Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Balsamic Vinegar


missceliac2010

Recommended Posts

missceliac2010 Apprentice

Hello fellow Celiacs!

My name is Heather and I am newly diagnosed with Celiac Disease *it's been about a week*. My Dad has had the disease since I was a teenager, so when I was diagnosed, I was at least a little familiar with the diet in general. First I'll tell you a little about me, as an introduction. I am a 35 year old mother of 2 boys, ages 13 and 11. I am dating a wonderful man who is very supportive of me and tries to help in anyway he can. He has done lots of research (he's the cook of the family) and is already getting comfortable to adjusting his own recipes to adhere to our budget and lunch.

I have had a couple of struggles with being accidentally glutenized, and of course find it very frustrating. I have a two questions, one specific and one general:

1. Specifically, does Balsamic Vinegar have gluten in it? My bottle of "Eremo Benedetto" lists the following ingredients: Wine vinegar, concentrated grape must, caramel, contains natural sulfites. (In that order). Being fairly new, and despite have an IPhone "app" called "Is that gluten free", I still struggle! Any thoughts?

2. In general, I wondered what people's symptoms are when they get "glutenized"? Are they pretty specific and general across the board for Celiac Spru patients? My tell-tale signs that I have done something wrong begin with a bulging, swollen belly. I am by no means a thin model, but I don't normally have a tummy that could pass for 5 (or so) months pregnant! I'm not preggos btw...LOL). The symptoms then turn to a terrible pain right under my rib cage. The pain lasts about an hour, but my swollen belly can last for hours. Is this a common reaction? How do you react? I would love to hear about what happens to my fellow celiac.com peeps!

Thanks,

Heather

(Missceliac2010)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



skigirlchar Newbie

im going to answer #2 first - everyone seems to have differing symptoms, however many state they suffer from the swollen belly. others get brain fog. others get massive cramping. others get headaches. the list goes on and on. some people find that adding/taking digestive enzymes and drinking tons of water as soon as symptoms show up help w/ nixing the symptoms quicker than just letting it pass.

as for balsamic vinegar -

  • the grape must is freshly pressed fruit juice (usually grape juice) that contains the skins, seeds, and stems. basicly this means you are also getting any of the naturally occurring yeast that grows on the grapes. for me - this is a HUGE trigger. needless to say, balsamic vinegar was one of the 1st things i needed to eliminated from my diet.
  • the caramel is made by heating any of a variety of sugars - many need to cut out sugars who are on this diet

i would suggest, if you like the taste of vinegar and don't want to totally give it up yet, try finding a straight rice vinegar (usually can be found w/ the Asian food products in the grocery store) and substituting it. no, it doesn't have the same warm & full taste of balsamic, but they seem to be a better option for me.

good luck & know you have support here!

Olivegirl Newbie

Balsamic vinegar does not have gluten in it. The only vinegar that is a problem is malt vinegar.

My 'glutened' symptoms are very similar to yours. I always get a massively swollen stomach and cramping.

missceliac2010 Apprentice

Thanks for your responses! Sounds like the Balsamic "jury" is still "out". I think I'll remove it from my diet regardless, as any risk is not worth it.

Thanks again!

Heather

lovegrov Collaborator

Thanks for your responses! Sounds like the Balsamic "jury" is still "out". I think I'll remove it from my diet regardless, as any risk is not worth it.

Thanks again!

Heather

The balsamic jury is not out at all. Balsamic vinegar is absolutely gluten-free. The other poster has a host of other allergies that make balsamic bad for her, but not for you, unless you have the same allergies.

Which brings up a different point. In this case, all Heather asked about was gluten. Not yeast. Not sugar. But one of the posts went into a bunch of non-gluten problems, which ended up confusing the issue of gluten. Let's be aware.

richard

jebby Enthusiast

Hi Heather,

Balsamic vinegar does not contain gluten and is safe for celiacs. Many salad dressings do contain gluten though, so I stick with plain old olive oil and balsamic vinegar when I have salads at restaurants.

