Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Popcorn At The Movies


Cheryl-C

Recommended Posts

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

So I know that the air-popped popcorn I make at home, with butter, is gluten-free and awesome, but what about at the movies? I may be going to the movies tonight, and would love to have some movie theatre popcorn. (They just do it better!) Is there any reason I shouldn't? What about the topping issue - butter vs becel?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master

Try this link.

Open Original Shared Link

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

Thanks for the link. So basically it looks like movie popcorn *should* be gluten-free, but no one is willing to commit 100%. I didn't even think about the cc from hot dog buns, etc - my brain must be on vacation today. Thanks!

kareng Grand Master

Thanks for the link. So basically it looks like movie popcorn *should* be gluten-free, but no one is willing to commit 100%. I didn't even think about the cc from hot dog buns, etc - my brain must be on vacation today. Thanks!

Its the CYA statement. They don't know where the popcorn was before they bought it. Probably in a popcorn processing plant.

I went to AMC when it was busy and had popcorn. It was so busy one person makes drinks, one made popcorn, one took money. The popcorn is very separate at our theater from hotdog buns. Its always possible someone had a crumb on their hands but we just go the plain popcorn and soda.

Cheryl-C Enthusiast

Update:

We went to the movies on Friday, and I had plain popcorn (no topping). I ate it hesitantly at first, but after it didn't make me sick, I relaxed and enjoyed it. No pain, no problems. Yay!

kareng Grand Master

Update:

We went to the movies on Friday, and I had plain popcorn (no topping). I ate it hesitantly at first, but after it didn't make me sick, I relaxed and enjoyed it. No pain, no problems. Yay!

Yay!

We go to movies so seldom that getting popcorn is fun!

lovegrov Collaborator

Plain popcorn at the movies will always be gluten-free and the chance of CC is so minimal that I can't imagine anybody losing sleep over it. In addition, the largest maker of toppings in the U.S., Flavacol (sp?) has said its toppings are gluten-free. This is just my personal experience, but after years of searching and checking labels and calling, I've never found a theater popcorn -- plain OR topped -- with gluten. I have long since decided -- and this is something everybody has to decide for him or herself -- that theater popcorn is not something I'm going to worry about.

richard


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Bebee posted a topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      0

      Testing for celiac

    2. - K6315 replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?

    3. - kate g posted a topic in Gluten-Free Restaurants
      0

      Nandos improper preparion celiac childrens food

    4. - Scott Adams replied to TexasCeliacNewbie's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      3

      High blood test numbers - with scales. Any advice?

    5. - trents replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,758
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Sarah Dustin
    Newest Member
    Sarah Dustin
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...