Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tocopheryl Acetate


GFLindsey

Recommended Posts

GFLindsey Explorer

I just realized that I start nearly every meal with hand sanitizer that has tocopheryl acetate in the ingredients list. I didn't know that this ingredient could be derived from wheat. After lots of online research, I am still finding conflicting information, so if someone can clear the air for me it would be much appreciated!

Basically I have found sites that say tocopheryl acetate is derived from soy. Others say it is unsafe for celiacs because it can be made from wheat. Still another said that it was processed to the point where it is probably safe. Then to top it all off, I found several gluten free products available with tocopheryl acetate in the ingredients.

Someone help!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Heidi S. Rookie

From what I understand, Vitamin E or Tocopheryl can be derived from wheat, soy, or corn. If it is derived from wheat is it not safe for Celiacs. It can be safe if derived from corn or soy (I am assuming that is why it can be found on gluten free products). It is commonly found in lotion and make-up for the skin. I avoid Tocopheryl (Vitamin E) when possible, unless I email the company or it is label gluten free. For hand sanitizer I use burts bees or purell, they are gluten free. I believe on this forum is a school products list with gluten free wipes and hand sanitizer like Equate, Pampers, etc, you should check it out! gluten-free school supply list Scroll down to the updated 2009 list!

Hope it helps!

jerseyangel Proficient

Whenever I see tocopheryl or vitamin E on an ingredients list, I call the company to inquire about the source. Most times, they have to check and get back to me since the reps don't always have that information in front of them.

Lycopene Rookie

Germ-x hand sanitizer is gluten free too, and it smells FANTASTIC.

buffettbride Enthusiast

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

GFLindsey Explorer

Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

jerseyangel Proficient

Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

The only Cetaphil product that is gluten-free is the Gentle Skin Cleanser. I've been using it for a while now with no issues, and I'm very sensitive. When I inquired about their moisturizer, they told me that all of their other products can not be considered gluten-free. Here is the email from them--

The Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser does not contain ingredients that may be derived from grains and therefore does not contain gluten.

The other Cetaphil products contain ingredients that may be derived from grains and therefore possibly contains gluten.

A cleansing validation of the production lines is performed between runs of different products. However, we cannot claim with 100% certainty that cross contamination has not occurred.

Best regards,

Special Services Specialist

Galderma Laboratories, L.P.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



buffettbride Enthusiast

Is it sad that this information makes me happy?! I have been gluten-free for 3 months since my diagnosis and still dont feel 100%. I definitely use a lot of products with tocopheryl acetate -- specifically ALL of my hand sanitizers that I use before each meal! This new info will def. help clear out old lingering CC issues.

Of course, thank you for your responses and helpful information about safe products. Also, I have used Cetaphil several times because its hypoallergenic. DUH. Can get rid of that one!

We tend to use Eucerine or Aquaphor as a moisturizer. Good for sensitve skin and free of the bad stuff.

  • 4 weeks later...
melblondin Apprentice

My eye shadow (Revlon Cream to Powder Eye Shadow) makes my eyelids red and burn every time I've used it. I've just been looking to see if it contains wheat and tocopheryl acetate is the best that I can come up with. Has anyone already contacted Revlon to know if their use of T.A is derived from wheat? If not, I guess I'll be contacting them. I can't use it either way because I'm reacting to it, but I'm curious to know if it's because of wheat/gluten.

  • 1 year later...
amieb Newbie

I use a facial cleansing product I buy at Walgreens called Cerave. I can't use Cetaphil - I break out in a rash. Hope this helps.

Coleslawcat Contributor

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

Please don't tell me this about cetaphil. It's the only cleanser that doesn't cause my skin to break out.

Takala Enthusiast

The beginning of this thread is a year old.

However....

Was listening to the television news this morning and they had a story about how if you used hand sanitizers at the rate that doctors and nurses are supposed to use them in a clinical setting, i.e., like over 4 times an hour, after several hours of this there's enough alcohol absorbed thru the skin that you could set off a breathalizer test.

Happy next thing to worry about !

Chiana Apprentice

Tocopherol acetate is a pain in the butt. I have to call about that ingredient more than any other. I know that it is in Cetaphil lotion and it is NOT safe. I've also found it in make-up, called the company, and many times it IS safe. It's a booger, that's for sure.

Cetaphil? Damn it. >_<

cap6 Enthusiast

Tocopherol acetate ~ Well, this does not make me smile. I didn't know about this one! Also I use hand wipes on the tables at restaurants all the time. Guess I need to rethink those as well. grrrrrr :(

sherrylynn Contributor

Well heck, I am a nurse, I only work the weekends but I use a LOT of alcohol sanitizer. Now I am going to have to look at the ingredients. I didn't even think that it could contain wheat. I can't win for losin. :(

  • 4 years later...
Coltsneck24 Rookie

ops - see below

Coltsneck24 Rookie

Hi, 

I was just reading the label on a bottle of Kirkland Signature Vitamin E, 400 I.U. that contains dl-Alpha Tocopherol Acetate.  I've read that this chemical contains gluten; however, on the table it states "No starch, yeast or gluten."  Should I assume that it means it's a gluten free product (stating the obvious) or should I be concerned because there is no gluten-free stamp on the bottle.

Gemini Experienced

Open Original Shared Link

Here is an article that will explain why tocopherols are safe for Celiac's to consume.  There does not have to be a gluten free stamp on the bottle for it to safe.  The company stated there was no gluten and tocopherols are not unsafe for consumption.  I have used countless vitamins and supplements that contain this ingredient and have never once gotten sick and I am very sensitive.

 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,645
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    MinionMe
    Newest Member
    MinionMe
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @JenFur, if this is microwave popcorn you are using, check for added ingredients that could be causing a reaction such as flavorings which might be hidden sources of gluten.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @JenFur! You must be relatively new to the celiac journey. I wish it were as simple as just having to cut out gluten and all our gut issues magically disappear. It is very common for those with celiac disease to develop intolerance/sensitivity to other foods. Often it is because the protein structure of some other foods resembles that of gluten. Sometimes it is because damage the damage done to the gut lining by celiac disease wipes out cells that produce enzymes needed to break down those foods. Sometimes it is because the "leaky gut syndrome" associated with celiac disease causes the immune system to incorrectly identify other food proteins as threats or invaders. The two most common non-gluten foods that cause trouble for a lot of celiacs are dairy and oats. But soy, eggs and corn are also on that list. Sometimes these non-gluten food intolerances disappear with time and the healing of the villous lining of the small bowel.
    • JenFur
      I love popcorn but it doesn't love me.  Right now my gut hurts and I am bloated and passing gas.  Am I just super sensitive. I thought popcorn was gluten free 🤔 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @marinke! "Type 1a diabetes (DM1) is associated with an increased risk of celiac disease (celiac disease) (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/35/10/2083/38503/IgA-Anti-transglutaminase-Autoantibodies-at-Type-1 "The prevalence of celiac disease (celiac disease) in children with type 1 diabetes (T1D) is 5.1%, and it is often asymptomatic (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/48/2/e13/157637/Diagnostic-Outcomes-of-Elevated-Transglutaminase So, this is 5x the rate found in the general population.
    • Mari
      Hi James47, You are less than 2 years into your recovery from Celiacs.  Tell us more about the problems you are having. Do you just want to get rid of belly fat or are you still having symptoms like gas and bloating.    For symptoms you may need to change your diet and take various supplements that you cannot adsorb from the foods you eat because of the damage caused by the autoimmune reaction in your small intestine. 
×
×
  • Create New...