Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Klonopin And Gluten?


Guest BERNESES

Recommended Posts

Guest BERNESES

Hi Everyone- I've looked high and low and can't seem to find klonopin (clonazepam- it's an anti anxiety drug) on any gluten-free drug list. Does anyone know for sure? I'm assuming it DOES have gluten in it? Thanks, Beverly


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Roo Explorer

I don't know the answer to your question, but what I've done in the past is just call your pharmisist and they can call the company and find out.

Roo

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

It is not on my lists of gluten free meds. Just because it is not on there does not mean that it has gluten. The best thing to do is call the manufacturer. Never assume anything with gluten. It's best to check if you do not know. :D

Rikki Tikki Explorer

It made me sick so I stopped taking it. Just wean yourself off it, I went cold turkey because I didn't know any better and the withdrawl was awful.

Hope it helps

Sally

skbird Contributor

Yeah, that's not a fun one to go cold turkey on. I did the same, four days of hell!

I don't know whether or not it's gluten-free but if it isn't, go slowly...

Stephanie

Guest BERNESES

Thanks everyone- I just found out that the comapny that produces my klonopin uses corn starch. They do not use WRBO. Yippee! Because getting off this stuff is a nightmare- you have to go really slowly and even that is not fun.

  • 14 years later...
CrisBlair1 Newbie

Corn starch is gluten free isn’t it? I just googled that, and it is broken down from a part of the corn, then ground down into a powder. 


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 2 years later...
Leslie Daily Newbie

If the corn isn’t organic for corn starch it could have been sprayed with Glyphosates!!! over 40+ plants fruits and vegetables are sprayed with Glyphosates. It’s the same chemical that’s in Roundup!!!😡
 

 

trents Grand Master
On 4/17/2019 at 3:51 PM, CrisBlair1 said:

Corn starch is gluten free isn’t it? I just googled that, and it is broken down from a part of the corn, then ground down into a powder. 

It should be gluten free and okay for celiacs. However, some celiacs develop and intolerance to corn apart from any gluten issue just as they do dairy, soy, eggs, etc. because of leaky gut.

Leslie Daily Newbie
On 3/29/2005 at 12:40 PM, Guest BERNESES said:

Thanks everyone- I just found out that the comapny that produces my klonopin uses corn starch. They do not use WRBO. Yippee! Because getting off this stuff is a nightmare- you have to go really slowly and even that is not fun.

What is WRBO?

trents Grand Master

WRBO I think means Wheat Rye Barley Oats.  The first three are the gluten containing grains and oats contain a protein (Avenin) that is suspected to cause gluten-like reactions in about 10% of celiacs.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,753
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Alison A
    Newest Member
    Alison A
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...