Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Hooray For Waldo Pizza!


bbuster

Recommended Posts

bbuster Explorer

I first learned about Waldo Pizza (Kansas City) from this forum, not too long after my son was diagnosed with Celiac.

I was thrilled to find out they had a location in Lee's Summit, same town where my in-laws live.

We made it a point to eat there on the next trip to visit grandma. At that time, they did not have the gluten-free pizza on the menu - you had to ask for it and the server didn't seem to know what we were talking about, but he checked, and we got it and all was good. My son loved it, and loved being able to eat pizza at a restaurant.

Several trips later, gluten-free pizza was finally listed on the menu, along with Redbridge beer (but my son is not of age so that was no big deal to us).

Next time I noticed they had a gluten-free brownie on the menu.

The next couple of trips I did not go to KC, but the rest of the family did and of course ate there.

I was just there in May, and now the menu includes gluten-free cupcakes, brownies, and cookies.

Today I was checking their on-line menu, and in addition to all the above, they now have a gluten-free menu section that includes breadsticks, cheese crust, garlic bread, and all kinds of sandwiches on gluten free bun or roll, salad options, and lemonade cake.

Awesome!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

I first learned about Waldo Pizza (Kansas City) from this forum, not too long after my son was diagnosed with Celiac.

I was thrilled to find out they had a location in Lee's Summit, same town where my in-laws live.

We made it a point to eat there on the next trip to visit grandma. At that time, they did not have the gluten-free pizza on the menu - you had to ask for it and the server didn't seem to know what we were talking about, but he checked, and we got it and all was good. My son loved it, and loved being able to eat pizza at a restaurant.

Several trips later, gluten-free pizza was finally listed on the menu, along with Redbridge beer (but my son is not of age so that was no big deal to us).

Next time I noticed they had a gluten-free brownie on the menu.

The next couple of trips I did not go to KC, but the rest of the family did and of course ate there.

I was just there in May, and now the menu includes gluten-free cupcakes, brownies, and cookies.

Today I was checking their on-line menu, and in addition to all the above, they now have a gluten-free menu section that includes breadsticks, cheese crust, garlic bread, and all kinds of sandwiches on gluten free bun or roll, salad options, and lemonade cake.

Awesome!

Lemonade cake has a nice flavor, but was a little dry. The choc chip cookies are wonderful. they heat them up and my gluten eating cookie freaks love them.

KCPC Newbie

There is now a great gluten-free bakery in Lees Summit, not far from Waldo Pizza. I think Waldo gets their buns & desserts there. The bakery is Kneaded Specialties. www.kneadedspecialties.com

bbuster Explorer

There is now a great gluten-free bakery in Lees Summit, not far from Waldo Pizza. I think Waldo gets their buns & desserts there. The bakery is Kneaded Specialties. www.kneadedspecialties.com

wow - thanks! I'll check it out next time.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,793
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Oli1904
    Newest Member
    Oli1904
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
    • trents
      @Manaan2, have you considered the possibility that she might be cross reacting to some food or foods that technically don't contain gluten but whose proteins closely resemble gluten. Chief candidates might be dairy (casein), oats (avenin), soy, corn and eggs. One small study showed that 50% of celiacs react to CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...