Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Can Celiacs Eat Corn?


parkerrmmc

Recommended Posts

parkerrmmc Apprentice

Hello! My son is suspect to have celiac disease and I have been feeding him alot of corn on the cob (since that's one of the only things I can get him to eat). I was recently told by someone that it is typically thought to be gluten-free, but is NOT gluten-free. I knew all of you would know for sure.

Thanks


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiac3270 Collaborator

Why wouldn't it be gluten-free? Unless there were spices or flavorings somehow added, I don't see why it wouldn't be. Unless someone is referring to corn gluten, which is perfectly harmless--it's simply the protein in corn, but it causes absolutely no damage to celiacs. We use the term gluten referring to the gluten in wheat, barley, rye, etc. but there are other forms of gluten, such as corn, that are harmless.

kabowman Explorer

I have never heard of corn on the cobb not being gluten-free but hopefully Richard will "weigh in" with his expert opinion soon...

If you are feeding him frozen, check the label.

-Kate

stef-the-kicking-cuty Enthusiast

Yes, celiac3270 is right. Corn is glutenfree unless there are gluten containing spices and flavorings added.

lovegrov Collaborator

Plain old corn is absolutley, positively gluten-free. Corn with butter on it is gluten-free. Corn with butter and salt is gluten-free.

richard

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yeah everyone who posted is correct corn is gluten free. There is such things as corn gluten but that is ok for celiacs because it is corn so maybe they got confused. We can't have wheat,rye,barley,oats. Unless there is a seasoning added that is not gluten free then you shouldn't worry.

parkerrmmc Apprentice

Thanks everyone! I figured the person that told me was probably confused, but with me being new to all of this, I just wanted to make sure.

Thanks,

Missy


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Carriefaith Enthusiast

corn gluten is not toxic to us, unless of coarse you have a corn allergy

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yep that is correct Carrie :D

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

Oh yes, very correct.

Carriefaith Enthusiast

Oh I feel special ;)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,803
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Nikki W
    Newest Member
    Nikki W
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...