Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Glutened By Blue Diamond?


pues

Recommended Posts

pues Rookie

have any of you been glutened by blue diamond products. i know i am sensitive enough to react to amy's gluten free and i am wondering if blue diamond is a shared facility or a cross contamination issue.

if not then i probally have some other intolerances i need to figure out.

thanks,

pues


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



LDJofDenver Apprentice

have any of you been glutened by blue diamond products. i know i am sensitive enough to react to amy's gluten free and i am wondering if blue diamond is a shared facility or a cross contamination issue.

if not then i probally have some other intolerances i need to figure out.

thanks,

pues

I've had quite a few experiences that left me a little wary of blue diamond nuts (almonds, in particular - regular, oven roasted, etc. -- I don't ever buy the seasoned ones). Even though they are supposedly gluten free I swear, every time I would eat them I would end up with an unhappy gut.

I don't know if it's a contamination issue or if I just have a had time digesting nuts at this phase of my recovery (I can eat peanut butter with no problems), so I just quit eating them. I found raw shelled almonds in the produce section of my grocery store (a Kroger) packaged by a company that says processed in a gluten free facility. I seem to be able to eat those with no problems.

ciavyn Contributor

I have this all the time without issue. I daresay it might be the nuts. How often have you noticed a reaction?

missy'smom Collaborator

At first I thought it was the carageean in the almond milk, other things with carageean seemed.... Then I thought it was an egg intolerance when I baked with almond flour and a larger proportion of eggs than usual-even when I was using an almond flour processed in a dedicated gluten-free facility, I still thought it was the eggs. I've had a strong aversion to eggs. Never imagined that it could be the almonds until I was allergy tested and guess what-I reacted to almonds! Eliminated almonds and other things and happy gut! Carageean and eggs are still not proven innocent yet.

Skylark Collaborator

Blue Diamond is pretty good about stating CC risks. Nut allergies and reactions are very common. You can sort out an almond sensitivity with allergy testing, or by challenging with almonds in the shell that have no CC risk.

dilettantesteph Collaborator

I only eat nuts that I shell myself. I have had problems with other nuts. I make my own nut milks too.

farmwife67 Explorer

I've had quite a few experiences that left me a little wary of blue diamond nuts (almonds, in particular - regular, oven roasted, etc. -- I don't ever buy the seasoned ones). Even though they are supposedly gluten free I swear, every time I would eat them I would end up with an unhappy gut.

I don't know if it's a contamination issue or if I just have a had time digesting nuts at this phase of my recovery (I can eat peanut butter with no problems), so I just quit eating them. I found raw shelled almonds in the produce section of my grocery store (a Kroger) packaged by a company that says processed in a gluten free facility. I seem to be able to eat those with no problems.

Remember peanut butter would be totally different because peanuts are not nuts, they are legumes.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...