Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lindt Chocolate's Definitive Response Of 2007


Leonesse

Recommended Posts

Leonesse Rookie

This is cross-posted from another web site and dated Nov. 7, 2007.

I contacted the Lindt company when i couldn't get direct information from them off their web site. Lindt chocolate is not gluten free.

"Thank you for your response. Our products are not Gluten free because we use Barley Malt in all of our cocoa for the chocolate. We need our malt in a certain form and broken down using a specific process to adhere to the Lindt


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mushroom Proficient
This is cross-posted from another web site and dated Nov. 7, 2007.

I contacted the Lindt company when i couldn't get direct information from them off their web site. Lindt chocolate is not gluten free.

"Thank you for your response. Our products are not Gluten free because we use Barley Malt in all of our cocoa for the chocolate. We need our malt in a certain form and broken down using a specific process to adhere to the Lindt

brigala Explorer
This is absolutely gross. I have been eating Lindt 70% because it contains no soy and does not list barley malt in its ingredients. "Cocoa solids: 70% minimum. Ingredients: cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, natural Bourbon vanilla beans. May contain traces of, etc., etc.," NO barley malt!! No, it does not say gluten free, but it certainly does not mention barley malt.

Keep in mind that the response from Lindt is from 2007. It's possible that the current 70% bar does not contain malt. I have looked at other Lindt products from time to time (their truffles used to be a favorite of mine) and the labels of the products I've looked at have all clearly stated "barley malt" as an ingredient. I haven't looked at their chocolate bars because I've never really liked them.

I also got a similar response from Lindt when I emailed them back in about 2007 or so. I haven't checked with them again more recently.

-Elizabeth

mushroom Proficient
I haven't looked at their chocolate bars because I've never really liked them.

I don't particularly like them either, but they are chocolate! And this one contains no soy (I think?)--one of the few. I will email them again.

Tallforagirl Rookie
I don't particularly like them either, but they are chocolate! And this one contains no soy (I think?)--one of the few. I will email them again.

I don't think the dark chocolate Lindt contains barley malt. At least here in Australia it doesn't. Don't know about the US, but here in Australia if there is an ingredient in the product it must be labelled as such.

happygirl Collaborator
This is absolutely gross. I have been eating Lindt 70% because it contains no soy and does not list barley malt in its ingredients. "Cocoa solids: 70% minimum. Ingredients: cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, natural Bourbon vanilla beans. May contain traces of, etc., etc.," NO barley malt!! No, it does not say gluten free, but it certainly does not mention barley malt.

Products sold in the USA are probably different than products sold outside of the USA. I would contact the company for specific info regarding where you live.

GFqueen17 Contributor
This is absolutely gross. I have been eating Lindt 70% because it contains no soy and does not list barley malt in its ingredients. "Cocoa solids: 70% minimum. Ingredients: cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, natural Bourbon vanilla beans. May contain traces of, etc., etc.," NO barley malt!! No, it does not say gluten free, but it certainly does not mention barley malt.

Many, many products contain gluten and do not say so...thats exactly why we get sick so often. I recently checked Lindt's website and it still had the same statement so I would be careful.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Lindt hasn't been gluten-free in the U.S. since I was diagnosed 7 years ago. But there are many, many excellent chocolates that are gluten-free.

richard

mushroom Proficient
But there are many, many excellent chocolates that are gluten-free.

richard

That may be true, but 98.8% them contain soy lecithin as an emulsifier! And I just went to buy my Well Naturally chocolate bar, and they have pulled them from the shelf because some lady claimed she got sick from eating them. What's a gal gotta do to get a chocolate fix???

  • 2 months later...
mushroom Proficient

Update:

Went to a gluten free expo today; Lindt chocolate was on display and it was confirmed to me (from an official list put out by Lindt) that the 70% dark chocolate we get in New Zealand and OZ is both gluten and soy free (although "may" contain traces of soy, but good enough for me--if it were gluten it would be different since soy just makes me itch). Don't know what you get in the U.S. All the others contained soy however.

I also got some yummy chocolate fudge bars put out by Finn's (NZ).

tarnalberry Community Regular
That may be true, but 98.8% them contain soy lecithin as an emulsifier! And I just went to buy my Well Naturally chocolate bar, and they have pulled them from the shelf because some lady claimed she got sick from eating them. What's a gal gotta do to get a chocolate fix???

Theo Chocolate

Michel Cluizel

Castelain

These three don't have soy lecithin. I've found all of them locally, oddly enough, though it'll likely depend on where you live. They're not cheap, but *good* chocolate isn't. (I've always thought of Lindt as a bit waxy... too much lecithin, perhaps...)

mushroom Proficient
Theo Chocolate

Michel Cluizel

Castelain

These three don't have soy lecithin. I've found all of them locally, oddly enough, though it'll likely depend on where you live. They're not cheap, but *good* chocolate isn't. (I've always thought of Lindt as a bit waxy... too much lecithin, perhaps...)

Hey, thanks for those names; I will file them away in my chocolate connoisseur file for next month. Lately I have just been scrounging around in the dumpster for whatever I can find :lol: :lol:

Mango04 Enthusiast
This is absolutely gross. I have been eating Lindt 70% because it contains no soy and does not list barley malt in its ingredients. "Cocoa solids: 70% minimum. Ingredients: cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter, natural Bourbon vanilla beans. May contain traces of, etc., etc.," NO barley malt!! No, it does not say gluten free, but it certainly does not mention barley malt.

