Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Labeled gluten-free But Had Caramel Coloring


ewp11100

Recommended Posts

ewp11100 Newbie

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

I bought rice cakes at the store which had a gluten-free label. When I can home I notice they have Caramel coloring. Should I trust that what ever the caramel coloring is derived from is not wheat?

TIA I'm a newbie!

Erin

Caramel color is not a concern for people with Celiac. If an ingredient was derived from wheat, it must be listed on the lable.

Kim27 Contributor

Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?

psawyer Proficient

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.

Kim27 Contributor

good to know, thanks for the info!

Lisa Mentor

Lisa,

Does this include drinks as well? For example, teas?

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

my.oh.my Newbie

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



my.oh.my Newbie

Yes, it does Kim :)

For those learning the twists and turns of the diet, I would recommend www.CeceliasMarketplace.com, a Gluten Free Grocery Guide that is published annually.

After that first year, you will learn to read labels, which is the best way to purchase food and eat safely.

Wow Lisa! thanks for the website... Very inforamtive and helpful!

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/forbidden-gluten-food-list-unsafe-ingredients-r182/

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

Lisa Mentor

I avoid it unless I call and find out what it is made from. From the Unsafe list on this website:

https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/forbidden-gluten-food-list-unsafe-ingredients-r182/

The problem with caramel color is it may or may not contain gluten depending on how it is manufactured. In the USA caramel color must conform with the FDA standard of identity from 21CFR CH.1. This statute says: the color additive caramel is the dark-brown liquid or solid material resulting from the carefully controlled heat treatment of the following food-grade carbohydrates: Dextrose (corn sugar), invert sugar, lactose (milk sugar), malt syrup (usually from barley malt), molasses (from cane), starch hydrolysates and fractions thereof (can include wheat), sucrose (cane or beet). Also, acids, alkalis and salts are listed as additives which may be employed to assist the caramelization process.

Open Original Shared Link

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

Open Original Shared Link

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Open Original Shared Link

Caramel color

Corn is used to make caramel color in the U.S. The FDA does permit use of barley malt but all major caramel color producers say corn makes a better product.

Open Original Shared Link

BUT registered dietitian Shelley Case, who is on the medical advisory board of the Celiac Disease Foundation, the Gluten Intolerance Group, and the Canadian Celiac Association, told me that gluten-containing ingredients are no longer used to make caramel coloring in North America, and from my own correspondence with major manufacturers of caramel color that indeed seems to be the case. While gluten-containing ingredients can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies are now using glucose from corn, or sometimes sucrose (table sugar). In Europe, Shelley says, companies use glucose syrup that's derived from wheat starch, but the caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

Scott got his info straight from the FDA website (I just checked to be sure). At no place in the FDA website does it say that corn is the most common source but it of course could be.

Lisa Mentor

In addition, as mentioned in the above quote, caramel color is so highly processed, any gluten, regardless of the source, is removed during that process.

Caramel color should be safe the the general Celiac community to consume.

StephanieGF Rookie

Caramel Coloring in FOOD must be labeled if it was derived from wheat. In other products, I call just to be on the safe side. But, if it is a food item, labeled gluten free (with caramel coloring) but no mention of wheat, I would not worry. :)

psawyer Proficient

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]
soulcurrent Explorer

Caramel color is safe for celiacs. Period.

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

Pac Apprentice

I disagree, at least as far as my own system is concerned. I've had several reactions that were tied back to caramel coloring.

Same for me. I avoid all sugars/starches and all their derivates unless their origin is clearly stated on the label. "Better safe than sorry" is my motto when it comes to eating processed food. For the same reasons I avoid vinegars - I don't believe white vinegar is any safer than grain vodka or whisky (both make me sick).

But as for the original question, I wouldn't worry about caramel colour if it's labelled gluten-free.

  • 6 years later...
sherrycalif Newbie

I have terrible pain in the middle of the night if I consume anything with caramel color, labelled gluten-free.

 

