Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Root Beer Or Thai Food?


chumley

Recommended Posts

chumley Newbie

Last night was my first eating-out experience since going gluten-free. I had about a glass and a half of Mug brand root beer, Chicken Satay, Massaman Curry, and one bite of Pad Thai and rice pudding. I verified with the server that there was no wheat/flour in the Satay or curry (which usually there isn't) and I'd be really surprised if it was an intentional ingredient in the other two dishes. Any ideas where I went wrong? Right before leaving the restaurant I started having a reaction and was feeling really lousy by the time I got home.

I know Mug Root Beer says their product is gluten-free, but there is a question on anything with caramel color.

I guess my main question is: Has anyone had a reaction with Mug Root Beer, or should I just avoid the Thai place? The only thing on the menu that seemed suspicious was some tempura, so it seems like there would not be a lot of gluten in their kitchen for cross-contamination.

I know this is a lame newbie question, but I am a total newbie at this; thanks for any help! It would be nice to be able to dine out at all since I definitely am going to have to cut down on eating out in general.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Jestgar Rising Star

most soy sauce is made with wheat. Did you think to ask about that?

chumley Newbie
most soy sauce is made with wheat. Did you think to ask about that?

No, I didn't, thanks for the info!

tarnalberry Community Regular

You need to ask more questions of the thai place. Chicken Satay usually has a sauce that contains soy sauce. While many thai soy sauces do not contain wheat, it's a huge assumption that a thai restaurant won't use a japanese or chinese soy sauce that is much more readily available. It can also hide in many oyster sauces and some fish sauces. It's far more than just finding out if there is flour in a dish.

For restaurants I don't know, I like to use the Open Original Shared Link, as they've worked well for me.

psawyer Proficient
I know Mug Root Beer says their product is gluten-free, but there is a question on anything with caramel color.
Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]
lovegrov Collaborator

If you didn't check on soy sauce, that's your problem. Caramel color is NOT a problem.

richard

Squidge Newbie

If you didn't check on soy sauce, that's your problem. Caramel color is NOT a problem.

richard

You really should be nicer about that. Soy sauce isn't something you think of as having wheat. After all, the climate in Thailand isn't conducive to growing wheat.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

You really should be nicer about that. Soy sauce isn't something you think of as having wheat. After all, the climate in Thailand isn't conducive to growing wheat.

Such is the difficulty of text only communication.

I'm pretty sure he meant "If you didn't check the soy sauce, that is the source of your symptoms" rather than "If you didn't check the soy sauce, it's your own fault for feeling crappy".

lovegrov Collaborator

You really should be nicer about that. Soy sauce isn't something you think of as having wheat. After all, the climate in Thailand isn't conducive to growing wheat.

Nothing rude meant at all. By "problem" I meant the physical difficulties she was having.

richard

summerteeth Enthusiast

The Thai restaurant I go to makes gluten-free Pad Thai - they have their own gluten free menu. The server also told me it would be relatively easy to make - just tamarind paste, fish sauce, chicken, rice noodles, eggs, and onions. He told me to stay away from the restaurant's soy sauce though.

I agree with an above poster, carrying a card that explains your dietary limitations is extremely helpful. I use one from Cecilia's marketplace.

mbrookes Community Regular

Many Thai restaurants don't use soy sauce; they use fish sauce, which is safe. My local one has soy sauce on the table, but they do not cook with it.

happygirl Collaborator

they use fish sauce, which is safe.

Not always - https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/index.php?showtopic=36502

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,763
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Larry Hail
    Newest Member
    Larry Hail
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • bluebird2032
      Gluten free/ non dairy , low calorie pudding ideas please?
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
×
×
  • Create New...