Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

On The Border Changed Gluten Free Menu


pugluver31902

Recommended Posts

pugluver31902 Explorer

On the border has revised their gluten free menu, and the con queso appetizer is not on there anymore! So bummed. I used to just bring my own chips and eat it. Bummed bummed bummed. I emailed them. Wonder what they will say.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



pugluver31902 Explorer

On the border has revised their gluten free menu, and the con queso appetizer is not on there anymore! So bummed. I used to just bring my own chips and eat it. Bummed bummed bummed. I emailed them. Wonder what they will say.

Not sure if anyone is reading this thread or not, but I did hear back from on the border. It was rather a nasty email. Well not nasty, but had sort of a rude undertone. The woman said "Well the queso contains modified food starch which is why it has NEVER been on our gluten free menu"

Um, I have a printed copy of the menu not only from the website, but from the corporate office listing the queso as gluten free! Now its not on there and she is telling me it never was. Hum....

kareng Grand Master

We have had bad experiences with regular OTB food (not gluten-free.) The one near us is poorly managed & the staff is not at all "with it." We have had receipts with cuss word "jokes" directed at the other staff member, silly childish behavior & completely wrong orders. I certainly would never trust them with special food needs if they can't handle the regular menu.

Heidi S. Rookie

On the border has revised their gluten free menu, and the con queso appetizer is not on there anymore! So bummed. I used to just bring my own chips and eat it. Bummed bummed bummed. I emailed them. Wonder what they will say.

I agree! I had my Triumph Dining Restaurant guide with me and a printed out copy of last month and I ALWAYS ate the con queso. It was listed as gluten free on both. I always asked for corn tortillas steamed and dipped them. Just this week my husband and I went there and I randomly asked them to bring me their updated list just to check and noticed the con queso was taken off! I was totally bummed, I am glad someone feels my pain. I figured they had changed suppliers... Thank you for emailing them and I am sorry their response was negative. I will think twice about going especially with out the con queso.

  • 1 year later...
ashleyt Newbie

Are their chips still gluten free?

ashleyt Newbie

Sorry, I meant are the On the Border chips sold in stores still gluten free?

kareng Grand Master

Sorry, I meant are the On the Border chips sold in stores still gluten free?

Read the ingredients. It's not like in the resturaunt when they would be fried in the same oil as flour tortillas or kids chicken nuggets.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 4 months later...
Bobbie Jo Rookie

I wondered why my 9 year old daughter kept getting sick after eating at On the Border. Thanks!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AthinaGR
    Newest Member
    AthinaGR
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...