Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Kool Aid?


jjc

Recommended Posts

jjc Contributor

Just a quick question. I couldn't find a recent topic on Kool Aid, so I thought I'd ask again. Does Kool Aid contain gluten? I know that it's made by Kraft, but I did notice maltodextrin on the ingredient list. Is it safe?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

Just a quick question. I couldn't find a recent topic on Kool Aid, so I thought I'd ask again. Does Kool Aid contain gluten? I know that it's made by Kraft, but I did notice maltodextrin on the ingredient list. Is it safe?

Kraft will clearly list all forms of gluten. Maltodextrine does not contain gluten. Kool Aid is cool :D

  • 7 years later...
mynxr Rookie
On 7/21/2010 at 8:01 PM, jjc said:

Just a quick question. I couldn't find a recent topic on Kool Aid, so I thought I'd ask again. Does Kool Aid contain gluten? I know that it's made by Kraft, but I did notice maltodextrin on the ingredient list. Is it safe?

Maltodextrin may or may not be a gluten ingredient. If the dextrin portion is made from wheat it is. However it can also be made from corn or rice. Here's the problem. Kraft doesn't make the maltodextrin so according to the company, any ingredient that's supplied by an outside supplier, we don't know if it contains gluten or not. 

I just drank some cherry kool aid that we thought was safe because I'm so tired of water, water with lemon or lime and tea. I can't drink diet soda or anything else because normally one of the ingredients is natural flavors. A lot of times that means an extract which is done with vodka. The cheaper vodkas are distilled from wheat.

Yes, I know the gluten protein molecule is too large to pass through the distillation process. However the distilled alcohol is cross contaminated. I am gluten intolerant. Even 1 or 2 ppb will make me very ill. 

 

I hooe this helps!

kareng Grand Master
(edited)
20 minutes ago, mynxr said:

Maltodextrin may or may not be a gluten ingredient. If the dextrin portion is made from wheat it is. However it can also be made from corn or rice. Here's the problem. Kraft doesn't make the maltodextrin so according to the company, any ingredient that's supplied by an outside supplier, we don't know if it contains gluten or not. 

I just drank some cherry kool aid that we thought was safe because I'm so tired of water, water with lemon or lime and tea. I can't drink diet soda or anything else because normally one of the ingredients is natural flavors. A lot of times that means an extract which is done with vodka. The cheaper vodkas are distilled from wheat.

Yes, I know the gluten protein molecule is too large to pass through the distillation process. However the distilled alcohol is cross contaminated. I am gluten intolerant. Even 1 or 2 ppb will make me very ill. 

 

I hooe this helps!

 

20 minutes ago, mynxr said:

Maltodextrin may or may not be a gluten ingredient. If the dextrin portion is made from wheat it is. However it can also be made from corn or rice. Here's the problem. Kraft doesn't make the maltodextrin so according to the company, any ingredient that's supplied by an outside supplier, we don't know if it contains gluten or not. 

I just drank some cherry kool aid that we thought was safe because I'm so tired of water, water with lemon or lime and tea. I can't drink diet soda or anything else because normally one of the ingredients is natural flavors. A lot of times that means an extract which is done with vodka. The cheaper vodkas are distilled from wheat.

Yes, I know the gluten protein molecule is too large to pass through the distillation process. However the distilled alcohol is cross contaminated. I am gluten intolerant. Even 1 or 2 ppb will make me very ill. 

 

I hooe this helps!

Thank you for responding to this 7 year old post.  Looks like this is a good time to re- visit some of these Celiac myths/ concerns.

here is a good article that addresses several ingredients that people frequently question.

https://www.glutenfreeliving.com/gluten-free-foods/ingredients/top-10-ingredients-you-really-dont-need-to-worry-about/

 

it explains Maltodextrin 

"The source does not matter because maltodextrin is such a highly processed ingredient that the protein is removed, rendering it gluten free. Plus, if wheat is used to make maltodextrin, “wheat” will appear on the label. This might give you pause, but even in this case, the maltodextrin would be gluten free. In Canada, maltodextrin made from wheat was tested with one of the most sensitive tests available and no gluten was detected."

