they are gluten free or not? I emailed them last week about the honey kix and the berry berry kix and they emailed back but never said they were gluten free???? Anyone know why they can't just specify if they are or not? Thanks for any help....

Keep us all informed if you know anything :)

General Mills is one of the companies that disclose all gluten sources on their ingredients list. They don't have to keep lists for their customer service reps which can become outdated quickly and have to cover items like . . . do you have an old box of Kix or a new box of Kix. Also, (IMO) by not actually calling something gluten free, then they are not liable for cc issues during manufacturing, they are only telling you that the "recipe" has no gluten ingredients.

celiac-mommy Collaborator

I found this too--but don't tell my kids ;) click on the Trix cereal link

Open Original Shared Link

Never heard of these either: click on Kaboom and Spiderman

Open Original Shared Link

Always make sure to check the labels each time--General Mills is still listing oats online for the Kix, but disclaimer at top says to always check pkg for updates/changes

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

I currently have Trix at my desk @ work.

brigala Explorer
I have to say that I love General Mills! :lol: I just wish that I could find these cereals on the West Coast. We've never even seen Berry Kix in the grocery store.

Well, I found the new box of Kix at the Walmart in Troutdale, Jenny. And I've seen Berry Kix at least sometimes at the Winco in Gresham. Although I don't see it very often, it's true. But I don't buy the sugar cereals anyway... I didn't grow up on them so they just don't seem like breakfast to me (although I like them now and then for dessert).

I'll keep my eye open for Berry Kix for you. :)

-Elizabeth

neesee Apprentice
Which weight watchers meals- I could bring them to work. :) Always exciting to see new stuff!!!

Chicken Santa Fe, Santa fe style rice and beans, and there's another one with turkey medalians in a cranberry sauce. I forgot the name of it. The thing of it is, WW states these are gluten-free at the end of the ingredient list. My middle aged eyesight appreciates that. :)

JennyC Enthusiast
Well, I found the new box of Kix at the Walmart in Troutdale, Jenny. And I've seen Berry Kix at least sometimes at the Winco in Gresham. Although I don't see it very often, it's true. But I don't buy the sugar cereals anyway... I didn't grow up on them so they just don't seem like breakfast to me (although I like them now and then for dessert).

I'll keep my eye open for Berry Kix for you. :)

-Elizabeth

Thank you! I mostly shop in Portland, and I have never seen them. I always check though! :lol:

Jestgar Rising Star

Awww, the Wheaties are still off limits :(:P:D

Tim-n-VA Contributor
Awww, the Wheaties are still off limits :(:P:D

Apparently the Cream of Wheat is also.

When I was first diagnosed, my wife actually checked the box for that one.

Sweetfudge Community Regular

oooh, i'm so excited. and strawberry chex...that sounds very intriguing!

Hey, look at these too!!!

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Gluten free? Appears to be...

the 2nd link - honey kix - does list caramel color. does GM list sources if that's from gluten?

Apparently the Cream of Wheat is also.

When I was first diagnosed, my wife actually checked the box for that one.

haha :lol:

Guhlia Rising Star
oooh, i'm so excited. and strawberry chex...that sounds very intriguing!

the 2nd link - honey kix - does list caramel color. does GM list sources if that's from gluten?

haha :lol:

To the best of my knowledge General Mills is one of the "good" companies that will list any and all gluten...

psawyer Proficient

Yes, General Mills will clearly disclose all sources of gluten.

purple Community Regular

I was able to find the oat free Kix last night, right next to the Kix with oats. Our store doesn't have the Berry KIx or the Honey.

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

I was in Kmart yesterday and was only able to find Old Kix....but their grocery aisle is very tiny!

  • 2 weeks later...
CeliacMom2008 Enthusiast

I emailed General Mills and didn't receive a response, so I called today. The rep told me that they are very careful about cross contamination, but she didn't seem very knowledgeable about the whole gluten thing. I want to be excited and want to try these, but I don't understand why they make such a fuss about the Rice Chex and do nothing about all the other cereals. It makes me wonder about the manufacturing process. Gluten Free is plastered all over their Chex website and box when relating to Rice Chex, but there is nothing at all about the Strawberry ones. Why???? <_<

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...