Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Forgot Apple Cider Vinegar In Bread Recipe...Oops


Coleslawcat

Recommended Posts

Coleslawcat Contributor

I found some Bob's Red Mill bread mixes on sale for $2 at Fry's so I bought them. I am making my first loaf now and realized I forgot to add the apple cider vinegar after it was already rising. I notice vinegar is a common ingredient in most gluten free baking. Any idea if I messed up the loaf? Is there a chance it will still turn out? What purpose does vinegar play in gluten free baking?

Thanks for indulging my many questions.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



RiceGuy Collaborator

Well, I wouldn't say apple cider vinegar is in most gluten-free baking, but I have seen it as an ingredient from time to time. Given that it is acidic, I suppose it may have a similar role as the ascorbic acid included in rapid rise/instant yeast. Specifically, the acidity helps the yeast do their thing faster, thus the dough will rise faster. There may also be a bit of effect on the texture of the dough, though having experimented, I can't say there's much effect. I guess there may also be a slight difference in taste.

Overall, I don't think the omission of the vinegar would ruin the results. It may be a matter of preference, as are many aspects of baking, gluten-free or otherwise. I think I've seen recipes with lemon juice too, which would presumably have a similar role in yeast breads. Quickbreads with such acidic ingredients include them for very different and specific reasons, and in those cases it is usually far more important to include it.

Coleslawcat Contributor

Well, I wouldn't say apple cider vinegar is in most gluten-free baking, but I have seen it as an ingredient from time to time. Given that it is acidic, I suppose it may have a similar role as the ascorbic acid included in rapid rise/instant yeast. Specifically, the acidity helps the yeast do their thing faster, thus the dough will rise faster. There may also be a bit of effect on the texture of the dough, though having experimented, I can't say there's much effect. I guess there may also be a slight difference in taste.

Overall, I don't think the omission of the vinegar would ruin the results. It may be a matter of preference, as are many aspects of baking, gluten-free or otherwise. I think I've seen recipes with lemon juice too, which would presumably have a similar role in yeast breads. Quickbreads with such acidic ingredients include them for very different and specific reasons, and in those cases it is usually far more important to include it.

I think you nailed it with the rising. The bread simply wasn't rising at all. It did rise after I put it in the oven to bake. The texture was odd, but it was also my first time baking with this mix, so I'm not sure I can attribute that to my error. It tasted awful though, I can't imagine 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar would change that too much. I guess I'm just not a fan of this mix. I am toasting it up to use for breadcrumbs since I don't want to eat it as bread. I have one more bag of mix I bought because of the great price, so I will give it one more chance and make sure to include the vinegar the next time.

Takala Enthusiast

Bob's RM gluten-free Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix contains:

"Contains garbanzo flour, potato starch, corn starch, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, evaporated cane juice, fava flour, xanthan gum, potato flour, sea salt, guar gum, soy lecithin, and a yeast packet "

It has 2 kinds of bean flour in it, garbanzo and fava. Many people don't like the taste of bean flours. They also tend to go rancid more quickly after being ground, especially if they are not refrigerated- hence those bread mixes tend to go on sale.

I've made decent gluten-free quick breads from scratch with fresh bean flour, and remember being surprised at the first time at how it tasted- rather "bread - like" - I'm not in the supertaster group so I don't mind garbanzos. I would avoid fava, it makes some people sick.

In a quick bread, the vinegar is used with baking soda to help leaven it - make it rise. It is also used in many gluten free baking recipes to give the resulting dough a little bit more of both a slightly sour/acid taste closer to wheat, and to make the dough slightly more elastic.

Too much vinegar in a yeast risen bread causes the yeast to fail. Leaving it out of your Bob's mix probably didn't do much except to make the end result slightly more crumbly.

If you are into gluten-free bread baking, you should go ahead and splurge on one of the Betty Hagman books and then adapt those recipes to your tastes and substitute what you want. Some of her recipes have a lot of ingredients but you can leave out or switch them without it being a disaster- for instance, if a recipe called for 1 egg and 2 egg whites, I've used 2 eggs and it still worked. I always put a pinch of spice in my breads, which, in tiny amounts, seems to help the flavor- usually a pinch of cumin and something like cinnamon or nutmeg. If you can find gluten free Chinese five spice powder, a mix of sweet and peppery ginger and anise, that works, too.

RiceGuy Collaborator

Bob's RM gluten-free Homemade Wonderful Bread Mix contains:

"Contains garbanzo flour, potato starch, corn starch, sorghum flour, tapioca flour, evaporated cane juice, fava flour, xanthan gum, potato flour, sea salt, guar gum, soy lecithin, and a yeast packet "

It has 2 kinds of bean flour in it, garbanzo and fava. Many people don't like the taste of bean flours. They also tend to go rancid more quickly after being ground, especially if they are not refrigerated- hence those bread mixes tend to go on sale.

I've made decent gluten-free quick breads from scratch with fresh bean flour, and remember being surprised at the first time at how it tasted- rather "bread - like" - I'm not in the supertaster group so I don't mind garbanzos. I would avoid fava, it makes some people sick.

In a quick bread, the vinegar is used with baking soda to help leaven it - make it rise. It is also used in many gluten free baking recipes to give the resulting dough a little bit more of both a slightly sour/acid taste closer to wheat, and to make the dough slightly more elastic.

Too much vinegar in a yeast risen bread causes the yeast to fail. Leaving it out of your Bob's mix probably didn't do much except to make the end result slightly more crumbly.

