Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten In Food For Life Sprouted Corn Tortillas?


nascarrunner71

Recommended Posts

nascarrunner71 Newbie

Forgive me if this has been covered here, but my sister (celiac) just had this problem. I encouraged her to try corn tortillas. She purchased Food for Life sprouted corn tortillas at Whole Foods after reading the ingredients (Organic Sprouted Whole Kernel Corn, Filtered Water, Sea salt, Lime) and discussing it with a Whole Foods employee (they used to be stored next to the other gluten-free tortillas). She had a terrible reaction after having the tortillas, so I encouraged her to contact Food for Life. When she went to their website, she found the tortillas under the "Gluten Free/Wheat Free" section. The package doesn't say gluten-free, but it says "gluten free, flourless" on the website. However, while browsing the rest of the website, she found this comment relating to the non-gluten breads:

"sprouted in filtered water with a touch of organic malted barley and sea salt'

When she contacted Food for Life, she received the following response:

Thank you for your email. I am sorry that you obtain a stomach ache from the Organic Sprouted Corn Tortillas. That product does contain gluten. We offer a Wheat Free/Gluten Free Whole Grain Brown Rice Tortilla that


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

I just looked at the web site and they do list them as gluten-free. On another part that explains sprouted grains, they mention the barley in the water. I sent them a comment that I thought that was missleading. Maybe if a few others would send notes, too, they will look into it.

Skylark Collaborator

I do not buy Food For Life products because their labeling is confusing and has been deliberately misleading in the past. They were calling their spelt breads "wheat free" until an FDA crackdown forced them to recall the breads and relabel. As you found in your "stomach ache" email, the company does not seem to care much about consumer health issues.

Open Original Shared Link

The "contains wheat ingredients" does not apply to malted barley, and there are no celiac labeling rules in effect yet. The barley is probably below the % threshold where it has to be declared, although a more scrupulous company would declare it anyway. I'd report them to the FDA, since the product made your sister sick from an undisclosed ingredient.

conniebky Collaborator

When I was reading your post, I, too, was offended about the "sorry 'bout your stomach ache."

Stomach ache?? My Aunt Fanny it's just a stomach ache! I never heard of Food for Life, but that's reason enough for me not to want to know anything further.

skigirlchar Newbie

how offensive - i'll make sure to never purchase their foods & i am sending this to all my friends who are amazing in their accommodations for me when i visit to make sure this is on the "do not buy" list.

i'd love for them to experience one of our "stomach aches" and then re-send that w/ a straight face.

nascarrunner71 Newbie

Thank you for the support everyone. We just don't want anyone else to have the same problem. If we can make enough waves to fix the ingredient list--even better.

StephanieGF Rookie

Why do companies do this, I mean really, can even a gluten eater taste that bit of barely in the water. :rolleyes: Yet it is a major problem for a growing part of the population. Especially when you market your product to health food stores like whole foods where people on gluten-free diets tend to shop. I wish WFs would stop carrying that product, I know at my whole foods it is right next to many other gluten-free products.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Scott Adams Grand Master

FYI: The Gluten-Free Mall is in the process of finding out more information about this product, and will drop it instantly if we find out that there is any gluten in this product. I'll let you know what we find out. Also, the customer service letter you posted was a typical "off the cuff" response that I would not put too much stock into. We did speak to someone at the company today named "Griffin" who already disagreed with what that letter said. He is going to get back to me with more details in the next few days.

Take care,

Scott

nascarrunner71 Newbie

Scott,

Thank you for posting an update. I've also received an email from celiac.com stating they are working on this issue. I appreciate everyone's attention.

I suspected the email was a "blow-off" and that I why I have been attempting to gather info from other sources.

nascarrunner71 Newbie

Why do companies do this, I mean really, can even a gluten eater taste that bit of barely in the water. :rolleyes: Yet it is a major problem for a growing part of the population. Especially when you market your product to health food stores like whole foods where people on gluten-free diets tend to shop. I wish WFs would stop carrying that product, I know at my whole foods it is right next to many other gluten-free products.