psawyer Proficient

This is an old discussion, but nothing has changed. I'm sorry you had a bad reaction to something containing caramel color, but is gluten-free. Perhaps you reacted to phosphoric acid, which is frequently found in products that also contain caramel color. It is a stomach irritant under some conditions.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,671
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Felecia
    Newest Member
    Felecia
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Welcome to the forum @cameo674! First, let me correct a misconception you have about celiac disease and intestinal anatomy. Celiac disease does not affect the colon. It damages the lining of the small bowel which is on the other end of the intestinal track from the colon. The small bowel, the duodenum, is the part of the intestines right below the stomach. So, your colonoscopy would not have been examining that area. The scope just won't go up that far. Examination of the small bowel is done with an endoscopy, not a colonoscopy. The go in through the mouth, the stomach and into the upper part of the intestines.  People with celiac disease experience an autoimmune response when gluten is consumed that generates inflammation in the lining of the small bowel which, over times, wears down the millions of tiny finger-like projections that constitute this lining. We call those finger-like projections "villi" and the lining is termed the "villous lining" of the small bowel. The inflammatory response by the immune system perceiving gluten to be an invader threat produces antibodies that can be measured in the blood. This is what was what those tests were done for that you posted in your opening narrative. The villous lining of the small bowel is where all of the nutrition is absorbed from the food we eat. The constant inflammation of celiac disease over time wears down these millions and millions of tiny finger-like projections and greatly reduces the efficiency of nutrient absorption. Hence, it is common for those whose celiac disease has been undiagnosed for a long time and who continue to consume gluten develop health problems that are related to nutritional deficiencies, even though they may be eating well. Your test results do indicate you have celiac disease. The most important of those tests you listed is the Tissue Transglutaminase (IgA) - 44.0 U/mL and it was "out of range". We abbreviate this as tTG-IGA. I take "out of range" to mean it was elevated. You did not include the reference ranges used by the lab for the tests so I am assuming "out of range" means positive or high. There are no industry standards for reference ranges for these tests. Each lab uses their own because they each build the tests a little differently or may use different units to express the results. Normally, if any of the celiac blood antibody tests are positive, a GI doc will want to perform an endoscopy with biopsy of the small bowel lining to microscopically check for damage to the villous lining. This is confirmation of the blood antibody testing. Sometimes they will forego the endoscopy/biopsy if the tTG-IGA score is very high. But it is very important that you not begin to cut back on gluten until all testing is complete. Doing so will allow healing of the small bowel lining to begin and will likely invalidate the testing. It is recommended that people consume at least 10g of gluten daily (about the amount in 4-6 slices of wheat bread) in the weeks leading up to the endoscopy/biopsy.  Finally, it sounds like your middle child also needs to be tested for celiac disease. A couple of studies done with rather large sample sizes in the last couple of years showed that almost 50% of first degree relatives of those with celiac disease, when tested, also had celiac disease. Many of them were "silent". That is, they were largely asymptomatic.
    • cameo674
      Still waiting to get into the doctor to discuss my test results and see if further testing like a biopsy is necessary. My appointment is in June 2025.  Yep it takes that long to get in to see the doc.     Anyway, I paid to have some functional health bloodwork done in December 2024.  I got the results just after Christmas. Because my middle child suffers from bloating and she asked if I ever considered that I might be gluten intolerant or have celiac disease, I added the celiac blood tests to the testing that I was having completed.  That child has panic attacks when a needle goes near her; so, I decided to do the testing to see if she needed to move forward with testing for herself.   My test results were: Deamidated Gliadin (IgA) - 53.8 U/mL; Deamidated Gliadin (IgG) - 250.0 U/mL; Tissue Transglutaminase (IgA) - 44.0 U/mL; Tissue Transglutaminase (IgG) - < 1.0; and Immunoglobulin A (IgA) - 274.0 U/dL. The first 3 are out of range and the 2nd two are in range.  That company does not offer the Cyrex array 3 & 4 so I could go in armed to my appointment with further information.  I have read the article that seems to be posted as a reply for most of the posts in this forum.   First of all, I never thought I had an issue with gluten, because I never associated flatulence or constipation with gluten. I know I am lactose intolerant.  As I have gotten older, I’m in my late 50’s, I have decreased my bread/pasta intake 4 or 5 years ago, because I have been trying to increase my protein intake which is hard for me to do since I don’t really like protein most the time.  My friend who is a nurse said that I should not go on a gluten free diet until a doctor decides whether or not I need a biopsy which may take a few months to get on a doctor’s schedule based on how long it will be just for my initial visit. So my question is this, wouldn’t the gastro doc, who did my colonoscopy when I turned 50 when I did not have a restricted gluten diet, have noticed that I had celiac if I had it? Or are there zero visible changes to the colon it’s self?   I did not have any polyps so no biopsies were preformed as a result of that preventative colonoscopy.            
    • Rebeccaj
      glutened peoples experience ?via flour airbourne.
    • eKatherine
      Keep in mind that you might also have a dietary sensitivity to something else. Get into the habit of reading ingredients lists.
    • BoiseNic
      I would avoid gluten at all cost. Sometimes there will be no noticeable damage, but it is still causing an autoimmune response that will manifest in some way or another eventually. Throwing up from a macaroon sounds like something other than celiac disease also.
×
×
  • Create New...