Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Greek Seasoning Have Gluten Or Great Value Syrup?


dizzygrinch

Recommended Posts

dizzygrinch Enthusiast

Hello, does anyone know if Cavenders ( I think thats how its spelled) Greek Seasoning is gluten free? My daughter has been gluten free for a couple of months now, and suddenly she is itching, and breaking out again, and we are trying to figure out what could have happened. That seasoning is the only thing I can think of. Im celiac too, and my lips are started to blister, which sometimes happens if Im accidently glutened, but I have been very careful. Could syrup do that? we also had the walmart brand syrup, that says manufactured in a facility that processes wheat, but never had a problem before...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ang1e0251 Contributor

What are the ingredients listed on you seasoning?

Ahorsesoul Enthusiast

Here's your answer. I just email my questions to them. Since things can change so often it good every now and then to ask again. So to be safe just buy the Salt Free one.

From: "Denise Dutton" <frontdesk@greekseasoning.com>

Dear D,

Thank you for your inquiry on Cavender's Greek Seasoning. Although MSG is generally

considered gluten free if it is made in the USA, it is possible that imported MSG is not

gluten free. Since S-C Seasoning Company, Inc. uses both domestic and imported MSG

we can not "guarantee" our regular Cavender's Greek Seasoning to be gluten free.

We do manufacture a Salt Free version of Cavender's Greek Seasoning. The Salt Free

Cavender's contains the salt substitute "potassium chloride" and no MSG. Cavender's

Greek Seasoning Salt Free being MSG free would also be gluten free. If you try our

Salt Free Cavender's, you might want to start with a little less than you would the Regular

Cavender's as the potassium chloride can have a bitter taste if used in large amounts.

If you choose to try the Salt Free and are unable to locate it in your area, we have a retail

mail-order division "Jane's Kitchen". You can go to the Jane's Kitchen website at

www.cavendersseasoning.com where you'll find a printable order form and recipe ideas.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Thanks,

Denise Dutton

S-C Seasoning Company, Inc.

870-741-2848

870-741-4625 fax

M-F 8am-5pm CST

dizzygrinch Enthusiast

Wow!! thank you sooo much! that helped me a lot. I figured it could have been the seasoning. This isnt the first time I felt odd and had some sores on my lips and in my mouth after I ate it. And, it helps explain my daughters itching. Thanks again!!

  • 6 years later...
hipretty Apprentice

I just dug out my ancient Cavender's remembering I often  had the same question...I always thought it was basically salt, pepper and oregano. I realize now mine does not list msg ... it is salt free.  It was something I used to used to season a greek salad in my "low fat" days to offset the awful taste of fat free dressings!!! But not wanting to use it or throw it away, I just kept putting it back without using it.

Thank you Ahorsesoulfor your research!!! :)

squirmingitch Veteran

hipretty, please don't count on this information being true today as the date of the prior post was in 2009, that is 7 years ago! The best thing to do would be to contact the company. BTW, I doubt a 7 year old seasoning is good anymore.

hipretty Apprentice

squirmingitch you are funny :rolleyes:  I never said the spice is 7 years old, Ahorsesoul's post is 7 years old. I  only posted that yesterday! The Lavender's is at least 2-3 years old though...probably not as fresh as it could be. But you are right, I should contact the company anyway! Thanks for replying!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



squirmingitch Veteran

Sorry. You wouldn't believe how many times people post on here without realizing the last post is very, very old.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...