Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does Bacon Have Gluten?


Myooshka

Recommended Posts

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

Farmer John bacon has gluten in it, besides that I haven't seen any. I much prefer the straight from the farm kind myself!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply
psawyer Proficient

Farmer John bacon has gluten in it, besides that I haven't seen any. I much prefer the straight from the farm kind myself!

I went to the Open Original Shared Link and I don't see gluten anywhere. Please help me find where the gluten is in the ingredients. I can't see it.

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

It's in the seasonings, when scanned the product comes right up as including gluten and wheat.

kareng Grand Master

It's in the seasonings, when scanned the product comes right up as including gluten and wheat.

What do you mean " scanned"? If it has wheat, legally they must disclose that in the US and Canada on the package, in English writing, that anyone can read.

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

Do you people not have iPhones? Lol there are apps that will scan the package and break down exactly what is in each of the ingredients. It's a great thing, any questions and it will pick it right up. If there any possibility of gluten it automatically high lights it.

kareng Grand Master

Do you people not have iPhones? Lol there are apps that will scan the package and break down exactly what is in each of the ingredients. It's a great thing, any questions and it will pick it right up. If there any possibility of gluten it automatically high lights it.

I don't know how this " ap" decides what is gluten-free and what is not. Apparently it is wrong if it says there is wheat in a product that doesn't list wheat in the ingredients. It may just be reporting that some companies, who do not test for gluten, will not declare something gluten-free. That does not mean a product has gluten.

The most accurate info on what is in a product is what you can see with your own eyes, the ingredient list. If this ap said something was gluten-free but when you picked it up and noticed it now had wheat as an ingredient, which are you going to believe?

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

There are plenty of things that are listed on the labels that I don't find to be clear, or perhaps clear as mud. It's only common sense that if it says wheat on the package then don't eat it, I find the app helpful. It's not for everyone, it's a personal choice, just as I'm sure there are many things listed on a label that you're willing to eat and I won't touch. Which is also the reason I try to stick to whole foods, I hate being sick, so anything that helps to keep me from being that way is awesome in my book! Ther are also apps that will take your gps coordinates and find restaurants near you with gluten-free menus! Sooo helpful!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

And ya know, it makes me rather skiddish that people have posted lately that they've called companies and the reps say not to eat due to possible gluten ingredients, yet people on here say the reps are incorrect. Is a person supposed to ignore the company reccomendation? The rep is getting their info from the company they work for, and there's no set rule that says ingredients can't change. Or is a person just supposed to take someone else's word for it? I guess I just don't really know what to think about the whole thing.

kareng Grand Master

There are plenty of things that are listed on the labels that I don't find to be clear, or perhaps clear as mud. It's only common sense that if it says wheat on the package then don't eat it, I find the app helpful. It's not for everyone, it's a personal choice, just as I'm sure there are many things listed on a label that you're willing to eat and I won't touch. Which is also the reason I try to stick to whole foods, I hate being sick, so anything that helps to keep me from being that way is awesome in my book! Ther are also apps that will take your gps coordinates and find restaurants near you with gluten-free menus! Sooo helpful!

I have tried to explain that the US has a law, that if there is wheat in a a food, it must say "wheat". Therefore, an app that says a product has wheat and it is not listed on the ingredients, is wrong. Or you are saying that the company is willfully disobeying the law? And you seem to say that if this ap says it's gluten-free but the ingredients list wheat, you would still trust that the ap knows best what is in a product? These apps can be helpful but they can't possibly have every food ever made in them. And apparently, they are not all accurate. I know the ap I tried when I first went gluten-free, would not list anything unless a company would declare the item gluten-free. Many companies will not so that as they do not test them. Some will declare gluten-free based on no gluten ingredients.

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

What I'm saying is that it's helpful to me. If there is any possibility of it making me sick, I'm not eating. The app doesn't just scan for gluten or wheat, you could set it to scan for artificial sweetner if that was your ingredient to avoid. It's just calling attention to ingredients, if I read a label and am not sure that's when I scan. If it shows some possibility, then I'm good. It's common sense, quite obviously if wheat is listed then I'm not even going to scan, instead Move on to the next grocery item lol and no it doesn't have every food item, but it does come in handy. It's not for everyone but it helps me. If I could have someone who was well versed in all the laws and translations of labels shop with me everytime I go to get groceries that would be awesome, but I don't so I work with what I've got.

RL2011 Rookie

Do you people not have iPhones? Lol there are apps that will scan the package and break down exactly what is in each of the ingredients. It's a great thing, any questions and it will pick it right up. If there any possibility of gluten it automatically high lights it.

