Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Honey Baked Ham


GFreeMO

Recommended Posts

GFreeMO Proficient

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, because of a poultry allergy, I am looking for a ham. I read that the Honey Baked Hams are now gluten free. Has anyone had any luck with these?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



bigbird16 Apprentice

Honey Baked Hams are gluten free. They changed their recipe I think about two years ago. Here you can find all of the nutritional information on their hams: Open Original Shared Link . I'm very sensitive, and I've never had a problem with their hams. Happy eating!

Cinderella10 Newbie

I've done really well with Honey Baked Ham, too. Good stuff.

GFreeMO Proficient

Great!!! I will be getting one for Thanksgiving. Another "normal" food I can serve that we ALL can enjoy. :)

Nor-TX Enthusiast

Honey Baked Hams are gluten free. They changed their recipe I think about two years ago. Here you can find all of the nutritional information on their hams: Open Original Shared Link . I'm very sensitive, and I've never had a problem with their hams. Happy eating!

I checked their website and could not find anything that indicated the ham was gluten-free. Did you actually see a statement?

kareng Grand Master

Might check this link to Gluten Freeville. It talked to Honey Baked Ham to get the scoop. Yes, the meats are gluten-free.

Open Original Shared Link

For some reason I can't get it to work.This is what it says.

Update on Honey Baked Hams & Turkeys gluten-free Status

November 3, 2010 by Nancy

Filed under News

3 Comments

XHello there Facebook friend! If you like this article, please help spread the word by sharing this post with your friends.

Powered by WP Greet Box WordPress PluginI spoke to Bill Walters, Customer Relations Manager at Honey Baked today and he read Lindsay’s post with me (below):

“Question: I saw a post that Honey baked Hams sent a confirmation that they are gluten-free……..However, I called our local one and spoke with a manager who said no they are not. When I called corp. they stated they are all “Franchised” and can use “within a range” what they choose. When I went into the local store every thing (meat wise) had some form of “wheat, caramel color from an unknown source, etc.” Can you help me figure out why one person got a confirmation and the chain is telling and showing me different?”

As of two years ago, their glazes are Gluten Free, and their meats have always been gluten free. They have many products with gluten – sides and gravies, etc, but not the ham and turkey. He personally contacted the different divisions to be sure everyone had adopted the allergen-friendly glazes and found that they had. (Their modified food starch is corn based and the caramel color doesn’t contain gluten.)

Lindsay was told that since the stores are franchised, they can use products “within a range” and some may choose to use glazes with gluten. Not true, according to Mr. Walters. They must use the proprietary Honey Baked glazes, which have been gluten free for the past two years.

Honey Baked, as with other large corporations, is constantly addressing the challenge of keeping the customer service phone employees educated on all the issues they must know about, including gluten issues. Mr. Walters read Lindsay’s post and assured me that the phone information she received was in error.

This statement is on their website and was confirmed when I sent an email and now also by the Customer Service Manager:

Click here for nutritional information

*** You are now free to enjoy any of our signature meats (HoneyBaked Ham, Sliced & Glazed Turkey, Hickory Boneless Ham) without wheat gluten!

The ingredients listed below come from their nutrition page and don’t contain wheat or gluten according to Mr. Walters:

Sliced and Glazed Turkey

Ingredients: Turkey Breast, Turkey Broth, Dextrose, Salt, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Diacetate. Glazed With Sugar, Gelatin, Paprika (Color), Maltodextrin, Food Starch – Modified, Dextrose, Refinery Syrup, Honey, Spices, Natural Flavoring, Brown Sugar. Invert Sugar.

Roasted and Smoked Turkey

Ingredients: Turkey Breast Meat, Turkey Broth, Potassium Lactate, Seasoning [salt, Dextrose, Sugar, Natural Flavor, Artificial Maple Flavor (Sugar, Modified Food Starch, Caramel Color, Natural Flavors, Maltodextrin, Corn Syrup)], Salt, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Nitrite. Glazed With Sugar, Gelatin, Paprika (Color), Maltodextrin, Food Starch – Modified, Dextrose, Refinery Syrup, Honey, Spices, Natural Flavoring, Brown Sugar. Invert Sugar.

Boneless Ham

Ingredients: Ham Cured With Water, Salt, Sodium Lactate, Sugar, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Erythorbate, Sodium Nitrite. Glazed With Sugar, Gelatin, Paprika (Color), Maltodextrin, Food Starch – Modified, Dextrose, Refinery Syrup, Honey, Spices, Natural Flavoring, Brown Sugar. Invert Sugar.

Honey Baked Ham

Ingredients: Ham Cured with Water, Salt, Contains 2% or less of Sugar, Sodium Lactate, Sodium Phosphate, Sodium Diacetate, Sodium Erythorbate, Sodium Nitrite. Glazed with Sugar, Gelatin, Paprika (Color), Maltodextrin, Food Starch – Modified, Dextrose, Refinery Syrup, Honey, Spices, Natural Flavoring, Brown Sugar, Invert Sugar.

Nor-TX Enthusiast

I just called the location in North Dallas and he said the spiral hams are totally gluten free!!! Guess what we are eating on the 25th! :rolleyes:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GFinDC Veteran

Hormel makes some gluten free hams you can buy in a supermarket. Not the same as Honey baked but just another option. Here is a link to their gluten-free product list. Check out the Cure 81 hams.

Open Original Shared Link

lovegrov Collaborator

No luck involved. They have been gluten-free for a while. Nothing to fear there.

richard

luvs2eat Collaborator

Honey Baked Hams are gluten free. They changed their recipe I think about two years ago. Here you can find all of the nutritional information on their hams: Open Original Shared Link . I'm very sensitive, and I've never had a problem with their hams. Happy eating!

Having nothing to do w/ anything... that's the cutest puppy I've ever seen!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,802
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Bobby L Sanchez
    Newest Member
    Bobby L Sanchez
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • DebJ14
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
×
×
  • Create New...