Our local whole foods where the tortillas were purchased has pulled the product off the shelves for now (after she supplied the company email). Previously, they had been displayed by the gluten-free products, but had been moved to a different area of the freezer. The manager was very concerned and was already walking toward the freezer before my sister requested they be pulled. I'd be curious if this spreads to their other branches. You might consider speaking to your local manager.

Scott Adams Grand Master

FYI: I discontinued selling this product today on The Gluten-Free Mall in response to a phone conversation today with Griffin. His explanation about this product's gluten-free status was vague and confusing, even though they did and do still claim that the product is gluten-free on their own web site (which seemed to surprise him):

Open Original Shared Link

I'd rather play it safe and stop selling it than take a chance.

He did assure me that their Food For Life Whole Grain Brown Rice Gluten-Free Tortillas are 100% gluten-free, and we will keep selling them.

Thanks for bringing this topic to my attention!

Take care,

Scott

GFinDC Veteran

The sprouted corn tortillas are listed as gluten free on this page of their site. Last paragraph on the page.

Open Original Shared Link

Food For Life offers a wide variety of delicious gluten free products, including our new Sprouted Organic Corn Tortillas, Brown Rice Tortillas and two new Yeast Free Gluten Free Breads. All of our Gluten Free products are made with natural and carefully inspected ingredients.

I haven't seen on the Food for Life site where it says they use barley water in the sprouting process yet. Does anyone have a link to that?

Update

Ok, I did find a reference to barley water on the FAQs page. But it is talking about Ezekiel 4:9 bread. Not sure if there are other refs to the barley water sprouting process or not. It does seem like the sprouting process should be explained for the sprouted organic corn tortillas. They would have to use a different container for the sprouting and not use the barley to avoid CC.

Open Original Shared Link

Food For Life Ezekiel 4:9® Sprouted Grain Bread is inspired by the Holy Scripture verse Ezekiel 4:9. Our 2,500 year old prodigy is made from six certified organic grains and legumes, sprouted in filtered water with a touch of organic malted barley and sea salt. This bread is truly the staff of life.

nascarrunner71 Newbie

FYI: I discontinued selling this product today on The Gluten-Free Mall in response to a phone conversation today with Griffin. His explanation about this product's gluten-free status was vague and confusing, even though they did and do still claim that the product is gluten-free on their own web site (which seemed to surprise him):

Open Original Shared Link

I'd rather play it safe and stop selling it than take a chance.

He did assure me that their Food For Life Whole Grain Brown Rice Gluten-Free Tortillas are 100% gluten-free, and we will keep selling them.

Thanks for bringing this topic to my attention!

Take care,

Scott

Scott,

Thank you for taking action on this problem. You were a great help.

kareng Grand Master

I wrote them to ask about this the same day that this came up. This is the reply I recieved today:

Dear Karen, thank you for your interest in our products.

We do not advertise our Sprouted Corn Tortillas as gluten free. In house, we do take precautions against cross-contamination and we do not use any gluten ingredients in our Sprouted Corn Tortillas, but because we cannot be guaranteed by our supplier with gluten free corn, we cannot responsibly make a gluten free claim. This is simply an issue with the nature of the organic corn market at this time and there just isnt a supplier out there who can guarantee this standard.

As for our filtered water, we have our own in-house reverse osmosis water filtration system and we do not reuse water in any of our products. Furthermore, we do not add barley or barley malt to our filtered water or our Sprouted Corn Tortillas.

I hope this information is helpful, please let me know if you have any further questions,

G. Griffin Boostrom

Customer Relations

This is what it still says on the website:

Food For Life offers a wide variety of delicious gluten free products, including our new Sprouted Organic Corn Tortillas, Brown Rice Tortillas and two new Yeast Free Gluten Free Breads. All of our Gluten Free products are made with natural and carefully inspected ingredients.

