Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Coloring And Flavoring


janu

Recommended Posts

janu Rookie

I thought artificial color and flavor, including carmel, were on the NO list. I just read a list from NFCA(National Foundation for Celiac Awaremess) that had artificial color and flavor, carmel color, navilla, and maltodextrin on the SAFE additives and Ingredients list. HELP, I'm trying to learn and am getting more confused! What about dextrin as opposed to maltodextrin and modified food starch? Thanks for any help. Jan :unsure:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiac3270 Collaborator

Flavorings and colorings are all questionable. Sometime safe, sometimes not, you just need to call the company.

Dextrin is often made of corn, but it can be made of wheat. Maltodextrin is always safe IN THE UNITED STATES except in pharmeceuticals where it becomes questionable.

Modified food starch is questionable--it could be gluten-free, it might not be.

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yep what celiac3270 said is correct

celiac3270 Collaborator
Yep what celiac3270 said is correct

I know it is :P:D:lol:B)

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

haha celiac3270.....I know when I was knew to it I would like to hear it from more then one person ya know? and so there wasn't really anything to add except your right :D

janu Rookie

Thanks for the help. It really feels good to hear from EXPERIENCED celiacs about what is safe and what is not. When you eat something that's not gluten free, how fast do you feel symptoms? Do you know right away when you've eaten hidden gluten? How long does it take to get back to normal? :rolleyes:

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

I know pretty much right away when I have had gluten and my reactions last for about 2 weeks. Everybody is different though..some people don't get symptoms after ingesting gluten. Some people have reactions that last for hours, days, or weeks.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

OK, I'll have to disagree with celiac3270 some.

Although I heard years ago to watch out for colorings, I've never, ever found one with gluten. If anybody knows of a food with gluten because of artificial color, please say so. Artificial flavors also seem to be almost without exception safe, but please check to make sure.

Natural flavors DEFINITELY need to be checked.

Maltodextrin in food in the U.S. is no longer universally safe, BUT if it comes from wheat it must by law say so. So if doesn't say wheat maltodextrin, it's safe, even if it's in an imported product.

Most people who have looked at it in detail consider caramel color gluten-free because there simply never or almost never is wheat in it. Wheat CAN be in it but it just isn't at this point (of course that can change). Some warn that caramel color made overseas might have wheat, but if that's true I haven't yet found it or heard of it. If anybody knows of a product that definitely isn't safe because of caramel color, please say so.

Vanilla is safe.

richard

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yes Maltodextrin is safe in the US unless stated otherwise..they have to put wheat on the label if it comes from wheat.

I have seen things with natural flavors that are not safe...so I check on that every time unless it is a brand I know is safe.

flagbabyds Collaborator

Natural flavors are much more of a question than artificial, almost always artificial is gluten-free because it is chemicals, not natural products which have wheat in them, and yes in the US maltodextrin is always listed if it has gluten in it. Really I am just restating what everyone else has said :)

celiac3270 Collaborator

No specific examples, Richard.....I was just going by the book, so to speak...

The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

Artificial Color4

Artificial Flavoring6

Caramel Color1, 3

Coloring4

Dextrins1,7

Flavoring6

Food Starch1, 4

Gravy Cubes4

Ground Spices4

Maltodextrin1, 8  Miso4

Modified Food Starch1, 4

Modified Starch1, 4

Mono and Diglycerides1

Monosodium Glutimate (MSG)1, 4

Mustard Powder 4

Natural Flavoring6

Starch1, 4

Stock Cubes4

Wheat Starch5 

1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free.

3) The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: "the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet)." Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

4) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

lovegrov Collaborator

The problem is that some of this information is old now.

richard

celiac3270 Collaborator

Oh okay B)

LivinLife Newbie

Hey! Coke and Pepsi are both definitly gluten-free :) I got this info straight from the companies... I guess the coloring in these cases are fine!

mommida Enthusiast

Just ran across this in a cookbook, "Ingerdient Alert-Most, if not all, yellow-colored cheese contains annatto. It is not well-tolerated by some gluten-free individuals."

When you are first learning gluten-free, you are getting overloaded with information, and the wording can make such a huge difference.

In my opinion get a food diary and keep a journal. You could have other food sensitivites that are making it harder for you to adjust to gluten-free. A year from now you may laugh when you look back at it.

L.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,731
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    synjadanynja
    Newest Member
    synjadanynja
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Correction: My previous post refers to hickory products when I actually meant bakery products.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Trader Joe's "gluten-free" hickory products are definitely not celiac safe. Their own website used to have a sidebar acknowledging this. Trader Joe's contracts out for their products, or obtains products elsewhere and puts their brand on it. Is Trader Joe's acknowledges, the facilities in which their products are made may change without notice, and ingredients or sources for ingredients may change without notice. Every time I tried Trader Joe's "gluten-free" muffins, breads, tortillas, etc, I had a reaction. The worst reactions were from the muffins (which are about 440 cals apiece, btw). 
×
×
  • Create New...