Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Contains Wheat But Not Gluten?


Cheryl-C

Recommended Posts

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

I emailed Western Creamery yesterday to ask about their cream cheese. I got a really bizarre response, including a point that some products "contain glucose syrup originating from wheat but contains no gluten even if it originates from wheat."

I thought glucose was a sugar product, not a wheat product. Now I'm even more confused than I was before. Thanks, Western Creamery! :blink:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Kay DH Apprentice

Glucose is made from conversion of plant starches, such as in corn or wheat, to the shorter sugar molecules. It would probably depend on the purity of the glucose and if any gluten proteins got into the mix. So the question might be, is glucose always safe to eat or could the impurities cause problems? Medical-grade glucose should be high purity and therefore safe.

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

So I wonder if that now means having to find out the source of the glucose before consuming? Anyone have any experience with this issue?

ravenwoodglass Mentor

So I wonder if that now means having to find out the source of the glucose before consuming? Anyone have any experience with this issue?

If your in the US and the glucose is derived from wheat it must by FDA regs say so. Whether all companies actually follow those regs I can't say but they would get in a lot of trouble if they didn't. That said I personally wouldn't touch a product with a wheat derived glucose.

Lisa Mentor

On the flip side...

Glucose is so highly processed that the offending gluten proteins are removed, rendering it gluten free. It should be safe for most people with Celiac to consume.

Open Original Shared Link

wheat-based glucose syrups

Based on the FDA proposed gluten-free labeling regulation a product can be derived from a gluten-containing grain such as wheat based glucose syrup and be labeled gluten-free yet the ingredients could say glucose syrup (wheat) provided it is under 20 parts per million (ppm). This will be very confusing for patients as we teach them to avoid wheat and yet a product like glucose syrup may have no or very little residual gluten and be labeled gluten free.”

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

Ugh!

I used to think that lack of choice was the gluten-free enemy, but in actuality, ridiculous, confusing labeling policies are!

Raven, I wish we had the policies here in Canada that you folks have the States. It would be nice to have a clearer picture of what's in the food. Since going gluten-free, I've continued to eat things with glucose without realizing they might come from wheat.

Lisa, thank you for that additional information. Because I've been eating things with glucose without realizing the possible wheat, and haven't suffered for it (that I know of), it seems that this procedure likely makes the glucose safe. *whew* However, it would be nice to have clearer labels so that people who might be more sensitive than I am could make an informed choice whether to eat a product or not.

Sometimes I feel like gluten is sneaking up on me... :ph34r:

psawyer Proficient

Glucose syrup is highly refined. Here is the Canadian Celiac Associations comment on the subject in their ingredient dictionary:

GLUCOSE SYRUPS ... ALLOWED

A purified concentrated water-soluble solution of sugars. Can be made from a variety of starches such as corn, potato or wheat. The manufacturing process renders glucose syrups gluten-free regardless of the source of the starch.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Cheryl-C Enthusiast

Thanks, Pete! So you feel comfortable eating glucose, regardless of the source? As I said, I haven't noticed myself getting sick from it.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Thanks, Pete! So you feel comfortable eating glucose, regardless of the source? As I said, I haven't noticed myself getting sick from it.

It you haven't had an issue with items that have it I wouldn't worry about it.

If you have been having a lot of 'mystery' glutening then that would be different but since you haven't had an issue then enjoy.

psawyer Proficient

Thanks, Pete! So you feel comfortable eating glucose, regardless of the source?

Yes, I do.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,761
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Teri Oliver
    Newest Member
    Teri Oliver
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • bluebird2032
      Gluten free/ non dairy , low calorie pudding ideas please?
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
×
×
  • Create New...