What app for the iphone do you use that can easily show the list of ingredients when scanned? And are you scanning the bar code with this app? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

I use Shopwell, you set your acct to what you want to avoid, and then you scan the bar code of the package. It shows a picture of the package (assuming it has it listed) gives nutritional info and an ingredients list. You can also just search the name of a product and it will give you options. Like I've said before, it's not for everyone but it works well for me. Your welcome. :)

psawyer Proficient

It's in the seasonings, when scanned the product comes right up as including gluten and wheat.

Which version contains "seasoning?" I just went back to Open Original Shared Link and I don't see "seasoning" as an ingredient in any of them.

Please provide a specific, verifiable source that this product contains gluten. If you do not have one, do not continue to spread false information about it.

~**caselynn**~ Enthusiast

In fact, they all list that. I just shot the company an email asking, I'll let you know what I find out.

RL2011 Rookie

In fact, they all list that. I just shot the company an email asking, I'll let you know what I find out.

I will try out the iPhone app. The app might be incorrect as I did find the following on the company that makes the Farmers Bacon, Hormel Foods, website:

Which food allergens are recognized in Hormel Foods products?

We recognize the top eight allergens:

  • Peanuts
  • Tree Nuts
  • Milk Products
  • Eggs
  • Soy
  • Wheat
  • Crustaceans
  • Fish

These will be clearly listed on the ingredient listing.

To avoid food allergens in our products, always read the ingredient label on every package. This ingredient listing should be reviewed prior to every purchase, as ingredients and product formulations may change.

If it has wheat, then they list it. I am suspect about the app but will give it a try. Thanks.

psawyer Proficient

In fact, they all list that. I just shot the company an email asking, I'll let you know what I find out.

Okay, I just looked for a third time. The word "seasoning" does not appear in any of the six ingredient lists. No gluten source ingredient is present in any of them.

  • 3 weeks later...
nvsmom Community Regular

Schneider's (spelling?) Naturals Bacon now has "Gluten Free" on the front top corner of their product as of... Sunday, July 8; I saw it, and bought it (in Calgary), this week. I'm happy about that since I like their product and love the fact that it is nitrate free! :rolleyes:

... and no, I don't own an iphone. LOL :P

parmeisan Newbie

You didn't ask about this, but if you are in Alberta, someone ought to tell you about Kinnikinnick Foods in Edmonton. I don't think they have a physical bakery sort of presence, but orders from their online store ought to come real quick! They're very good, and everything you see on the site is gluten-free AND lists all the allergens they contain just so you can be sure.

www.kinnikinnick.com

PS. Just saw the conversation about "seasonings" and wanted to add a reminder: they recognize wheat as an allergen but of course wheat is not all gluten.

  • 2 weeks later...
123glldd Collaborator

Don't get me started when it comes to believing reps. I talked to kraft foods about cheese whiz when i was visiting home in canada and the ingredients looked ok but i decided to play it safe..the rep said no don't eat it..there's gluten. So then I had to call about something else after..different rep told me the shpiel about how they will clearly list...i brought up what the other rep told me and she didn't understand it. I called about yet something else after and a guy told me the same thing again as the first rep. Not sure if it was the same guy or not both times but it REALLY ended up confusing me.

love2travel Mentor

You didn't ask about this, but if you are in Alberta, someone ought to tell you about Kinnikinnick Foods in Edmonton. I don't think they have a physical bakery sort of presence, but orders from their online store ought to come real quick! They're very good, and everything you see on the site is gluten-free AND lists all the allergens they contain just so you can be sure.

www.kinnikinnick.com

PS. Just saw the conversation about "seasonings" and wanted to add a reminder: they recognize wheat as an allergen but of course wheat is not all gluten.

I regularly go to Kinnikinnick in Edmonton to pick up their new soft bread. It is my new favourite bread, even better than Undi's and Glutino Genius in my opinion (and I am very, very particular about bread). Their baguettes are also pretty good - not as good as mine but still! ;) They do have a small bakery area in the front where they sell cupcakes, bars, tarts...but you must go early in the day before they run out. I feel very safe purchasing their products. They are extremely knowledgable. We are going again in two weeks' time. I rarely purchase processed food (I am a scratch cook and baker) but as I mentioned, their bread and baguettes are good. Many like their doughnuts.

