Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Confused About This Product


CVRupp

Recommended Posts

CVRupp Newbie

Hello,

I have found conflicting information on the internet. I was told Rice and Corn Chexs are the only commercial cereal which is gluten-free. However I found another page on a different site that said Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles are gluten-free, I looked at the ingredients and did not see any thing with made of Gluten, of course I am new to this and is a bit of a novice.

I LOVE these two cereals but do not want to take the chance of getting sick. Does anyone know for sure? :unsure:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Skylark Collaborator

I found someone who wrote Post in March of this year.

Open Original Shared Link

Looks like there are no gluten ingredients in Fruity Pebbles and they are made on a dedicated line, which is always good. The bit about Post not being interested in certifying their cereals gluten-free is worrisome. The line about transportation vehicles and storage devices is some corporate "cover your ass" that we've seen before in these kind of letters. Pebbles are certainly reasonable to try, but I'd watch out for reactions carefully. You also might want to wait a couple months, until you're not so new to the diet in case you do find them to be a problem.

My understanding with Chex is that General Mills is not manufacturing them in a dedicated facility, but that they going to a lot of trouble to make sure the gluten-free cereal is not cross-contaminated and meets the proposed federal standard of 20 ppm or less. They are going to a lot of trouble and working with celiac organizations to be sure they are offering a safe product.

piglips82 Rookie

Thanks for asking! I have been wondering the same thing about Fruity Pebbles. :o)

seashele2 Newbie

A word of warning about Rice Chex. I bought a box a couple months ago while I was on vacation that stated they were gluten-free on the box, but about my 3rd bowl into the box there was a Wheat Chex. It was already in my milk when I uncovered it. I had my Dad taste it to make sure it wasn't just a burned Rice Chex. Nope it was wheat. I contacted the company to report it and they mailed me a refund check for $3.00 since I threw the box away.

There is a potential for that happening with food from any company that also makes gluten-containing foods. From now on, I'm only buying cereals produced by a dedicated gluten-free company.

Michelle

Juliebove Rising Star

A word of warning about Rice Chex. I bought a box a couple months ago while I was on vacation that stated they were gluten-free on the box, but about my 3rd bowl into the box there was a Wheat Chex. It was already in my milk when I uncovered it. I had my Dad taste it to make sure it wasn't just a burned Rice Chex. Nope it was wheat. I contacted the company to report it and they mailed me a refund check for $3.00 since I threw the box away.

There is a potential for that happening with food from any company that also makes gluten-containing foods. From now on, I'm only buying cereals produced by a dedicated gluten-free company.

Michelle

How could a Wheat Chex get in there since they are made in a dedicated facility?

ravenwoodglass Mentor

How could a Wheat Chex get in there since they are made in a dedicated facility?

From what I understand they are not made in a dedicated facility. My box says nothing about the facility being a dedicated one and usually if a company goes to the trouble of having a dedicated facility they tell us.

kareng Grand Master

I just emailed General Mills about the Chex. Asked if they were made in the same plant or on the same machines as the wheat Chex. We'll see if I get an answer amd I will post it here.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



buffettbride Enthusiast

Our family eats Fruity Pebbles with no problem, probably more often than we should.

sunnybabi1986 Contributor

We also eat fruity pebbles...and cocoa pebbles, with no issue. :)

Juliebove Rising Star

From what I understand they are not made in a dedicated facility. My box says nothing about the facility being a dedicated one and usually if a company goes to the trouble of having a dedicated facility they tell us.

I could be wrong but I believe it has been posted about before here that they are made in a dedicated facility.

Hmmm...

I just looked it up. Although some people claim they are made in a dedicated facility, this site says they are not.

Open Original Shared Link

kareng Grand Master

I just emailed General Mills about the Chex. Asked if they were made in the same plant or on the same machines as the wheat Chex. We'll see if I get an answer amd I will post it here.

This was the response I got. I asked about separate facilities or manufacturing lines. Sounds like they are not separate but they are aware of the CC issues and have found a solution for them.

Dear Valued Consumer:

Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Chex cereal.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.liveglutenfreely.com . It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or:

Celiac Sprue Association/United States of America, Inc.

PO Box 31700

Omaha, NE 68131-0700

402-558-0600

Or toll free: 877-CSA-4-CSA (877-272-4272)

www.csaceliacs.org

or: Celiac Disease Foundation

13251 Ventura Blvd. #1

Studio City, Ca. 91604

Phone: (818)990-2354

Fax: (818)990-2379

www.celiac.org

We hope this information is helpful.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Rogand

Consumer Services

scarlett77 Apprentice

OMG Fruity & Cocoa Pebbles are gluten-free?!?!?!?! It's always nice when you can add a bit more variety to breakfast offerings. I learn something new everyday, thanks!!

sunnybabi1986 Contributor

Hi Scarlett,

Well, Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles are NOT labeled gluten free and the manufacturer makes NO claim that they are gluten free, but they do not contain any gluten ingredients.

I guess the status is that they're made in a dedicated area? However, if the company starts making them on lines with gluten cereal, there could be cross contamination.

Keep this in mind :)

modiddly16 Enthusiast

tons of us eat fruity and cocoa pebbles on this board with no bad reactions. I say go for it!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,870
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajacob77
    Newest Member
    Ajacob77
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
    • Mynx
      Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 
    • Scott Adams
      It's possible, as there are other things that may cause elevated tTg-IgA levels, but in general a reaction to gluten is the culprit:    Also, approximately 10x more people have non-celiac gluten sensitivity than have celiac disease, but there isn’t yet a test for NCGS. If your symptoms go away on a gluten-free diet it would likely signal NCGS.    
    • Scott Adams
      Perhaps you could bring you own? Not sure, but worth a try.
    • Captain173
      I received my ANA test results - negative.  I'm thinking it was infection, was put on antibiotics for suspected sibo at the time blood test was taken. Significant improvements from taking them even while eating gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...