Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does Msg Contain Gluten?


Celiacnewbie

Recommended Posts

Celiacnewbie Newbie

Please forgive me if I am the only one ignorant here. I know the "G" is for "Glutamate" and I think that MSG is a spice or a sugar of some kind. I just want to be sure that MSG is gluten-free. Does anyone out there know?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor
Please forgive me if I am the only one ignorant here. I know the "G" is for "Glutamate" and I think that MSG is a spice or a sugar of some kind. I just want to be sure that MSG is gluten-free. Does anyone out there know?

No gluten in MSG. Not real good for you, but no gluten. AND, no ignorant questions here. Any question is a good one, because 100 other people thought about asking the same question.

imissgoodbeer:( Newbie
No gluten in MSG. Not real good for you, but no gluten. AND, no ignorant questions here. Any question is a good one, because 100 other people thought about asking the same question.

OK, I was under the assumption that if it was made in the US that MSG is gluten free, but MSG of non-US origin could have gluten in it (e.g. that tasty sauce from thailand that you used to love). Kind of the same deal with vinegars. Is this wrong mama goose?

Lisa Mentor

Open Original Shared Link

MSG

Monosodium glutamate is a flavoring made through the fermentation of corn, sugar beets, or sugar cane. It is gluten-free

If a product with MSG is of a foreign source, it would have to comply with FDA Regulations, disclosing "wheat". If Chinese, (if I'm not mistaken) it may be derived from seaweed, and not one of the eight allergens.

imissgoodbeer:( Newbie

Hi Again,

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)

MSG is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, an amino acid found in many foods. It has been produced from both wheat gluten and sugar beet molasses but is now produced almost entirely from the latter in a highly purified form. Most authorities agree that it is harmless. There should be no concern among Celiacs about the use of foods containing MSG.

Note: As of 2009, wheat-derived MSG has been found in products imported from Asia. R5 ELISA testing is needed to confirm its suitability in the gluten-free diet.

(Open Original Shared Link )

I know this is from the canadians, but I have seen similar warnings elsewhere.

I believe I get glutened, not an allergic reaction to msg, to otherwise gluten free foods from the asian markets that contain msg.

Lisa Mentor
hannahp57 Contributor

I react to MSG every time i have ever eaten anything with it listed on the ingredients. it isnt quite the same as a gluten reaction which is why im not worried that i made with gluten. i think i just cant tolerate it for some other reason... maybe you cant either? if you have reacted to it that is. it IS possible


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



chasbari Apprentice

I may be way off base here but I thought MSG was a contributing factor in gut permeability so it would be bad if dealing with leaky gut syndrome. I am willing to be entirely wrong on this if someone with more knowledge steps forward. I am wracking my brain to come up with the source...

CS

Celiacnewbie Newbie
No gluten in MSG. Not real good for you, but no gluten. AND, no ignorant questions here. Any question is a good one, because 100 other people thought about asking the same question.

Thanks very much. I read all the posts so far and I will be on the look out for products containing MSG and imported from Asia.

Becky C Rookie

I'm too new to the gluten-free diet to know if MSG contains gluten, but it sounds like the other people who posted are pretty knowledgeable. I just wanted to add that I know someone who is severely allergic to MSG, so it could just be that you're allergic or intolerant to MSG as well as gluten.

  • 2 months later...
Estahrita Newbie

I'm new to all of this and could be wrong, but I seem to get a reaction to both gluten and MSG! I've gotten hives and digestive issues from both. It's depressing because a lot of foods have either one or the other.

I've also read conflicting info about MSG- some say it's safe, some say it's not. It sounds like some people who are intolerant to gluten are also intolerant to MSG, while some people do not react to the MSG. Either way, it is not the best thing for you, and I wish it wasn't in anything!

Hope that helps somebody!

psawyer Proficient

Some people, including some celiacs, have an adverse reaction to MSG, but there is no gluten to be found in MSG.

StacyA Enthusiast

I also react to MSG, so I look for 'gluten-free' and 'no MSG'.

lovegrov Collaborator
I'm new to all of this and could be wrong, but I seem to get a reaction to both gluten and MSG! I've gotten hives and digestive issues from both. It's depressing because a lot of foods have either one or the other.

I've also read conflicting info about MSG- some say it's safe, some say it's not. It sounds like some people who are intolerant to gluten are also intolerant to MSG, while some people do not react to the MSG. Either way, it is not the best thing for you, and I wish it wasn't in anything!

Hope that helps somebody!

The ones who say MSG has gluten or can have gluten are wrong. It is gluten-free.

richard

  • 1 month later...
New-To-This Rookie
Please forgive me if I am the only one ignorant here. I know the "G" is for "Glutamate" and I think that MSG is a spice or a sugar of some kind. I just want to be sure that MSG is gluten-free. Does anyone out there know?

I have read several books on this subject trying to get an understanding of this disease as my husband and I are new to this. The only book I have found that touches on this subject so far has been "The Gluten-free Bible 2005 edition by Jax Peters Lowell

I has quote what I found on page 18 and 19 below......

"MSG or Monosoduim Glutamate. Unless you are allergic to MSG (chinese Restaurant Syndrome), you need not worry about this additive made from beet sugar or mollassses."

However I have found several web sites that state to use extreme caution or avoid at ALL costs. So the decision is up to you, weither you risk using it or not.

Below are a few of the web sites that caution against its use, and for good reason, as well as tell you what it can be made of and reactions you might encounter if you use it.

