Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Relationship Between Gluten And Milk Intolerance.


brigala

Recommended Posts

brigala Explorer

Ok, this is NOT about the "temporary" lactose intolerance caused by damaged villi from Celiac, but a different question entirely.

They say milk does not contain gluten, and that even when cows are fed wheat it does not pass through to the milk.

And yet, at least some researchers (and many parents) believe that gluten DOES pass through into HUMAN milk.

In practice, it seems some breastfed babies react to gluten in their mothers' diets, and others don't show signs of Celiac until gluten is introduced directly.

That got me thinking -- is it possible that some people who have Celiac react badly to milk because of wheat in the cows' diets, and other people who have Celiac simply don't react to whatever trace of gluten might be in the milk?

Has anybody ever really studied gluten in cow's milk, or has it just been assumed all this time that it doesn't pass through? Does anybody have even anecdotal stories (I can drink milk from my grandpa's farm because he only feeds corn to his cows, but not from the dairy across town because they feed wheat...)?

Am I just totally out to lunch wondering about this? (I usually do fine with milk, by the way.)

-Elizabeth


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



VioletBlue Contributor

If you're gong to follow that line of thinking than you will also have to give up eating chicken, pork, beef, turkey and pretty much any other meat product that might have been grain fed. Wouldn't it stand to follow that if milk is tainted the animal's meat would be as well?

But most commercial milk cows are not fed wheat rye or barley grains anyway; that would be a very expensive diet. Most of them are probably eating corn hay and soy products.

Ok, this is NOT about the "temporary" lactose intolerance caused by damaged villi from Celiac, but a different question entirely.

They say milk does not contain gluten, and that even when cows are fed wheat it does not pass through to the milk.

And yet, at least some researchers (and many parents) believe that gluten DOES pass through into HUMAN milk.

In practice, it seems some breastfed babies react to gluten in their mothers' diets, and others don't show signs of Celiac until gluten is introduced directly.

That got me thinking -- is it possible that some people who have Celiac react badly to milk because of wheat in the cows' diets, and other people who have Celiac simply don't react to whatever trace of gluten might be in the milk?

Has anybody ever really studied gluten in cow's milk, or has it just been assumed all this time that it doesn't pass through? Does anybody have even anecdotal stories (I can drink milk from my grandpa's farm because he only feeds corn to his cows, but not from the dairy across town because they feed wheat...)?

Am I just totally out to lunch wondering about this? (I usually do fine with milk, by the way.)

-Elizabeth

brigala Explorer
If you're gong to follow that line of thinking than you will also have to give up eating chicken, pork, beef, turkey and pretty much any other meat product that might have been grain fed. Wouldn't it stand to follow that if milk is tainted the animal's meat would be as well?

But most commercial milk cows are not fed wheat rye or barley grains anyway; that would be a very expensive diet. Most of them are probably eating corn hay and soy products.

I don't know, I'm not really thinking of giving up milk at this point. I have enough other dietary issues to deal with. I'm not sure it would follow that it would end up in meat if it ends up in milk. I was just curious about whether it had actually been studied. I'm just trying to figure out why it would pass into human milk but not cow's milk. I wonder if it's just an assumption.

I think my chicken feed contains wheat, but I don't have any trouble with eating their eggs. :)

My uncle has a farm and raises wheat and cattle (not dairy). He grass-raises them but sometimes will finish them on his own wheat that he raises instead of buying commercial feed.

Ahorsesoul Enthusiast

I do agree with you on this issue. I do have problems with meat sometimes. Especially pork in this area where a lot of farmers feed wheat and old bakery items to their hogs.

We had a patient who needed a few units of blood. Not problem but as I looked over her allergies, a lot of common foods, I suggested to the doctor that he order something in case she reacted to the blood. He laughed at me because no way did that pass over into the blood but he did but in an order. A few minutes after we stated the blood she had an allergic reaction. Like I told the doctor the donor of the blood probably ate at least one of the items on her allergy list. My suggestion saved her life. I was right and he learned a very valuable lesson. At one time washing the germs off your hand was thought to be senseless.

RollingAlong Explorer

tough to do any lit searching for this because the terms are so commonly used together.

Might be worh trying the Elisa gluten home test kit.

deditus Newbie

I believe that gluten in breastmilk is caused by mom's leaky gut, as proteins should be hydrolyzed prior to circulating in the body and thus ending up in breastmilk. Levels of nutrients in breastmilk are mostly the same as whatever is in mom's blood (exception being most minerals which are generally steady in breastmilk unless mom is severely deficient). So if one drank milk from a cow eating wheat with a leaky gut then there could be wheat proteins in the cow's milk. So if cow's get leaky gut, I would guess yes this could happen.

I would also guess that this would be less likely to cause issues with meat since it is bled.

Emily

brigala Explorer

Emily --

Interesting hypothesis. It sounds logical and it would be a great thing to research.

It all makes me wish I had any aptitude in biology. I'd love to research it. But biology is the only class I've ever had that I had to struggle to get a C... honestly, all microscopic things look pretty much the same to me. ;)

-Elizabeth


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,878
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JwH6281
    Newest Member
    JwH6281
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
×
×
  • Create New...