Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Popcorn At The Movies


Diva1

Recommended Posts

Diva1 Enthusiast

I know this is probably a question asked over and over but can we eat popcorn at the movie theater....I have a feeling that I should bring my own...

anyone? :P


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Eric-C Enthusiast

I know this is probably a question asked over and over but can we eat popcorn at the movie theater....I have a feeling that I should bring my own...

anyone? :P

Even though I had zero reaction to soy, butter, dairy, etc...that stuff kills me.

Don't know if it has gluten but it has an immediate and profound effect :)

Mskedi Newbie

Even though I had zero reaction to soy, butter, dairy, etc...that stuff kills me.

Don't know if it has gluten but it has an immediate and profound effect :)

Same here. I react at Regal/Edwards, but not at AMC, oddly enough. I have no idea why there would be gluten in popcorn or the butter flavor, and maybe I'm reacting to something else entirely, but I won't touch it anymore.

I wonder if they would let me bring my own popcorn in if I explained the problem?

CeliacMom2008 Enthusiast

We take popcorn in all the time. My son actually doesn't like plain popcorn, even movie popcorn (I on the other hand could eat it every day!). So we just take a ziplock with his favorite (SmartPop White Cheese, Trader Joes Kettle Corn, Pirate's Booty, etc.). He also doesn't like pop, so I take a Propel or whatever drink he wants. I just slip it into my purse and pull it out when the lights go down. He almost always buys M&Ms and hubby and I always get drink and popcorn, so I don't feel like we're jipping the theater out of anything. He wouldn't buy the popcorn or pop anyway.

There was an article in either Gluten Free Living or Living Without recently I think that listed the theaters whose popcorn they had checked for gluten. And just FYI, I don't have Celiac, and Rave Theater popcorn with or without butter always gives me a gurgly tummy. Hubby too.

lovegrov Collaborator

I've yet in 8 years to find a theater popcorn that has gluten. That's not a guarantee to anybody, but I don't worry about theater popcorn.

richard

DownWithGluten Explorer

Not all movie popcorn is gluten free from my experience. The two theaters near me, we'd called ahead and they said they were and it was fine. I ate their popcorn and all was well. Then I went to another state, and we went to see a movie. I can't remember what the company was. I asked the people if they knew whether it was gluten free, and of course they were clueless. They showed me the ingredients on the flavoring tub which didn't mean much. I didn't see WHEAT jumping out, but we all know that's not always safe. But I thought, oh screw it, I'll just eat it, I'm sure it's fine. And it wasn't, not at all. That was the first and one of only 2 times in the past 3 years that I've had a gluten attack since going gluten free.

Now I am spurned and won't even eat it at the places that I used to safely. It's just not worth the risk at all to me. So, that's my experience.

  • 2 weeks later...
Darissa Contributor

I went to our local theater and asked to talk to the Manager over the food. They were very nice and allowed me to see the box of the popcorn/oil mixture that they use. I got the information off of the box and called the company the next day. I did find out that the popcorn my local theater uses is actually gluten free. We were very thankful!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



sunnybabi1986 Contributor

I eat the popcorn at my local theater all the time without any problems...ask to speak to a manager so that you can look at the ingredients in the butter. If there is something in it that raises a red flag, I'm sure they would have no problem with you bringing your own!

msmini14 Enthusiast

We take popcorn in all the time. My son actually doesn't like plain popcorn, even movie popcorn (I on the other hand could eat it every day!). So we just take a ziplock with his favorite (SmartPop White Cheese, Trader Joes Kettle Corn, Pirate's Booty, etc.). He also doesn't like pop, so I take a Propel or whatever drink he wants. I just slip it into my purse and pull it out when the lights go down. He almost always buys M&Ms and hubby and I always get drink and popcorn, so I don't feel like we're jipping the theater out of anything. He wouldn't buy the popcorn or pop anyway.

There was an article in either Gluten Free Living or Living Without recently I think that listed the theaters whose popcorn they had checked for gluten. And just FYI, I don't have Celiac, and Rave Theater popcorn with or without butter always gives me a gurgly tummy. Hubby too.

Everytime my husband gets popcorn at Rave his stomach always cramps up and he doesnt even have celiac. I have tried a little bit here and there and it upset my stomach every time too. I bring my own in now and my dh still eats the popcorn lol, with his slushi!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,812
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Granna57
    Newest Member
    Granna57
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...