Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Kix Formula -- Without Oats!


brigala

Recommended Posts

GFqueen17 Contributor

Has anybody tried the chocolate lucky charms?? it seems to good to be true!

Also, online the berry berry kix recipe contains oats...? am i missing something?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



glutenada Newbie

We're a bit behind in our town here. I was only able to find the Honey Kix - the others are still old packaging/old ingredients.

So I got a box of my usual Rice Chex and those Honey Kix. They made me horribly ill. One small bowl and I'm done with them. Not sure if it was cross-contamination or what but I spent the remainder of the day running to the bathroom every 20 minutes and with a seriously bloated tummy.

I think that I'll personally stick to the verified gluten-free items only. Not worth the agony of finding out something wasn't "clean" enough.

Bummer. I was really pumped about something new and different!

CeliacMom2008 Enthusiast

I finally got a response from my email. It says Strawberrry Chex, but I had actually asked about the Strawberry Chex, Chocolate Lucky Charms, Honey Kix, and Berry Berry Kix in my original email:

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting General Mills regarding gluten in Chex strawberry cereal. This product is very new, it has not been verified at this time to be gluten free.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package; and for this reason, we do not offer a gluten-free product list. However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product′s ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely, Vanessa J. Kelly

Consumer Services

We'll be sticking with just the Rice Chex until General Mills is willing to stand behind the others as gluten free. I have no proof, but my gut makes me feel like they've taken special steps with the Rice Chex to avoid cross contamination and they haven't done that with the other products.

I also found this woman's contact info at the bottom of their Rice Chex are Gluten Free press release. I emailed her as well. I tried calling twice but only got her voicemail.

Kim Harbinson

General Mills

763-764-4830

Kim.Harbinson@genmills.com

She might be a better person to get some real info from vs. the general customer service people.

purple Community Regular

Put 'em in yer Chex Party Mix...yummers...tried it today!

GlutenFreeAl Contributor

I finally found the Honey Kix in my middle-of-nowhere town and promptly ate two bowls. And promptly got sick - super bloated tummy, couldn't keep my eyes open, weepy, etc. So while they were tasty and it would be really nice to be able to buy a mainstream cereal, it's really just not worth it to me.

Sigh - guess I have to come up with a different way to save money on groceries <_<

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

Now I have been eating the Honey Kix for 2 weeks with no ill effects. It is such a good snack.

  • 1 year later...
skunk242 Newbie

I have to say that I love General Mills! :lol: I just wish that I could find these cereals on the West Coast. We've never even seen Berry Kix in the grocery store.

Not sure if anyone pointed this out already but on the West Coast (at least in Southern California) I've bought Berry Berry Kix at Target. This is only in the large Targets that have a wider variety of cereals to choose from in the first place.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



modiddly16 Enthusiast

ok so whats the deal with Trix. I brought up that they were gluten free in another posting and got attacked by some folks claiming that NEVER had they heard that they were gluten free.....based on this post alebit an older comment, they at one point at least were gluten free.

what's the consensus now?

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,799
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ellen Batker
    Newest Member
    Ellen Batker
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...