Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Andy Capp's Hot Fries?


jjc

Recommended Posts

jjc Contributor

Just wondered if anyone knows if Andy Capp's hot fries are gluten free. I know that they used to contain hydrolyzed wheat gluten , but while I was at the grocery store today, I decided to read the ingredients label out of curiosity, and I didn't see any wheat ingredients listed. The label now says "contains milk". So..does anyone know if these are safe now?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jjc Contributor

Anyone know?

kareng Grand Master

I'm not familiar with them but look at the ingredients, website, maybe email or call the company.

  • 7 years later...
newyorkyankz Newbie

Responding to a real old thread, but figured i'd share.  Response from today 11.27.17

 

Hello David,
 

Thank you for your email regarding our ANDY CAPP'S Cheddar Fries. This product does not contain wheat but has not been tested to validate that it is gluten free.
 

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to obtain accurate information about our food to help plan their meals and diets. We continue to look for ways to meet the dietary needs of our consumers.

Since wheat is a major food allergen, if it is used in the product, it will be listed in the "contains" statement following the ingredients list. The flour used in many of our products is wheat flour, and you should avoid these products if you have gluten sensitivities. If any ingredient in the product includes rye or barley, it will be listed in parentheses immediately following the ingredient. Oats do not contain gluten, but they frequently have been exposed to wheat or barley and are not recommended for celiac patients. If Natural Flavors, Artificial Flavors, or Spices listed in the ingredients list contain wheat, rye or barley, these ingredients will be listed in parenthesis immediately following the ingredient. Some fermented or distilled products such as vinegar may be derived from wheat. Most of the vinegar in our products is distilled, and through the distilling process protein gluten is removed.

The following brands are validated as gluten-free with gluten-free printed on their labels:
Egg Beaters
Hunt's Tomatoes, Hunt's No Salt Added Tomato Sauce and No Salt Added Paste (excluding Hunt's Fire Roasted Diced Tomatoes 2700037800, Tomato Sauces, Tomato Paste, No Salt Added Resealable Tomato Sauce, Pasta Sauces and Ketchup)
Swiss Miss Cocoa
Healthy Choice Café Steamers: Cajun Style Chicken & Shrimp (7265500112), Café Steamers Beef Merlot (7265500102) and Café Steamers Homestyle Chicken & Potatoes (7265500118)
Popcorn: Act II microwave; Orville Redenbacher Popping Corn (kernels) and microwave; Jiffy Pop
Pudding: Swiss Miss & Snack Pack Pudding and Juicy Gels, excludes those containing Tapioca
Poppycock - Pecan Delight, Original, Cashew
Crunch N Munch: Caramel, Buttery Toffee
Fiddle Faddle: Caramel, Buttery Toffee
Hebrew National: regular franks, reduced fat franks, bologna, lean bologna, salami, lean salami, corned beef, pastrami
Peter Pan Peanut Butter: all varieties
Tablespreads (tubs): Parkay, Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann's and Move Over Butter
Tablespreads (sticks): Parkay Blue Bonnet, Fleischmann’s
La Choy Original Sauce Marinade (4430012068) and La Choy Orange Ginger Sauce Marinade (4430012067)
La Choy Soy Sauce (Regular & Lite)
La Choy Sweet & Sour Sauce
Reddi-Wip: all varieties
David Seeds: all varieties

Below is a list of some of our other products that do not contain added gluten*
Wesson oils: all varieties
Hunt's Tomato Sauces (excludes pasta sauces)
Hunt's Tomato Paste
Ketchup: Hunt's all varieties
Ro*Tel Tomatoes

*These items have been identified as not containing gluten. They are not currently routinely tested to affirm they contain less than 20ppm gluten for a 'gluten-free' claim.

We always advise consumers who may have sensitivities to recheck the ingredient list on each package. Products are oftentimes reformulated, and the ingredients may change. If you have additional questions about your personal dietary needs, please consult your doctor or a registered dietitian.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,664
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Bevmay
    Newest Member
    Bevmay
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Rebeccaj
      glutened peoples experience ?via flour airbourne.
    • eKatherine
      Keep in mind that you might also have a dietary sensitivity to something else. Get into the habit of reading ingredients lists.
    • BoiseNic
      I would avoid gluten at all cost. Sometimes there will be no noticeable damage, but it is still causing an autoimmune response that will manifest in some way or another eventually. Throwing up from a macaroon sounds like something other than celiac disease also.
    • pplewis3d
      Thanks, Scott! I appreciate you looking that up for me. Perhaps that will be good enough for someone but not for me...super sensitive dermatitis herpetiformis here. I don't take any chances that I can avoid. ~Pam
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
×
×
  • Create New...