Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Red Robin


conniebky

Recommended Posts

conniebky Collaborator

I haven't told anyone at work about my new gluten free lifestyle, new life, unsick life - don't want the attention/comments/questions... We all ordered from Red Robin the other day and I just wrote on my order gluten free please...like it was no big deal.

I ordered a hamburger with bleu cheese. It came in a box, and I was IMPRESSED! No bun, and all the ingredients were each packed separately. It came with fries which I looked up online and decided not to eat them. (Open Original Shared Link)

Well, I took a bite of one and of course thought I felt a reaction, you know how silly our minds can get, but the burger was delicious and I was happy with everything they did. (Open Original Shared Link)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor
:D
knittingmonkey Newbie

I haven't told anyone at work about my new gluten free lifestyle, new life, unsick life - don't want the attention/comments/questions... We all ordered from Red Robin the other day and I just wrote on my order gluten free please...like it was no big deal.

I ordered a hamburger with bleu cheese. It came in a box, and I was IMPRESSED! No bun, and all the ingredients were each packed separately. It came with fries which I looked up online and decided not to eat them. (Open Original Shared Link)

Well, I took a bite of one and of course thought I felt a reaction, you know how silly our minds can get, but the burger was delicious and I was happy with everything they did. (Open Original Shared Link)

Forgive me please, if I am incorrect. I am new to Gluten-free diet, having been confirmed celiac on 4/30.

It is my understanding that some moldy cheeses, like Bleu and Roquefort are not gluten free, being that the mold is grown on wheat bread. See Open Original Shared Link

Are you ordering from Red Robin in Larkspur?

Skylark Collaborator

Forgive me please, if I am incorrect. I am new to Gluten-free diet, having been confirmed celiac on 4/30.

It is my understanding that some moldy cheeses, like Bleu and Roquefort are not gluten free, being that the mold is grown on wheat bread. See Open Original Shared Link

Are you ordering from Red Robin in Larkspur?

Latest thinking is that blue cheese is safe.

Open Original Shared Link

conniebky Collaborator

Actually, I eat bleu cheese Wishbone dressing, because it's the one I found that says gluten free on the label, so I figured that bleu cheese was safe :D

Yeah, I do fine eating bleu cheese!

knittingmonkey Newbie

Actually, I eat bleu cheese Wishbone dressing, because it's the one I found that says gluten free on the label, so I figured that bleu cheese was safe :D

Yeah, I do fine eating bleu cheese!

This makes me very happy, as I really like bleu cheese and was going to miss having some now and then. :P

  • 1 month later...
Chrissyb Enthusiast

It you let them know at Red Robin you want the gluten free frys they use a dedicated fyrer for them. That makes me so very happy :) My daughter is take me there today for my birthday lunch now if I can just find a mexican resturant in colorado springs to go to for dinner I will be really happy :P and do the happy dance. :D


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...