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/lofivers....php/t6100.html

After reading these articles I am thinking twice about MSG especially fo rmy husband. I get headaches already so whjy eat something that can triger them??

I hope this helps you out.

lovegrov Collaborator

The point here is whether or not MSG has gluten. It doesn't. Please take the discussion of whether or not MSG is good for you to the non-celiac threads.

richard

  • 1 year later...
Ezginol Newbie

Hello, I found this website while looking around, and I read a few of your comments. I'd like to clear up a few things. First of all, MSG does not affect people who need a gluten-free diet. Second, the adverse affects that are blamed on MSG use have never been proven by the scientific community. The "research" done on MSG that blamed it for reactions such as headaches do not have the required qualities we look for in a proper research. In fact most of these "researches" have been done again and again to see if they had any merit - and the same results have never been obtained.

Also, the Chinese Restaurant Syndrome was in fact based on several different kinds of foods, including wine. I'm pretty sure that after having a good amount of wine anyone can feel nauseous or experience headaches. But sadly the only thing that stood out from this research was the fact that MSG was used, and things such as wine were completely ignored.

Another thing, hypersensitive reactions to food is very rare. There have been experiments regarding hypersensitive reactions (allergies) to MSG and while some of the people who were a part of the experiment claimed to feel ill after digesting MSG, when they were tested to see if they honestly had an allergic reaction to monosodium glutamate, none of them had any.

Last of all, the FDA approves of MSG and classifies it as GRAS because it regularly does test to see if it has any negative effects. So for there have been none, hence they can keep classifying as safe.

For those of you who want to quote Olney's experiment on mice and MSG - any animal would show reactions if they were force-fed and injected disturbingly high amounts of any substance. Though, as I said before, these experiments were repeated and Olney's results were never obtained :)

I hope this helps!

lovegrov Collaborator

My mother once fervently believed that she was allergic or sensitive to MSG. She eventually realized that she had been getting MSG without realizing it and without reacting and that her paranoia about it was based on nothing. She now doesn't worry about it and at age 80 is fine.

richard

  • 1 year later...
0range Apprentice

What kind of symptoms are seen with an MSG intolerance? 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,884
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    susieq312
    Newest Member
    susieq312
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      But HDL is considered to be the "good" cholesterol, right?
    • plumbago
      Since some time between 2010 and 2014, my HDL-C has been going up and you might even say elevated. The last time I could find in my records that my HDL was normal was in 2014 when it was 67. Last week, it was 101, and it’s been 88 and above since about 2015. A significant life event happened in 2010 when I was diagnosed with Celiac disease and in May of that year began a gluten free diet. An informal perusal of a previously posted topic on HDL on this forum shows that a lot of members responding had high normal or high levels of HDL, so it doesn’t seem to be that unusual. But because my HDL numbers have been so high for so long, I am now officially concerned enough that I will probably reach out to a cardiologist who specializes in lipids. I would like to know if I should have a genetic test, as a specific genetic mutation can be one reason for high HDL numbers. I will also ask if he/she thinks a cardiac work up including a coronary artery calcium score should be considered. I think by now most of us are done with the ridiculous good and bad cholesterol labels; the amount of what we don’t know about HDL is quite large. For me my questions include is it a matter of production or an inability to clear HDL, and are the high levels having an effect on my vasculature (or a result of a less than optimal vasculature)? My last TSH level was normal, so it's likely not a thyroid issue. I also take B12 regularly. I’ve read that niacin can cause HDL levels to go up, but B12 is not niacin, and I could find no definitive link between robust B12 supplementation and abnormally high HDL levels. Any input is appreciated! Plumbago
    • Scott Adams
      @Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.
    • Scott Adams
      Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid to produce vinegar. Distillation follows, which purifies the liquid and removes impurities, including any residual proteins or allergens. While the source of the vinegar (e.g., corn) is not always explicitly stated on the label, corn-derived vinegar is widely used in the food industry due to its neutral flavor and affordability. For individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, distilled vinegar made from corn is generally considered safe, as the distillation process effectively removes gluten proteins. However, if you have concerns about cross-contamination or specific sensitivities, it’s always a good idea to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm the sourcing and production practices. Heinz, for example, has stated that their distilled white vinegar is gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease, but verifying this information can provide additional peace of mind. The belief that distilled vinegar is gluten-free is rooted in the scientific understanding that gluten proteins, which are large and complex molecules, are generally too big to pass through the distillation process. Distillation involves heating a liquid to create vapor, which is then condensed back into a liquid form, leaving behind larger molecules like gluten proteins. However, the concern about cross-contamination arises from the possibility that gluten-containing ingredients may have been present in the liquid prior to distillation. While the distillation process itself is highly effective at removing gluten, the equipment used in production could potentially introduce trace amounts of gluten if not thoroughly cleaned between batches. For most individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, distilled vinegar is considered safe because the gluten content, if any, is typically below the threshold that would trigger a reaction. However, for those with extreme gluten intolerance or celiac disease, even trace amounts can cause adverse effects. This is why some individuals, like yourself, may choose to avoid commercially produced distilled vinegar and opt for alternatives like apple cider vinegar, which can be verified as gluten-free. The meticulous process of researching ingredients and preparing homemade products, such as ketchup, is indeed challenging but crucial for maintaining health and avoiding gluten exposure. It’s important to note that regulatory standards for gluten-free labeling vary by region, and in many places, products labeled "gluten-free" must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease. Nonetheless, individual sensitivity levels can vary, and your approach highlights the importance of personalized dietary management for those with severe gluten intolerance.
    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
×
×
  • Create New...