Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Concerns About The Lay's Stax Hidden Valley Ranch


msserena

Recommended Posts

msserena Apprentice

Ok my concerns are this: The chips are said to be gluten free, however the product they are using in the chips are not. So there fore this product isnt gluten free.

This is what I copied and pasted from Hidden Valley Ranch website:

Q. Do Hidden Valley® Dressing and Dips Mixes and Hidden Valley® Bottled Dressing contain gluten?

A. Our Hidden Valley® Dressing and Dips Mixes and Hidden Valley® Bottled Dressings do not have gluten added as an ingredient, but the products may contain low levels of gluten depending on the source ingredients.

I had to actually stop using their Ranch dressing because it makes me severe sick.

I am just wondering how they can declare these chips gluten free?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



KaitiUSA Enthusiast

The Hidden Valley dressings have nothing to do with that flavor of Lays STAXX chips. The Lays STAXX chips are made on a dedicated gluten free line and have different ingredients then the dressings and mixes from Hidden Valley. I don't think the information about the chips would even be on the Hidden Valley site.

Carriefaith Enthusiast

Do the chips make you sick too?

msserena Apprentice

Wow quick reply and thanks

The concerns are , they even show the bottle of Hidden Valley Ranch dressing on their chip bottle.

So that means they are using Hidden Valley Ranch dressing in them chips. Right?

Carriefaith Enthusiast

They are listed here as gluten free with this warning *The above products do not contain gluten; however, they are produced on the same line as our products that do contain gluten. Although the lines are washed between batches, a slight residue may remain on the lines. Individuals who are extremely sensitive may be affected.

Open Original Shared Link

However, Lays Stax are apparently on separate lines, so it doesn't make sence that they would have that warning for the Stax too. Confusing stuff... If you are still unsure maybe call the company. Or maybe someone here has already asked the company about them. I personally don't eat lays stuff.

msserena Apprentice

No Carrie I havnt tryed the chips since I seen that they had the bottle of Hidden Valley Ranch on them. Since it makes me sick just seeing the bottle makes me cringe lol

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

I was told they are the same as the other staxx(made on a dedicated line). They do not have the same ingredients as in the dressings. Just because it has the picture of the bottle does not mean it has the same ingredients. :D


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



msserena Apprentice

LOL well I figured that Hidden Valley Ranch was in them since they have it displayed on the chip bottle.

Thats why I had some concerns because if indeed Hidden Valley Ranch was in the chips then they would not be gluten free.

mytummyhurts Contributor
I was told they are the same as the other staxx(made on a dedicated line). They do not have the same ingredients as in the dressings. Just because it has the picture of the bottle does not mean it has the same ingredients.  :D

Yeah, I bet they just use that name but the ingredients could be totally different. If it makes you feel any better I'm not crazy about the ranch ones anyways. I like the sour cream and onion and the cheddar cheese better! ;)

anerissara Enthusiast

Another question on the Staxx....I noticed that the bbq flavor (which was really yummy) had a "this product is naturally gluten free" lable on it, but the pizza flavor did not. I assume that they are *all* gluten-free if they are made on a dedicated line, but is there a reason why they wouldn't put the lable on some flavors?

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Yes, some of them have that label on it and some do not but they are all made on the dedicated line

Carriefaith Enthusiast

Why can't they just be consistent with their labeling ;)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,733
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Debbeighe
    Newest Member
    Debbeighe
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • cristiana
      You are most welcome, Marie.  Thank you for getting in touch, because this sort of post will be seen by other parents who find themselves in this position, I am sure there are many.   And as I say, in the long run, I am sure your daughter will be sorry for what she said.  I remember having a go at my dear Mum when I was in my twenties about something and then apologising, saying, "I don't know how you put up with me."  I can't remember her exact words but it was something along the lines of, "I used to say things like to my Mum.  Now it's my turn [to be on the receiving end]!"    😂  Although it isn't very nice to be on the receiving end, it is good your daughter feels safe to say these things to you. We look forward to hearing from you again in due course.  
    • Wheatwacked
      Are You Confused About Your Celiac Disease Lab Results? Some people test negative but have a positive biopsy, others test positive but negative biopsy.  This is why it can take years and misdiagnosis of other diseases that Celiac Disease can mimic. The above link is a good read with real life examples. Something I find interesting is that in 1980 or so a new diagnosis was created, Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, only 10 years after Norman Borlaug won the Nobel Peace Prize for creating our modern wheat and the Green Revolution.    
    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
×
×
  • Create New...