If you're in New Zealand you should really ignore the US company statements. It's common for seemingly identical products to be completely different in different countries, especially regarding ingredients used and possible gluten. There's a good chance your version is still safe...so worth checking into.

  • 6 years later...
DandelionH Apprentice

So nobody in Australia has gotten sick from the 70% or the white then... right? O.o I love those two but have been having some strange continuing issues I'd like to get to the bottom of and am just realising this may be it (I'm a regularly consumer... ha. Regular is an understatement...)!

psawyer Proficient

This is a very old thread, and the information in it is from at least six years ago. It may be out of date, and I would not rely on any of it.

DandelionH Apprentice

This is a very old thread, and the information in it is from at least six years ago. It may be out of date, and I would not rely on any of it.

Yep, I'm only just now realising how regularly people do actually change their brand ingredients or info.
Barley malt isn't listed on the white or 70% in Australia. Since it IS listed on the other chocolates I'll go with it being ok...

  • 2 years later...
Brian B Newbie

Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,018
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Alexandra Stevenson
    Newest Member
    Alexandra Stevenson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      Hi @Karmmacalling I'm very sorry to hear you are feeling so unwell.  Can you tell us exactly what sort of pain you are experiencing and where the pain is?  Is it your lower abdomen, upper abdomen etc?  Do you have any other symptoms? Cristiana
    • trents
      The NIH article you link actually supports what I have been trying to explain to you: "Celiac disease (celiac disease) is an autoimmune-mediated enteropathy triggered by dietary gluten in genetically prone individuals. The current treatment for celiac disease is a strict lifelong gluten-free diet. However, in some celiac disease patients following a strict gluten-free diet, the symptoms do not remit. These cases may be refractory celiac disease or due to gluten contamination; however, the lack of response could be related to other dietary ingredients, such as maize, which is one of the most common alternatives to wheat used in the gluten-free diet. In some celiac disease patients, as a rare event, peptides from maize prolamins could induce a celiac-like immune response by similar or alternative pathogenic mechanisms to those used by wheat gluten peptides. This is supported by several shared features between wheat and maize prolamins and by some experimental results. Given that gluten peptides induce an immune response of the intestinal mucosa both in vivo and in vitro, peptides from maize prolamins could also be tested to determine whether they also induce a cellular immune response. Hypothetically, maize prolamins could be harmful for a very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients, especially those that are non-responsive, and if it is confirmed, they should follow, in addition to a gluten-free, a maize-free diet." Notice that those for whom it is suggested to follow a maize-free diet are a "very limited subgroup of celiac disease patients". Please don't try to make your own experience normative for the entire celiac community.  Notice also that the last part of the concluding sentence in the paragraph does not equate a gluten-free diet with a maize-free diet, it actually puts them in juxtaposition to one another. In other words, they are different but for a "limited subgroup of celiac disease patients" they produce the same or a similar reaction. You refer to celiac reactions to cereal grain prolamins as "allergic" reactions and "food sensitivity". For instance, you say, "NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing" and "IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. I need to remind you that celiac disease is not an allergy, it is an autoimmune disorder. Neither allergy testing nor food sensitivity testing can be used to diagnose celiac disease. Allergy testing and food sensitivity testing cannot detect the antibodies produced by celiac disease in reaction to gluten ingestion.  You say of me, "You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant . . ." Gluten intolerance is synonymous with celiac disease. You must be referring to gluten sensitivity or NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity). Actually, I have been officially diagnosed with celiac disease both by blood antibody testing and by endoscopy/positive biopsy. Reacting to all cereal grain prolamins does not define celiac disease. If you are intent on teaching the truth, please get it straight first.
    • Bebygirl01
      Perhaps you would still like to answer the questions I posed on this topic, because that is all I asked. I am curious to know the answers to those questions, I do not care about the background of Dr. Osborne as I am more aware of the situation than you are, and he is also one of the best known authors out there on Celiac disease. But did you even bother to read the three Research Papers I posted by NIH? You must be one of those who are only gluten intolerant and not yet reacting to all glutens aka grains, but I AM one of those who react to ALL the glutens, and again, that is one of the two questions I originally posted on this matter. NIH sees all these grains as in opposition to celiacs, of which I am one and that is science, not any MD with a good memory who overprescribes medications that contain known food allergens in them, of which they have zero knowledge if the patient is in fact allergic to or not, since they failed to do simple 'food sensitivity' testing. I started with the failed FDA explanation of what Gluten Free is and I stayed sick and got even sicker. It wasn't until I came across NIH's papers and went off all grains that I realized that in fact, I am Celiac and reacting to all the glutens. IF a person wants to get well, they should be the one to determine what grains they are allergic to and what grains they want to leave out, not you. Those who are just getting started with learning about grains etc., can take it easy by just being "grain free' and eating a lot of meat, vegetables, etc. or whole foods as God has intended, without buying so called gluten free garbage out there that is making them sick and the whole reason they are not better. I tried the stupid gluten free garbage and it didn't work, and that will make anyone want to give up, it is better to teach the entire truth and let the patient decide, rather than give them misinformation and lies.
    • Nicola McGuire
      Thank you so much I will speak to the doctor for dietician apt . Thank you for your advice Beth much appreciated 
    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
×
×
  • Create New...