I wish it addressed natural flavors as those are considered gluten-free.

Edited by kareng
  • 3 years later...
Bharvi Rookie
On 10/15/2017 at 12:39 PM, mynxr said:

Maltodextrin may or may not be a gluten ingredient. If the dextrin portion is made from wheat it is. However it can also be made from corn or rice. Here's the problem. Kraft doesn't make the maltodextrin so according to the company, any ingredient that's supplied by an outside supplier, we don't know if it contains gluten or not. 

I just drank some cherry kool aid that we thought was safe because I'm so tired of water, water with lemon or lime and tea. I can't drink diet soda or anything else because normally one of the ingredients is natural flavors. A lot of times that means an extract which is done with vodka. The cheaper vodkas are distilled from wheat.

Yes, I know the gluten protein molecule is too large to pass through the distillation process. However the distilled alcohol is cross contaminated. I am gluten intolerant. Even 1 or 2 ppb will make me very ill. 

 

I hooe this helps!

Thanks, but it isn’t clear if the cherry kool aid was safe for you?

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,660
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Barbara C
    Newest Member
    Barbara C
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
    • Liamclarke
      I was diagnosed with celiac at age 8 when I dropped down to the bottom 18% of my height and weight class this lead to tests which lead to celiac. I was devastated however with a gluten-free diet I am now taller than 60% of my grade. As I grew older I grew but my symptoms changed to violently throwing up everything inside of my body from a tiny macaron that I know had gluten in it and caused my reaction. However recently I had a full wheat containing cookie and didn’t feel a thing. Absolutely no symptoms at all. No upset stomach no diharea no anything not even a headache. So I told my doctor and he told me to experiment. What better than a fried fluffy donut that aren’t the same gluten-free I had half and had no reaction, not to mention the top ingredient was wheat and it was delicious. Yet still my mom is skeptical and I need to know. Can a kid outgrow celiac?????
    • knitty kitty
      Hi, @Richardo,  Welcome to the forum!   Good suggestions, although we are aware here that oats, corn and rice can cause problems for some because their proteins have segments that resemble segments of the gluten protein.   What I find most helpful for my dermatitis herpetiformis flares is to increase Niacin Vitamin B 3 and Thiamine Vitamin B 1.  Niacin and Thiamine are needed to turn those carbohydrates into energy to fuel metabolic reactions that keep us healthy.  An influx of carbohydrates demands more of these vitamins.  Since malabsorption of Celiac can cause us to be low in the eight essential water soluble B vitamins, consuming a high carbohydrate diet can deplete thiamine and niacin stores rapidly. There's evidence that Niacin insufficiency plays a big part in dermatitis herpetiformis.   The flushing form of Niacin is known to dilate small blood vessels in the skin which allows the antibodies to be easily cleared from the blisters and induce healing.   Niacin intake should be kept under 500 mg a day otherwise it will lower bad cholesterol and raise good cholesterol, but this should only be done under doctor supervision.   Thiamine is nontoxic and safe Eve in high doses.  Every cell in the body needs thiamine to fuel the mitochondrial functions.  A high carbohydrate diet requires 500 - 1000 mg more for every 1000 calories from carbs.  
    • trents
      @Tracey Thomas, Is that the only celiac test that was run? From the magnitude of the reference range, that looks like it was the "total IGA" test to check for IGA deficiency. It is not checking for celiac disease per se. If you are IGA deficient, it can cause false negatives in the individual IGA celiac antibody tests. Were there any other celiac antibody tests run?
    • Tracey Thomas
      So yes I am aware that celiac is not an allergy. This is just the steps the doctors put me through. The Dermatologist results came back as a form of hives. A type I’ve never had so I didn’t think they were but test came back as a form of hives. So my celiac test iga was 229 the range was 70-400 so mine fell in normal range. 
×
×
  • Create New...