Your bloating and abdominal cramping are pretty tyical symptoms for getting glutened.

I am new on here too, like you.

J

  • 1 year later...
MIZGWEN Newbie

Hello my name is Gwen. I am newly diagnosed Celiac, just found out. I also have lupus, high BP and had a recent bout with pancreatitis. I am coming to terms with my new lifestyle but I need help...FIRST is there a such thing as gluten free green tea or is green tea naturally gluten free. I have to be able to drink something hot...my day and evenings will be UGH!

Help!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



heatherjane Contributor

If you like Bigelow, a lot of their teas are gluten free: http://www.bigelowtea.com/Catalog/Product/36/3/34/Green+Tea.aspx

Bubba's Mom Enthusiast

Rooibos tea is very nice too. It's not a true tea..but is high in anti-oxidants. Very healthy.

I find that having tea is very calming. It's partly the warm drink..but it's also the holding of the warm cup that's soothing to the soul. :D

  • 7 years later...
Glutentester Newbie
(edited)

Balsamic vinegar can contain gluten in the same way wine can. 

Edited by Glutentester
Chose to remove my comments
kareng Grand Master
10 hours ago, Glutentester said:

Balsamic vinegar can contain gluten in the same way wine can. 

That's an odd way to say it but , yes,  wine does not contain gluten and neither does balsamic vinegar .

Glutentester Newbie

Some wines do contain gluten. Many balsamic vinegars do contain gluten. Caramel colour, which is often used in cheap balsamic vinegars, is made from wheat. But even balsamic vinegars which do not list caramel colour often contain gluten. If you have a Nima tester, you can test for gluten in vinegar (see https://help.nimasensor.com/hc/en-us/articles/115009840368-Can-I-test-vinegar- ). I have tested many balsamic vinegars so far and found gluten in each of them. Gluten can get into wine because gluten-based sealers are sometimes used in barrels. If you are a sensitive celiac, these wines can affect you. 

BilliB Apprentice

Stash or republic of tea are gluten free. Ive always reacted badly to bigelows.

The trace gluten in balsamic vinegar would be very low. Ive other issues which mean I cant use it. Ild question cross contamination of ingredients. Someone not washing hands, and touching the bottle with gluteney fingers.

Pots, pans, utensils, condiment s with cross contaminatin, but its unlikey the vinegar would gluten you unless you are hyper sensitivd. Say the wine used was

In wheat sealed barrels.

I can manage braggs apple cider vinegar in small quantities. Coconut vinegar is nice too.

 

  • 1 year later...
maelduin Newbie
On 11/23/2018 at 8:38 AM, Glutentester said:

Some wines do contain gluten. Many balsamic vinegars do contain gluten. Caramel colour, which is often used in cheap balsamic vinegars, is made from wheat. But even balsamic vinegars which do not list caramel colour often contain gluten. If you have a Nima tester, you can test for gluten in vinegar (see https://help.nimasensor.com/hc/en-us/articles/115009840368-Can-I-test-vinegar- ). I have tested many balsamic vinegars so far and found gluten in each of them. Gluten can get into wine because gluten-based sealers are sometimes used in barrels. If you are a sensitive celiac, these wines can affect you. 

Ditto.  Thanks for pointing this out.  
 

I’m pretty new myself, and unfortunately found out right out of the gate that I am one of those people out there who are very sensitive to gluten in products.  We do exist.  

This may not affect you, and I hope for your sake it doesn’t because it sucks, but my advice to you is you have to find your tolerance level, which varies from person to person.

 In the case of the balsamic vinegar, I just went through this myself.  Several websites blithely state balsamic vinegar is gluten free.   I had a bottle that contains only grape must so I thought how could this possibly hurt me?  So I used it and got glutened.  

