Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Baltimore Bars/pubs


Stine88

Recommended Posts

Stine88 Newbie

I'm new here, sorry if there's a similar topic, i can't seem to use the search on here well yet.

My boyfriend was diagnosed about a month ago and we live in the baltimore area. we like to out for happy hour and such. He's been sticking to rum& coke and other mixed drinks but i wanted to know if anything knows any places either in baltimore city, or in the towson/timonium area that serve hardcore ciders or even gluten free beer. he loves the hardcore ciders, and it's a nice sub for beer when we're cooking out at the house, i wanted to know which places serve it. so far i know 'The Charred Rib' in lutherville/timonium and i believe The Stil. Anyone know any others?

Thanks :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



killernj13 Enthusiast

Go to Redbridgebeer.com and put in the zip code. There appears to be a lot of places that have Red Bridge in the area around the Ballpark.

  • 2 months later...
CaramelSmoothie Newbie

I'm not sure about a bonafide gluten-free restaurant in the Baltimore area, however, I've eaten at Bahama Breeze restaurant in Towson, MD where they have great "naked" buffalo wings marinated in a gluten-free jerk sauce.

I've also eaten delicious gluten-free grilled pork chops with homemade mashed potatoes at a bar in Woodlawn called, The Windsor Inn.

Lastly, Sweet Sin Bakery and Cafe' is the daggone truth! It's an all-natural and gluten-free bakery that has breads, cakes, tarts, cupcakes, mini-desserts, cookies and brownies. They have about 15 different types of cupcakes! and they are so good. I didn't think it was possible to eat sweets again until I visited Sweet Sin. In addition, they make gluten-free soups and pasta dishes (the noodles aren't mushy). Sweet Sin is located in Baltimore City.

Skylark Collaborator

English and Irish pubs are your best bet for cider on tap. Back when I lived in Baltimore, the Cat's Eye pub and John Steven in Fell's Point always had cider on tap. Looks like the Cat's Eye has Woodpecker. Open Original Shared Link John Steven isn't listing any ciders on the website now, but you could call. Their seafood was always good too though I have no idea about gluten-free. Open Original Shared Link

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...