Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does Anyone Know If These Are gluten-free


Dellers

Recommended Posts

Dellers Apprentice

Sorry I dont know what forum to put this in. I have been so ill all day. I ate two of these so I am thinking its these. I cant find any information on them been looking for about two hours now . Open Original Shared Link


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Takala Enthusiast

It is very, very unlikely that these are gluten free.

When in doubt, don't eat it.

I have searched Reber's useless website and cannot find any nutritional information on it other than they're kosher. :huh:

I have also searched other websites which sell these, and found a few other varieties listed, such as a milk chocolate product without the nuts and cherry filling, which did list the ingredients for that item, and it was NOT gluten free.

Examples: Open Original Shared Link

Another site, the Reber chocolate "piano bar" listed the ingredients as sugar cocoa almonds whole milk powder hazelnuts cocoa butter crisped rice pistachios cream brandy

the two ingredients I bolded likely had the gluten in them. The crisped rice probably had malt barley in it, and the brandy could have unsourced flavorings, as well.

If a lot of the other chocolates, such as the plain milk chocolate Reber "Santa," have gluten, then it's likely the manufacturer does not separately make a gluten free item.

From what I've seen of imported european milk chocolates on the label, I won't go near them. They don't list for allergens and have a lot of different flavorings.

kareng Grand Master

In my mom voice, " What have we learned here?". Your response, " If I don't know the ingredients, I won't eat it.". Me: "that's right , dear.". :)

Dellers Apprentice

It is very, very unlikely that these are gluten free.

When in doubt, don't eat it.

I have searched Reber's useless website and cannot find any nutritional information on it other than they're kosher. :huh:

I have also searched other websites which sell these, and found a few other varieties listed, such as a milk chocolate product without the nuts and cherry filling, which did list the ingredients for that item, and it was NOT gluten free.

Examples: Open Original Shared Link

Another site, the Reber chocolate "piano bar" listed the ingredients as sugar cocoa almonds whole milk powder hazelnuts cocoa butter crisped rice pistachios cream brandy

the two ingredients I bolded likely had the gluten in them. The crisped rice probably had malt barley in it, and the brandy could have unsourced flavorings, as well.

If a lot of the other chocolates, such as the plain milk chocolate Reber "Santa," have gluten, then it's likely the manufacturer does not separately make a gluten free item.

From what I've seen of imported european milk chocolates on the label, I won't go near them. They don't list for allergens and have a lot of different flavorings.

Thank you so much for your help. I can not find anything on them and the ingredients on the chocolate its self its tiny. So I could not read it. I will send the manufacture an E-mail and let you all know but for now be very careful when eating these. I have been looking a lot as its the only thing that could have caused it. I had daim cake in ikea that is gluten-free. When I came home at about 10 I ate two of these and felt something was not write with them.

Dellers Apprentice

In my mom voice, " What have we learned here?". Your response, " If I don't know the ingredients, I won't eat it.". Me: "that's right , dear.". :)

Your mom is a very wise woman. I am new to this celiac diet so I take things at face value if I think they are gluten-free.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,992
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Celly
    Newest Member
    Celly
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Okay, it does make sense to continue the gluten challenge as long as you are already in the middle of it. But what will change if you rule it out? I mean, you have concluded that whatever label you want to give the condition, many of your symptoms improved when you went gluten free. Am I correct in that? According to how I understand your posting, the only symptom that hasn't responded to gluten free eating is the bone demineralization. Did I misunderstand? And if you do test positive, what will you do different than you are doing now? You have already been doing for years the main thing you should be doing and that is eating gluten free. Concerning how long you should stay on the gluten challenge, how many weeks are you into it already?
    • WildFlower1
      I mean that I will be re-taking the celiac blood test again while I am currently on the gluten challenge right now, but not sure how many weeks more to keep going, to ensure a false negative does not happen. Thank you.
    • WildFlower1
      Thank you for your help, I am currently in the middle of the gluten challenge. A bit over 6 weeks in. At 4 weeks I got the celiac blood tests and that is when they were negative. So to rule out the false negative, since I’m in the middle of the gluten challenge right now and will never do this again, I wanted to continue consuming gluten to the point to make sure the blood tests are not a false negative - which I did not receive a firm answer for how many weeks total.    My issue is, with these blood tests the doctors say “you are not celiac” and rule it out completely as a potential cause of my issues, when the symptoms scream of it. I want to rule out this 30 year mystery for my own health since I’m in the middle of it right now. Thank you!
    • trents
      I am a male and had developed osteopenia by age 50 which is when I finally got dx with celiac disease. I am sure I had it for at least 13 years before that because it was then I developed idiopathic elevated liver enzymes. I now have a little scoliosis and pronounced kyphosis (upper spine curvature).  All of your symptoms scream of celiac disease, even if the testing you have had done does not. You may be an atypical celiac, meaning the disease is not manifesting itself in your gut but is attacking other body systems. There is such a thing as sero negative celiac disease. But you still have not given me a satisfactory answer to my question of why do you need a differential dx between celiac disease and NCGS when either one would call for complete abstinence from gluten, which you have already been practicing except for short periods when you were undergoing a gluten challenge. Why do you want to put a toxic substance into your body for weeks when, even if it did produce a positive test result for celiac disease, neither you or your doctors would do anything different? Regardless of what doctors are recommending to you, it is your body it is affecting not theirs and they don't seem to have given you any good justification for starting another gluten challenge. Where you live, are doctors kings or something?
    • WildFlower1
      Sorry to put it clearly, at 15, infertility started (tried to word it nicely) meaning menstruation stopped. Which is in correlation to celiac I mean. Thank you. 
×
×
  • Create New...