Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Found Gluten Free Soy Sauce At Wally World!


Guest taweavmo3

Recommended Posts

Guest taweavmo3

Just wanted to share my little bit of happy with everyone.....The Walmart store brand soy sauce (Good Value) says gluten free right on the bottle! I don't know if this is new or it's been that way, but I was so excited. We are on such a tight budget, I was thrilled to be able to buy a store brand product again! Now I can let loose on some of those fried rice recipes I got from here.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



liljules5 Rookie

thanks so much for the info!! that's awesome. I was using LaChoy but it's kinda nasty.

Turtle Enthusiast

YAY! Thanks for telling us. I have been using Tamari. It's good but like you i'm on a tight budget, so thanks. Every little bit helps!

Guest nini

YOU ARE KIDDING!!!!! Wow!!!! I've been using LaChoy too, and I agree it's kinda nasty. I've also used Tamari and it's pretty ick too. I'm gonna have to look for that next time I'm in Wally World!!!!

psawyer Proficient

In Canada, VH soy sauce is widely available and is gluten-free. Most VH sauces are gluten-free, but there are a few exceptions. VH sauces are sold only in Canada, although the parent company is in the US :( It's good to know that there is a mainstream soy sauce available in the states that is gluten-free.

connole1056 Rookie

Thanks for that info. Unlike some of others, I like LaChoy(uh oh, I'm an outcast), but depending on where I get it, it can be expensive. How is the taste? I have found that most of the WalMart food is not such a Great Value because I throw it away because of the taste!

connole1056 Rookie

I just got back from WalMart and could not find the sauce. I got the LaChoy elsewhere. Maybe just the supercenters carry it.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 3 weeks later...
sarah513 Rookie

On a related note, what is the deal with tamari? I read in a few places that San-J brand tamari is recommended, but wheat is listed right there on the ingredients. I'm not a fan of LaChoy or any "soy sauce" that is just salt water... is there really a wheat-free tamari, and if so, where can I get it? Should I be looking in Asian stores?

tarnalberry Community Regular

San-J makes two tamaris - one is wheat free, one isn't.

Matilda Enthusiast

..

citygirl114 Newbie

Thanks Peter :D:D

I had no idea that VH soy sauce was gluten-free. Here I have been buying tamari when all this time I could have bought the less expensive one. Do you know if the lite VH is gluten free too???

tarnalberry Community Regular

Yes, the wheat-free San-J tamari, according to the company, is gluten-free. (But that's a good question to remember to ask. ;-) )

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,807
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    DEBG123
    Newest Member
    DEBG123
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...