Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Corona Light Beer


haleym

Recommended Posts

haleym Contributor

Ok... so I just drank a Corona light because I have another celiac friend who also drinks it... and now that Im researching I cant find out if its actually brewed with barley or just corn as some people have told me. I usually get a tension headache when I drink non gluten-free beer, and I have a touch of tension building now, not as bad as usual though. Someone please tell me its gluten-free!

We shall see... hopefully it doesnt get me too bad... Ive gotten myself once this week already!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Mtndog Collaborator
Ok... so I just drank a Corona light because I have another celiac friend who also drinks it... and now that Im researching I cant find out if its actually brewed with barley or just corn as some people have told me. I usually get a tension headache when I drink non gluten-free beer, and I have a touch of tension building now, not as bad as usual though. Someone please tell me its gluten-free!

We shall see... hopefully it doesnt get me too bad... Ive gotten myself once this week already!

It is NOT gluten-free. Hope your reaction isn't too bad!

The only beers that I know of that are safe for celiacs are Red Bridge, Bard's tale and La Messiere (french- I think our Canadian friends can get it).

I've never heard of beer brewed from corn- vodka yes (Smirnoff is corn-based) but not beer. Bard's Tale is a sorghum lager and very tasty!

ENF Enthusiast
It is NOT gluten-free. Hope your reaction isn't too bad!

The only beers that I know of that are safe for celiacs are Red Bridge, Bard's tale and La Messiere (french- I think our Canadian friends can get it).(bold mine)

I've never heard of beer brewed from corn- vodka yes (Smirnoff is corn-based) but not beer. Bard's Tale is a sorghum lager and very tasty!

The OP, haleym, has gluten intolerance, not Celiac.

I do know people diagnosed with Celiac that drink light beer, not gluten free, with no reaction. I wouldn't do it, myself.

happygirl Collaborator

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

haleym Contributor

Thanks guys! I felt OK after it, a little headachey but that was all. Lesson learned!

  • 9 months later...
westenwillow Newbie

Thanks guys! I felt OK after it, a little headachey but that was all. Lesson learned!

try namaste brand baking goods they are awesome.. as well as udi's breads if you can find it.. if you have a wholefoods near you they have these things.. annnnd wholefoods also has amazing frozen cup cakes when you are in a pinch too :) tinkyada is a great pasta and i have gotten "toll house" quality cookies with almond flour and tapioca starch ..trial and error.. "Greens" beers are really good but pricey..Glutino pretzels and other treats by that brand are really good too.. i work in the natural food world so if you need help feel free to shout out!

  • 1 year later...
Rwwright16 Newbie

I haven't been diagnosed with Celiac or gluten intolerant but have been gluten free for 16 months. I can usually tell if I've been glutenized pretty quickly. I had no reaction after a couple of Coronas in the USA. Everything I've found says Corona is made with barley.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



modiddly16 Enthusiast

Barley is not safe for celiacs, as it is a source of gluten. You might not be having an external reaction but I assure you that you're causing damage internally. Corona is NOT gluten free.

kitgordon Explorer

New Grist beer is another gluten free one. No "regular" beers are safe; they need to be labelled "gluten free" and made from sorghum, or sorghum and rice. Learned that the hard way after a fellow celiac told me Heineken was safe. It isn't.

  • 5 years later...
CURTIS C. TAYLOR Newbie
On 9/27/2009 at 6:19 PM, haleym said:

Ok... so I just drank a Corona light because I have another celiac friend who also drinks it... and now that Im researching I cant find out if its actually brewed with barley or just corn as some people have told me. I usually get a tension headache when I drink non gluten-free beer, and I have a touch of tension building now, not as bad as usual though. Someone please tell me its gluten-free!

 

We shall see... hopefully it doesnt get me too bad... Ive gotten myself once this week already!

Dear Haleym,

Did you find the ppm of gluten for corona light??

Corona extra is listed as less than 10ppm.

pc

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...