Then I dug around and found out about the wheat used to seal the casks.  For me, that’s all it took to get glutened.  For you or someone else, it might be fine.  

if I tell you it’s unsafe to use balsamic vinegar because of the wheat in the casks that could could potentially contaminate the vinegar, you have to take into consideration that I am extremely sensitive.  Ditto if someone else tells you It’s perfectly fine.  For the majority it is. 

If you are someone who does fine with the basic 20 ppm FDA standard for “gluten free” food which doesn’t even take into account factory and environmental cross-contamination, then you will probably be fine with the generally accepted guidelines, and a cursory website search will suffice.

If, on the other hand, you, or anyone else who is scratching their head wondering why “gluten free”’products keep making them sick, then I advise you to do a thorough internet search before hastily ingesting something you might regret (which is what I should have done before I opened that bottle of balsamic vinegar!)

When I first embarked on my gluten free diet, I was so sick it was sink or swim, and I was already drowning; so I started on a strict elimination diet.

I was shocked to make the horrifying discovery of how many things contain gluten.  It was hard to wrap my head around the fact that basically everything does, or is cross-contaminated with it in some form or another.  It’s used as sealants and binders not only in foods but in medications, vitamins, tea bags, casks, etc.  

I learned the hard way, you can’t assume anything is gluten free that passes through a factory, even if the product itself is natural.  

The only true “gluten free” diet is one that literally contains no gluten, i.e., fruits, veggies, and proteins, and which contains no processed foods, dairy, or grains, as all grains suffer from cross- contamination in one form or another.  

If you are someone super-sensitive like me, you may get no relief from any diet less strict.  But even I have been lucky enough to have found a few things I can tolerate.

Good luck!

Here are some good unbiased sources that I learned a lot from about celiac disease, FDA guidelines, cross-contamination, and labeling:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5548243/:

 

https://lilynicholsrdn.com/gluten-free-product-really-gluten-free/

https://www.verywellhealth.com/symptoms-continue-eating-gluten-free-562740

https://www.verywellhealth.com/how-much-gluten-can-make-me-sick-56248

https://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/contamination-of-naturally-guten-free-grains/

 

 

  • 2 months later...
jimbob99 Newbie

I had dinner at a friends house last night: grilled fish, baked veggies and fresh salad from their garden. The only additive was balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing which I thought was fine but by the time I got home my headache had started. It is 730 am and I still have the headache so it will be a big NO to balsamic vinegar going forward. 

Gemini Experienced
On 6/30/2020 at 10:34 AM, jimbob99 said:

I had dinner at a friends house last night: grilled fish, baked veggies and fresh salad from their garden. The only additive was balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing which I thought was fine but by the time I got home my headache had started. It is 730 am and I still have the headache so it will be a big NO to balsamic vinegar going forward. 

Balsamic vinegar can contain sulfites and it is high in histamine also, which can cause really bad headaches.  But it is gluten free and safe for the vast majority of Celiac’s.

 

  • 2 months later...
Hoosier Gluten Free Newbie

My go to is Napa Valley Naturals Grand Reserve. The taste is amazing and I didn't react to it. They were bought out recently by Stonewall kitchens and I'm hoping nothing changes. I use it for marinades, drizzled over veggies for roasting and salads, of course. 

RMJ Mentor
On 9/6/2020 at 10:26 AM, Hoosier Gluten Free said:

My go to is Napa Valley Naturals Grand Reserve. The taste is amazing and I didn't react to it. They were bought out recently by Stonewall kitchens and I'm hoping nothing changes. I use it for marinades, drizzled over veggies for roasting and salads, of course. 

When I saw a dietician specializing in celiac disease she also recommended Napa Valley Naturals vinegar. However, that was a few years ago and I see that Stonewall has changed from cherry to oak barrels, which some say are sealed with wheat flour paste.  The Stonewall site just says no gluten ingredients.