Also, when you click on gluten-free stuff it shows the sprouted corn but they have taken it off the actual list. I sent him back a note with the above & said that they might want to check the website.

This is too bad since I really liked the rice tortillas but feel that something is going on with this company (or maybe not enough is going on).

CaraLouise Explorer

I had them several years ago and I never felt quite right after eating them. Now I know why! Thanks so much for the research!

Skylark Collaborator

Interesting that they don't feel like they can provide gluten-free organic corn at all. I knew there was CC in the grain industry but I didn't know it was that bad.

nascarrunner71 Newbie

I got the same follow-up email about corn contamination. Apparently, this is their new form letter. I can't decide if this is crap or we really should be worried about corn contamination. Oh, and they blame their web designer! Here it is:

thank you for your interest in our products. Let me start by thanking you for letting us know about this issue with our website; we have a number of issues with our current site and are presently working with a new web developer to address these issues.

That being said, we do not advertise our Sprouted Corn Tortillas as

kareng Grand Master

I wrote them to ask about this the same day that this came up. This is the reply I recieved today:

Dear Karen, thank you for your interest in our products.

We do not advertise our Sprouted Corn Tortillas as

  • 3 months later...
quincy Contributor

Forgive me if this has been covered here, but my sister (celiac) just had this problem. I encouraged her to try corn tortillas. She purchased Food for Life sprouted corn tortillas at Whole Foods after reading the ingredients (Organic Sprouted Whole Kernel Corn, Filtered Water, Sea salt, Lime) and discussing it with a Whole Foods employee (they used to be stored next to the other gluten-free tortillas). She had a terrible reaction after having the tortillas, so I encouraged her to contact Food for Life. When she went to their website, she found the tortillas under the "Gluten Free/Wheat Free" section. The package doesn't say gluten-free, but it says "gluten free, flourless" on the website. However, while browsing the rest of the website, she found this comment relating to the non-gluten breads:

"sprouted in filtered water with a touch of organic malted barley and sea salt'

When she contacted Food for Life, she received the following response:

Thank you for your email. I am sorry that you obtain a stomach ache from the Organic Sprouted Corn Tortillas. That product does contain gluten. We offer a Wheat Free/Gluten Free Whole Grain Brown Rice Tortilla that

heatherjane Contributor

I should have googled this product before eating it today for lunch. I usually search a new product that I haven't eaten before, but I figured the labeling said just corn, lime, sea salt. A few hours after eating I starting experience the tell-tale pain along the bottom of my right rib cage.

This thread seems to indicate that the product is suspect. It only says "wheat free" on the package. which is misleading. if anyone sees this post, let me know what the latest is. I will check the mall to see if it still removed ....

thanks.

I do think it's interesting that celiac is mentioned all over their website now. <_<

  • 3 weeks later...
hoyhacesol Newbie

This is too bad! :(

I have this tortillas every morning and love them. They don't make me feel bad but if they do have gluten I will stop eating them.

Can anybody recommend another brand of corn tortillas that are indeed gluten-free and don't have any "unnecessary" ingredients (e.g. only corn, lime, water, salt). Thanks a lot!

Sara

BRUMI1968 Collaborator

This is too bad! :(

I have this tortillas every morning and love them. They don't make me feel bad but if they do have gluten I will stop eating them.

Can anybody recommend another brand of corn tortillas that are indeed gluten-free and don't have any "unnecessary" ingredients (e.g. only corn, lime, water, salt). Thanks a lot!

Sara

Sara,

I suggest you buy Masaca Masa Flour. It says gluten-free and is also GMO free...I think. You have to make your own tortillas, but they are super good and it does not really take long once you get the hang of it. It is just corn treated with lime. We eat them all the time - no problems. You'll want to get a tortilla press, but they are pretty cheap. We used a wine bottle to roll them out before we bought one.

