Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

"nathan's Famous" Hot Dogs....now Are Gluten-free!


canadave

Recommended Posts

canadave Apprentice

Hey all!

Nathan's frankfurters (the famous NY ones) have had gluten in them for a long time....but apparently they are now gluten-free!

I just came back to NYC for a visit, and went to the local supermarket, where they had various varieties of Nathan's Franks (natural casing, skinless, different sizes, etc). Everything I'd read on the Internet had indicated that they are not gluten-free, so I was all set to ignore them. But I'd come to get Sabrett hot dogs (which are gluten free), and the store had none. So on a whim, I looked closely at the Nathans.

To my infinite surprise, ALL of the packages I looked at clearly said "GLUTEN FREE" on the front of the packaging, in plain sight. A look at the ingredient list confirmed that. With great anticipation, I bought a package, ate a few, and I did not get sick.

Note that there is no info on whether the production line itself is free from cross-contamination. Also note that I have not had a chance to specifically follow up with the company itself, and there is no information on their website about this.

I also have no idea whether only NYC-local Nathan's are gluten-free. So if you decide to try them, either inspect the packaging at the store, or if ordering online, contact Nathan's directly to confirm the gluten-free-ness of their products.

But either way, this is a very encouraging development!! It was wonderful to eat be able to eat a Nathan's hot dog again!! :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Very good news. Wonder when they changed.

richard

canadave Apprentice
Very good news. Wonder when they changed.

richard

No idea :)

Here's a blog post from someone who posted photos of the packaging (she said she "read about this", which I think means she read this thread...yay!) :) Note the GLUTEN FREE label....

Open Original Shared Link

Coleslawcat Contributor
No idea :)

Here's a blog post from someone who posted photos of the packaging (she said she "read about this", which I think means she read this thread...yay!) :) Note the GLUTEN FREE label....

Open Original Shared Link

Sam's Club serves Nathan's hot dogs. I wonder if it would be safe to get one without the bun now when I go with my family. We used to make it a regular trip every few weeks and get hot dogs together at the end.

Mtndog Collaborator

YAHOO!!!!!!!!!!!! Only hot dog I ever truly loved!

savvvyseller Enthusiast

Just be careful of Nathan's cheddar-flavored hot dogs, at least for the moment. All of those packages I spotted at a local market had the words "Gluten Free" crossed out in black marker; the ingredients listed gluten.

canadave Apprentice

Just be careful of Nathan's cheddar-flavored hot dogs, at least for the moment. All of those packages I spotted at a local market had the words "Gluten Free" crossed out in black marker; the ingredients listed gluten.

Yes, good point. In response to a query I made, I just got this email from David Kalish, the Director of Purchasing for Nathan's. Note the bit at the end about checking the packages:

"In response to many inquiries from our loyal customers over the past few years, we began work on a new spice formula that did not contain glutens. Nathan's is very proud of the fact that we were able to manufacture our product Gluten-Free. We will be making all of our hot dogs and sausages for both Foodservice & Retail this way shortly. One word of caution: at this time we are in the process of transitioning to our new formula. Not every product both in supermarkets and our restaurants have been converted as yet. Please check your supermarket packages carefully to make sure they have the "Gluten-Free" burst on the label.

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our brand."

It does sound as though ALL Nathan's products are either already gluten-free, or in the process of being made gluten-free soon. What great news!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



killernj13 Enthusiast

The cheddar still have gluten in them in the Shop Rite I was in.

summerteeth Enthusiast

Yes, good point. In response to a query I made, I just got this email from David Kalish, the Director of Purchasing for Nathan's. Note the bit at the end about checking the packages:

"In response to many inquiries from our loyal customers over the past few years, we began work on a new spice formula that did not contain glutens. Nathan's is very proud of the fact that we were able to manufacture our product Gluten-Free. We will be making all of our hot dogs and sausages for both Foodservice & Retail this way shortly. One word of caution: at this time we are in the process of transitioning to our new formula. Not every product both in supermarkets and our restaurants have been converted as yet. Please check your supermarket packages carefully to make sure they have the "Gluten-Free" burst on the label.

Thank you for your continued loyalty to our brand."

It does sound as though ALL Nathan's products are either already gluten-free, or in the process of being made gluten-free soon. What great news!

Good to know - thank you for the information!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,819
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Susan Goodman
    Newest Member
    Susan Goodman
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...