If you are into gluten-free bread baking, you should go ahead and splurge on one of the Betty Hagman books and then adapt those recipes to your tastes and substitute what you want. Some of her recipes have a lot of ingredients but you can leave out or switch them without it being a disaster- for instance, if a recipe called for 1 egg and 2 egg whites, I've used 2 eggs and it still worked. I always put a pinch of spice in my breads, which, in tiny amounts, seems to help the flavor- usually a pinch of cumin and something like cinnamon or nutmeg. If you can find gluten free Chinese five spice powder, a mix of sweet and peppery ginger and anise, that works, too.

That's correct about the bean flours spoiling. I never buy Bob's flours anyway, since many are stone ground. This creates too much heat, and the bean flours are essentially rancid right out of the mill. Fresh bean flours do not taste bad, though most do taste different than grain flours. Don't know about fava making anyone sick. I probably use fava more than any other, though not much in breads. I don't use garbanzo at all - just doesn't taste good to me. White bean flour goes well in breads if you ask me.

I also agree with the addition of some spices. I like rye bread, which gets a notable portion of its flavor from caraway seed. Adding caraway will help if you enjoy that rye bread taste. I also like some ground ginger in breads, especially when bean flours are used. It seems to help counteract the beanie taste, though again, fresh bean flours are essential anyway.

Takala Enthusiast

from wikipedia, on fava beans

Health issues

Broad beans are rich in tyramine, and thus should be avoided by those taking monoamine oxidase (MAO) inhibitors.

Raw broad beans contain vicine, isouramil and convicine, which can induce hemolytic anemia in patients with the hereditary condition glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency (G6PD). This potentially fatal condition is called "favism" after the fava bean.[1][2]

Broad beans are rich in L-dopa, a substance used medically in the treatment of Parkinson's disease. L-dopa is also a natriuretic agent, which might help in controlling hypertension.[3] Some also use fava beans as a natural alternative to drugs like Viagra, citing a link between L-dopa production and the human libido.[citation needed] Broad beans are widely cultivated in district Kech and Panjgur of Balochistan Province of Pakistan and eastern province of Iran. In Balochi language, they are called Bakalaink, and Baghalee in Persian. The elders generally restrict the young children from eating them raw (when unmatured) because they can cause constipation and jaundice-like symptoms.[citation needed]

Areas of origin of the bean correspond to malarial areas. There are epidemiological and in vitro studies which suggest that the hemolysis resulting from favism acts as protection from malaria, because certain species of malarial protozoa such as Plasmodium falcipacrum are very sensitive to oxidative damage due to deficiency of Glucose 6-phosphate dehydrogenase enzyme which would otherwise protect from oxidative damage via production of glutathione reductase[4]

RiceGuy Collaborator
Raw broad beans contain vicine, isouramil and convicine, which can induce hemolytic anemia in patients with the hereditary condition glucose-6-phosphate dehydrogenase deficiency (G6PD). This potentially fatal condition is called "favism" after the fava bean.[1][2]
OK, but I think the operative word there is RAW. So, the individual would have to have the genetic condition mentioned, and eat raw fava beans. Thankfully that's not going to happen very often.

I'm sure many foods have substances which under certain conditions might potentially be harmful. One which I'm already aware of is that raw sweet potato has oxalate crystals. But, thankfully, cooking destroys the crystals. However, for those with sensitive skin, it is suggested to handle the raw roots with rubber gloves. Same with taro root.

Many types of seeds and other things have arsenic. But rarely does anyone consume enough to get poisoned. Speaking of which, rice grown in the US commonly has more arsenic than rice grown in India. There is more than one type of arsenic too, so it is important to distinguish between them.

Open Original Shared Link has saponins, which apparently is what makes it so bitter, and it is somewhat toxic too. The leaves apparently can be toxic as well, if one was to consume enough of them.

One which many on this board consume is Open Original Shared Link, from which tapioca is made. It has its own potential for harm also.

Let's not forget all the major allergens too. Truly, if we avoid all foods which might be potentially harmful, we'd starve.

Anyway, your point is well taken, but I'm not worried about eating fava, and I don't think too many people should.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,791
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
    • Manaan2
      I realize I'm super late in the game regarding this topic but in case anyone is still reading/commenting on this one-does anyone who is especially sensitive have their personal observations to share regarding Primal Kitchen brand?  My daughter was diagnosed almost 2 years ago with celiac and within 6 months, her follow up labs were normal and a year later vitamin levels significantly improving, but we are still battling GI symptoms; particularly, constipation, so much that she has been on MiraLax every day since she was 3.  We've managed to get her down to a half cap every other day but without that, she continues to have issues (when she has a known, accidental ingestion unfortunately it takes a lot more MiraLax and additional laxatives to help her).  I was searching for something else and found this and am wondering if anyone has any specific comments regarding Primal Kitchen.  I feel like we are so incredibly careful with diet, logging diet and symptoms to look for patterns (we've had multiple dieticians help with this piece as well), not eating out, contacting companies and of course, there is always room for improvement but I'm running out of ideas regarding where her issues could be coming from.  Even if the Primal Kitchen is contributing, I'm sure it's not the only thing contributing but I can't help but think there must be handful of things that are working together and against her.  The ingredients list distilled white vinegar, but also white wine vinegar and balsamic, then "spices" which I'm always cautious about.  However, after contacting the company, I felt more comfortable allowing her to consume their products but over time I've realized that the front-line customer service support people don't always provide the most accurate of information.  Thanks for reading to anyone that does.   
×
×
  • Create New...