Back to the bacon subject - I once saw bacon that included gluten in their ingredient list but it was a specialty seasoned bacon that is very uncommon. Aside from that I have never seen gluten in bacon. You must carefully scrutinize labels of things like chorizo, prosciutto and pancetta. Of course I scrutinize every single label of everything I buy but you know what I mean. :)

nvsmom Community Regular

Back to the bacon subject - I once saw bacon that included gluten in their ingredient list but it was a specialty seasoned bacon that is very uncommon. Aside from that I have never seen gluten in bacon. You must carefully scrutinize labels of things like chorizo, prosciutto and pancetta. Of course I scrutinize every single label of everything I buy but you know what I mean. :)

I worry about smoke flavour. If it says smoke, we're good to go but smoke flavour... I skip it... partially because I'm too lazy to call and ask. I just buy another brand. LOL

  • 4 months later...
ajnemajrje Newbie

I have had one brand of bacon - not sure of the brand anymore but I recognise the packaging and avoid it like the plague. It was smoked but instead of actually smoking their baco they added smoked seasoning to it and every time I ate that brand I got the worst stomach aches. Just read the lables on any smoked bacon to make sure it is actually smoked and you should be fine.

  • 1 year later...
french gluten free gourmet Newbie

Thanks for the reply. I have a million questions. Can you please tell me if you have to be careful with plain rice? Is it often contaminated with gluten? Also for my little guy are there any fries that are safe. We tried the Ian's but he didn't like them. I called Mccain today and they have some that don't contain gluten but are cooked in the same areas where they process fries with gluten.....so if anyone can tell me any other types of fries that are safe would be much appreciated. Thank-you, Mya

Hi Mya,

My way to avoid gluten in fries is to cook them by myself, actually I bought a special machine which is cooking your fries with less fat...they are delicious and very healthy...my daughters love them...and me too. check the link  for this machine:

 Open Original Shared Link

you can cook them in a deep fryer...my french tip is to cook it in 2 steps. First you dip them in the medium hot oil for 3 minutes. Than you put your thermostat on high temperature, wait untill the oil is warm again, and you cook it for the second time until it is getting a nice goldish color. Bon appetit!!!

GottaSki Mentor

Hi Mya,

My way to avoid gluten in fries is to cook them by myself, actually I bought a special machine which is cooking your fries with less fat...they are delicious and very healthy...my daughters love them...and me too. check the link  for this machine:

 Open Original Shared Link

you can cook them in a deep fryer...my french tip is to cook it in 2 steps. First you dip them in the medium hot oil for 3 minutes. Than you put your thermostat on high temperature, wait untill the oil is warm again, and you cook it for the second time until it is getting a nice goldish color. Bon appetit!!!

 

Welcome!

 

Just wanted to let you know....this member has not been active here since March 2010.

  • 5 months later...
Celiac-Amber Newbie

Hi there can anyone tell me if bacon has gluten and if so what brands do not. Thanks

Hey! I know that this is an old post but beware of bacon! It is coated in flour as a thickener. I even get sick when someone is cooking it, it gives me the worst migrane! They do have gluten free bacon just make sure it is labeled, don't assume. Best of luck!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,820
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Chadrick Hinson
    Newest Member
    Chadrick Hinson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • ARSTONE
      The issue is I'm not actually celiac but gluten intolerant. So do t know why I am so sick from this. It's been two days. 
    • Scott Adams
      The product is Certified Gluten-Free, but that does not mean they would be immune to any possible manufacturing issues: https://feel-good-foods.com/product/chicken-soup-dumplings/ As @trents mentioned, some people have issues with xanthan gum, even though it is gluten-free:  
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @ARSTONE! The ingredients are listed as follows: Chicken, Water, Rice Flour, Tapioca Starch, Tamari Soy Sauce (Water, Soybeans, Salt, Sugar, Corn Starch), Contains 2% or less of: Canola and/or Sunflower Oil, Ginger, Scallions, Brown Sugar, Potato Starch, Rice Wine (Rice, Water, Salt), Chicken Soup Base (Chicken Meat with Natural Juices, Salt, Sugar, Yeast Extract, Chicken Fat, Onion, Potato Flour, Turmeric, Spice Extractives), Konjac Flour, Xanthan Gum, Chicken Powder, Salt, Black Pepper, Sesame Oil, Gelatin I have underlined the ingredients which could contain hidden sources of gluten. Xanthan Gum wouldn't contain gluten but it is a polysaccharide that is a common ingredient in prepackaged gluten free foods and poses digestive difficulties for many people. The same might be said for Konjac flour.  It is also possible that the product exceeds the specs for the FDA criteria of "gluten free" whose upper limit is 20 ppm of gluten. We are seeing this more often lately and many are calling for stricter sampling standards in the gluten free food industry such that testing is done more often.
    • Soleihey
    • ARSTONE
      I recently ate a package of feel good brand gluten-free chicken soup dumplings. Immediately after eating them, my stomach became extremely extremely bloated and gassy and it's two days later now and I'm still extremely uncomfortable. They say there's gluten-free and there doesn't appear to be anything in the ingredients that I think would be the problem. Has anyone else eaten these and had this experience?
×
×
  • Create New...