Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bailey's Irish Cream....gluten Free?


kimis

Recommended Posts

kimis Collaborator

Is Bailey's Irish Cream gluten free? They don't list ingredients on the bottle or the website, and I e-mailed them...but they havn't gotten back to me yet.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Gemini Experienced
Is Bailey's Irish Cream gluten free? They don't list ingredients on the bottle or the website, and I e-mailed them...but they havn't gotten back to me yet.

I would like the definitive answer to this myself! :lol: I have read that it is and that it isn't so have not had any for at least 3 years now. I love Bailey's too!

Recently I read on another website regarding Celiac that all distilled, grain based liquor is gluten-free, unless flavorings are added post-distillation. However, some Celiacs claim they have reactions so I am unsure enough about it that I don't drink it. It's one of the few items I just haven't been able to confirm status on. I would hate to buy a bottle and then have a problem with it as it's not cheap booze! I guess you could try it and see what happens? :o

Wolicki Enthusiast

They say it's gluten free, but I react to it :blink:

killernj13 Enthusiast

They used to have the CYA message on their website that they could not guarantee it was G/L but stated the distilling theory.

I've had it in the past and felt fine.

But everyone is different.

killernj13 Enthusiast

Here is the statement from the website:

Gluten:

Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys Irish cream is manufactured by fermenting grain which contains Gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice persons requiring a gluten-free diet should consult their medical adviser before consuming Baileys Irish cream.

irish daveyboy Community Regular

Taken from the Coeliac Society of Ireland's Christmas Goodie list 2009.

.

Extract shown for drinks only:

.

(in line with the new revised Codex Standard)

Comprehensive list of additions/deletions to the 2009 Food List can be found on www.coeliac.ie

A SELECTION OF FOODS & DRINKS

kimis Collaborator

I'm going to buy a bottle for Christmas Eve, and if you don't here from me on Christmas....it's no good


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JillianLindsay Enthusiast

I was wondering this myself as I was at an Xmas party recently and said no thanks because I wasn't sure. Now I shall try it over the holidays and see how it goes :) Thanks for posting!

inmygenes Apprentice

The distillation process gets rid of gluten in spirits.

Your reaction could be to the cream, perhaps a lactose sensitivity?

Ahorsesoul Enthusiast

Just make your own, it's easy. Do a search and you'll find lots of recipe to make it at home. Then just use whiskey that you know you can tolerate.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
The distillation process gets rid of gluten in spirits.

Your reaction could be to the cream, perhaps a lactose sensitivity?

There are some of us who do react to distilled grains. I am one of them. The symptoms I get are definately gluten symptoms including a DH outbreak. Most will tolerate distilled grains but there are a few of us who will have problems.

lovegrov Collaborator

I know a number of people with celiac who drink Baileys.

richard

larry mac Enthusiast

I've never had a reaction to any spirits. I make what I call mudslides with Irish Cream liqueur (too cheap to buy Bailey's, use Brendan's or Starbucks), coffee liqueur (too cheap to buy Kalua, use Copa de Ora or Starbucks), milk and a little Vodka, on ice of course.

I believe it's all gluten-free.

best regards, lm

  • 1 year later...
PCProphet Newbie

I know this is an old thread but I wanted to share info from a site my wife found. This is a letter the author says came from a Bailey's rep. I can't be sure of it's authenticity, so as with anything take it with a grain of salt. (Although salt goes better with Tequila.) :)

Open Original Shared Link

After retracting the initial response I received from Baileys corporate, here is the final word I received on Baileys (much to the joy of my recipe list).

March 23, 2006

Dear Mr. Mike M,

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding glutens in beverage alcohol products, specifically Baileys.

In regards to your e-mail, please be advised that we have received an update from our labs that have just now confirmed that Baileys is actually Gluten Free. We don't have any details of the process and recipe available to the public due to the standard confidentiality of all brands for their recipes, however we can now guarantee this product to be gluten free. Of course, as this relates to a medical condition, may we suggest that you consult your own physician concerning the consumption of beverage alcohol products.

Once again, thank you for contacting us, and we hope the information provided has been helpful.

Sincerely,

Brian H.

