Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Green Giant Broccoli & Cheese


Guest imsohungry

Recommended Posts

Guest imsohungry

Hey you guys,

I tried to find out on the web if Green Giant Broccoli and Cheese frozen side-dish is gluten-free. I couldn't find a gluten-free list on their site. So, I called the company...they said that I needed to read the ingredients....well, DUHHHHHHH! :angry:

I know, obviously, that the Broccoli is gluten-free. I'm just a little concerned about the cheese sauce.

Does anyone know definitively if this product is gluten-free? It's my lunch today :blink:

Thanks for any input. -Julie :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Green Giant is a Gerneral Mills company and General Mills will clearly list any gluten. So, as the person on the phone told you, all you need to do is read the ingredients. If it doesn't list wheat, rye, barley or oats, it's gluten-free.

richard

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yep...just read the label they do not hide anything so it will clearly say wheat,rye,barley, oats if it contains any :D

Guest imsohungry

Thank you,

I just wasn't sure. I was left a bit confused after my phone conversation with the rep. :rolleyes: I think it was the way that she said it that confused me. I was trying to find out if there was any hidden gluten...and she just kept saying "read the label." When I asked if it was clearly stated, she said, "we only list top allergens." Anyway, I was just left a bit frustrated and confused.

Thank you for responding!!!! :) -Julie

  • 4 years later...
misskatycat Newbie

I just found a PDF file of a list of Green Giants Gluten Free Products and it said all of the canned products and unsauced veggies were gluten free. Hope this Helps

Hey you guys,

I tried to find out on the web if Green Giant Broccoli and Cheese frozen side-dish is gluten-free. I couldn't find a gluten-free list on their site. So, I called the company...they said that I needed to read the ingredients....well, DUHHHHHHH! :angry:

I know, obviously, that the Broccoli is gluten-free. I'm just a little concerned about the cheese sauce.

Does anyone know definitively if this product is gluten-free? It's my lunch today :blink:

Thanks for any input. -Julie :)

Lisa Mentor

Please make sure, when you read product information on this forum or others, to check the date of the post - as this one is over five years old.

Many time product information is subject to change without notice. As well, it would not be safe to rely on information posted five years ago. B)

...just saying ;) (as my kids say )

psawyer Proficient

Green Giant is a Gerneral Mills company and General Mills will clearly list any gluten. So, as the person on the phone told you, all you need to do is read the ingredients. If it doesn't list wheat, rye, barley or oats, it's gluten-free.

richard

Five years later, this is still true. General Mills shares this label policy with Unilever and Kraft, among others. Product formulas may have changed, but the policy regarding clear disclosure of any gluten has not. ALWAYS READ LABELS.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 9 years later...
AliciaCeliacMom Newbie
On 5/10/2005 at 6:15 AM, Guest imsohungry said:

Hey you guys,

 

I tried to find out on the web if Green Giant Broccoli and Cheese frozen side-dish is gluten-free. I couldn't find a gluten-free list on their site. So, I called the company...they said that I needed to read the ingredients....well, DUHHHHHHH! :angry:

 

I know, obviously, that the Broccoli is gluten-free. I'm just a little concerned about the cheese sauce.

 

Does anyone know definitively if this product is gluten-free? It's my lunch today :blink:

 

Thanks for any input. -Julie :)

 

No the broc and cheese is not gluten free! There is an ingredient called autolyzed yeast extract and this is made from barley! I went through each ingredient. I wouldn't risk as but make your own choice. Take care! ? #celiacstrong ❤️

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,943
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MichaelBbiff
    Newest Member
    MichaelBbiff
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • ognam
      Has anyone had Steatorrhea (oily/fatty poop) as a temporary glutening symptom or should I be concerned I've introduced chronic gluten somewhere (like in meds)? I haven't gotten Steatorrhea since before I went gluten free. However, I moved in the past few weeks and haven't been as careful - I've eaten at restauraunts with cross contamination but only experienced minor symptoms like headache. The past week, I ate only gluten free food at home except I went to Red Robin and got fries (told them gluten-free; allergy). The next day I had Steatorrhea and the day after that.   I know it's a symptom of malabsorption so I was wondering if it was the kind of thing that could be caused by one event or if it was due to a more chronic issue. Of course I will speak to a GI but I recently moved and need to find one.   Thank you for any info
    • plumbago
      A relative has opened another door for me on this issue -- the possibility of menopause raising HDL. Most studies suggest that menopause decreases HDL-C, however, one study found that often it's increased. "Surprisingly, HDL cholesterol was higher (p < 0.001) in postmenopausal women by 11%. Further, the number of women who had low HDL cholesterol was higher in pre vs. postmenopausal women. The range of ages were 26–49 years for pre-menopausal and 51–74 years for postmenopausal women. "This interesting finding has also been observed by other investigators. It is possible that the observed increase in HDL-C in postmenopausal women could be due to a protective mechanism to counterbalance the deleterious effects of biomarkers associated with menopause. However, further studies are needed to confirm this theory. And to the point raised earlier about functionality: "...some patients with elevated HDL-C concentrations could remain at risk for coronary events if HDL is not functional and some authors have suggested that this could be the case for menopausal women." Postmenopausal Women Have Higher HDL and Decreased Incidence of Low HDL than Premenopausal Women with Metabolic Syndrome. By no means to I think this is definitive, rather food for thought.
    • ognam
      Yes, lots of delicious things have barley malt. It also doesn't include rye. And there are a number of grains commonly cross contaminated such as oats.   Additionally, wheat allergies are different from gluten allergies as wheat allergies are a reaction to a wheat protein. So something *could* contain wheat gluten without causing a wheat allergic response (though realistically,  I don't know how likely that is to occur)
    • trents
      Although it is true that FDA regulations don't require gluten to be included in allergy info, it does require wheat and ingredients made from wheat to be listed. Of course, that doesn't preclude gluten from barley being found in a product.
    • ognam
      I had a lot of weird/random symptoms for a few months after going gluten free. But eventually they evened out and I felt SO MUCH BETTER. The person above wrote a very detailed message that looks helpful. I'd add don't forget to check for gluten in places like medicine. Advil liquigels, for example, have gluten. It's very frustrating trying to figure out if things are gluten free as us law doesn't require it to be declared. The only labeling rule is that if the product says gluten free, it must have less than 20ppm gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...