GFinDC Veteran

This is too bad! :(

I have this tortillas every morning and love them. They don't make me feel bad but if they do have gluten I will stop eating them.

Can anybody recommend another brand of corn tortillas that are indeed gluten-free and don't have any "unnecessary" ingredients (e.g. only corn, lime, water, salt). Thanks a lot!

Sara

Mission brand corn tortillas are good. I also Enjoy Life brown rice warps. I get them at Whole Foods stores and some Giants.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,879
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Tam P
    Newest Member
    Tam P
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      @Mynx, how long have you been gluten-free? I ask because many newly diagnosed celiacs react to many things, and often think their reactions are caused by gluten, when in fact, they are really caused by a combination of a sensitive gut due to damage, as well as additional food intolerance/leaky gut issues to other foods which may be temporary until their villi heal.
    • Scott Adams
      Many major brands of distilled vinegar in the USA, including Heinz white vinegar, are typically made from corn. In the United States, corn is a common and cost-effective raw material used in the production of distilled white vinegar. The process involves fermenting the sugars derived from corn into alcohol, which is then further fermented into acetic acid to produce vinegar. Distillation follows, which purifies the liquid and removes impurities, including any residual proteins or allergens. While the source of the vinegar (e.g., corn) is not always explicitly stated on the label, corn-derived vinegar is widely used in the food industry due to its neutral flavor and affordability. For individuals with gluten intolerance or celiac disease, distilled vinegar made from corn is generally considered safe, as the distillation process effectively removes gluten proteins. However, if you have concerns about cross-contamination or specific sensitivities, it’s always a good idea to contact the manufacturer directly to confirm the sourcing and production practices. Heinz, for example, has stated that their distilled white vinegar is gluten-free and safe for those with celiac disease, but verifying this information can provide additional peace of mind. The belief that distilled vinegar is gluten-free is rooted in the scientific understanding that gluten proteins, which are large and complex molecules, are generally too big to pass through the distillation process. Distillation involves heating a liquid to create vapor, which is then condensed back into a liquid form, leaving behind larger molecules like gluten proteins. However, the concern about cross-contamination arises from the possibility that gluten-containing ingredients may have been present in the liquid prior to distillation. While the distillation process itself is highly effective at removing gluten, the equipment used in production could potentially introduce trace amounts of gluten if not thoroughly cleaned between batches. For most individuals with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease, distilled vinegar is considered safe because the gluten content, if any, is typically below the threshold that would trigger a reaction. However, for those with extreme gluten intolerance or celiac disease, even trace amounts can cause adverse effects. This is why some individuals, like yourself, may choose to avoid commercially produced distilled vinegar and opt for alternatives like apple cider vinegar, which can be verified as gluten-free. The meticulous process of researching ingredients and preparing homemade products, such as ketchup, is indeed challenging but crucial for maintaining health and avoiding gluten exposure. It’s important to note that regulatory standards for gluten-free labeling vary by region, and in many places, products labeled "gluten-free" must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for the vast majority of people with celiac disease. Nonetheless, individual sensitivity levels can vary, and your approach highlights the importance of personalized dietary management for those with severe gluten intolerance.
    • Bebee
      I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (LC) for quite a few years, so I have been gluten-free and DF.  I would like to get tested for Celiac Disease because of the possibility of cross contamination and colon cancer.  And if you were hospitalized and didn't have a celiac diagnosis you could not get gluten-free food, I don't know if that is true or not.  Also because there is chance of colon cancer so I want to know if I have Celiac Disease and need to be on very restrictive diet.  The only testing I did was a sigmoid scope and Enter Lab but no gene testing.  I know I can go back to eating gluten for a few months, but I would worry you would have to stay home for the few months while getting gluten.  What other options do I have?  Should I do the gene testing?  Maybe through Entero Lab?  Any other tests?  How important is it to have Celiac diagnosed? Thank you! Barb
    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
×
×
  • Create New...