Hoosier Gluten Free Newbie
3 hours ago, RMJ said:

When I saw a dietician specializing in celiac disease she also recommended Napa Valley Naturals vinegar. However, that was a few years ago and I see that Stonewall has changed from cherry to oak barrels, which some say are sealed with wheat flour paste.  The Stonewall site just says no gluten ingredients.

I think I'm going to have to risk it as the Reserve they produce is incredible. Many thanks for the heads up. If I react, then I'll have a clue where it came from.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - plumbago replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      7

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    2. - trents replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      7

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    3. - knitty kitty replied to plumbago's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      7

      Anyone else with very high HDL?

    4. - trents replied to Tyoung's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      Celiac Disease and Mild Chronic Gastritis

    5. - Tyoung posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      Celiac Disease and Mild Chronic Gastritis


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,907
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ddav
    Newest Member
    Ddav
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • plumbago
      I have taken thiamine on and off (just not at this exact moment), and I’m not sure it's made any difference. Yes, I almost always “fast” (12 hours NPO) for blood tests, as do a great many other Americans, so I tend to think that’s not it. All I can say is that the mystery continues. I could do some speculating here…well, heck, let me go ahead and speculate now: The lab ranges we all see on our reports are more or less the averages of Americans who have had those blood tests. Now, it’s up to you and me whether or not to think of the average American as healthy. I can make arguments both ways, more often than not, on the negative. My point here is that maybe the current range of HDL is somewhat skewed (ie, low), and maybe just maybe my super high (plus 100s) HDL results are not something to worry about; the range just needs updating. Why do I say this? Because pre-celiac disease diagnosis, my HDL values were in the normal range, but post celiac disease diagnosis, my HDL levels are way above average. See where I’m going? My trusty guidebook on celiac disease, Recognizing Celiac Disease by Cleo Libonati, RN, BSN, says that HDL increases after being on the gluten free diet. Or can increase, I guess. Then again, it could be something else. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ In thinking of going to a cardiologist, I sort of fear that he/she will be dismissive of a link to celiac disease, treated celiac disease, and would not therefore be considering all possibilities. @trents I'm sorry you've been diligently working on your numbers to no effect. That must be frustrating. LDL is a world that is far better understood than HDL, so for you there's maybe less "mystery." Familial hypercholesterolemia is for sure something that can be tested. Outside of that, you're right, genetics can determine a general pattern.
    • trents
      Well, I have the opposite problem. My LDL has been moderately high for years. I eat healthy and exercise regularly but can't seem to move that meter. I used to be on a statin (and my doctors want me to go back on one) and it brought both HDL and LDL down but the ratios never changed. I think a lot of that cholesterol stuff is just baked into the genes.
    • knitty kitty
      Wow, @plumbago, Curiouser, and curioser... Have you been fasting?  Apparently HDL levels increase after fasting... https://ajcn.nutrition.org/article/S0002-9165(23)31185-7/abstract   I must say it, try taking some Thiamine.  Thiamine helps regulate lipoproteins... Thiamine helped lower HDL in this study whether they had diabetes or not. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC3921172/#:~:text=Serum thiamine and its derivatives,supplementation (p %3D 0.009).
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Tyoung! I would assume for the time being that the mild gastritis and the celiac disease are connected and that once you get a good handle on gluten free eating and experience significant healing in the lining of your duodenum, you will also see improvement in the gastritis as well. Gastritis is more often than not an accompanying finding that is commented on in the post scope/biopsy notes when people are positive for celiac disease. 
    • Tyoung
      Hello! I was recently diagnosed with celiacs and mild chronic gastritis was noted on my EGD as well. My GI did not even bring up the gastritis and when I asked she brushed it off. I really want to heal my gut completely not just from celiacs but also the gastritis. Did anyone else have this at diagnosis? Were you able to treat it? Was it associated with celiacs or something entirely different? Thank you!!
×
×
  • Create New...