Baileys

Consumer Representative

Matt B

Lilith Newbie

Good news and so timely! :lol:

Thank you for sharing the news.

Lilith

  • 1 year later...
Rockbas1 Newbie

I contacted Bailey's and they told me:

"Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain, which contains gluten. Due to the distillation process the glutens are generally removed from the finished product.

I then asked about the caramel used and this was the response:

"There are many other ingredients in Baileys (such as caramel), apart from the whiskey. Recently Baileys Original, Caramel, and Mint Chocolate have been tested and found to contain less than 5 ppm (parts per million) of glutens.

As we are not qualified to give medical advice with regards to a gluten free diet, we ask that you please consult with your medical adviser before consuming Baileys, as each person may have a different sensitivity."

pricklypear1971 Community Regular

Well, that's great news!

  • 1 year later...
mynxr Rookie

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten.  Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it.  Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn.  So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

 

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.  

kareng Grand Master

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten. Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it. Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn. So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.

I and other Celiacs drink distilled alcohol with no issues. Same with pickles ( eat pickles, not drink them)

This has a nice explanation of how distillation works. Go down to number 2.

https://www.celiac.com/articles/23350/1/Common-Misunderstandings-of-Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

IrishHeart Veteran

In my personal experience distilling doesn't remove gluten.  Vinegar is also distilled yet if it doesn't state that it's gluten free, I react to it.  Even pickles make me sick if they vinegar isn't distilled from corn.  So I would be leery of any site that says distilling removes the gluten.

 

I love Baileys so I so wish it was true for me and I could drink it.  

 

You may get sick from these things, but it is not gluten causing it, hon.

 

I drink Bailey's and eat pickles and vinegar (not malt, of course) and I am fine.

Adalaide Mentor

I too enjoy many things with distilled vinegar, especially my homemade pickles. I've never gotten sick from vinegar or anything made with it. Sadly, I don't drink alcohol, but I do cook with it and have used distilled spirits and never had a problem. Most notably, the bottle of triple distilled vodka made from wheat I currently have. (I've very sadly never found a recipe that interests me that uses Baily's, one of my favorite flavors!)

sweetsailing Apprentice

I drink bailey's and don't have any issues.  For those who do, what are you mixing with it, if anything?  I did mix it with Hot Chocolate and determined it was the hot chocolate that was the issue not the bailey's.  Once I switched brands of hot chocolate to make absolutely sure it was gluten free, I was fine. 

 

As for pickles, I don't eat pickles or relish for other reasons.  I have an allergy to mustard and all pickles and relish seem to contain mustard.  The mustard allergy is sometimes more frustrating than being gluten free, as food manufactuerers often are not required to list mustard as an ingredient.  I am very leary of anything that says "spices or natural spices" as this often means mustard. 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,655
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Amanda chef
    Newest Member
    Amanda chef
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • MomofGF
      I really did tell her to have gluten-free days. Her negative result is on me and some days she barely ate because of how sick she felt. 
    • Scott Adams
      So just to clarify, celiac disease is an autoimmune disease rather than an allergy, and you mentioned that you had allergy tests done. Can you share with us your celiac disease blood test results along with the reference range for a positive test? Also, did you get the results back for your DH biopsy?  Approximately 10x more people have non-celiac gluten sensitivity than have celiac disease, but there isn’t yet a test for NCGS. If your symptoms go away on a gluten-free diet it would likely signal NCGS.
    • MomofGF
      Thanks for your response Scott. They don’t immediately go away. If she consumes gluten on accident, then she is sick for a couple to a few days. She worked at a summer camp and this summer the chef contaminated the food and that one incident landed her in the infirmary for 2 days. She couldn’t stay longer because her cabin didn’t have a replacement councillor. Not to mention it affected her skin and the other person who had celiac offered her his cream he uses!! It helped but she still has the scarring from all the scratching. 
    • Scott Adams
      Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      For people with celiac disease hidden gluten in their diets is the main cause of elevated Tissue Transglutaminase IgA Antibodies (tTG-IgA), but there are other conditions, including cow's milk/casein intolerance, that can also cause this, and here is an article about the other possible causes:    
×
×
  • Create New...