Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cornflour


chelly1

Recommended Posts

chelly1 Apprentice

Hi is cornflour gluten free just bought a box from supermarket and it say's suitable for vegaterians but nothing about being gluten free but on list of ingrediants all it says is cornflour.. hope no one's thinking i'm being silly but this diet is a bit confusing and supermarket labeling is getting better but not every thing is marked up yet can any one help please thankyou :unsure:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiac3270 Collaborator

It's not a silly question....there are no such things as silly questions here since many of us started out not knowing what celiac disease or gluten was in the first place.

Stuff in your supermarket almost always will not mention that it's suitable for celiacs...you need to call to ask on most things. In the case of corn flour, however, being that it only has that one ingredient (corn), it is gluten-free.

kvogt Rookie

chelly1,

If you are in the UK, then cornflour is what we call corn (maize) starch and is gluten-free. In the US, cornflour is maize, milled to flour consistency. Nice for fried foods.

chelly1 Apprentice
:D thanks every one for your help this diet is confusing isn't it thanks again
debmidge Rising Star

My only comment on this is that I have been buying corn flour for years - even prior to my husband being diagnosed with celiac disease. He noticed that perhaps certain brands could be cross contaminated as their packaging doesn't state GLUTEN FREE and they are:

Shiloh Farms

Bob's Red Mill

He had reaction from these...or we at least think these were the problem.

I use Ener-G Brand corn mix and use it in place of the corn flour in my receipe. It works the same as the above two.

skbird Contributor

I have been using the Bob's Red Mill brand and didn't notice any problems with it. Then I read that it's not run on dedicated lines. But I have only had one package and maybe got lucky. I would love to find a brand that is run on dedicated lines.

Stephanie

chelly1 Apprentice
:huh: shopping for things is so hard, things u think are gluten-free turn out not to be or the other way around :) however my local supermarket sainsburys are getting so much better and have started to mark up a gluten-free label on all there products but i suppose this takes time so shopping is becoming easier :D but i still read all the labels i have found a few mistakes and had to telephone the head office to inform them and tell them how ill a simple mistake can cause a person with celiac disease ;) things are improving i think i'm just impatient thanks for all the handy hints on the cornflour i'm so glad i found this chat room its been so helpful at last people who understand :D

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

cross contamination is a hard one to avoid, and I've been using Bob's stuff (the gluten-free ingredient items not produced in their gluten-free plan) without a problem, but some people do notice problems. it's not - by the anecdotal evidence - like the contamination problems that Arrowhead Mills was having (at least a little while ago) but still a risk.

if it's not specifically masa you're looking for, maybe home grinding is an option? (I don't know how to do the cooking in lime (not the fruit, the mineral) thing...)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,818
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    vullnetg123
    Newest Member
    vullnetg123
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...