Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need A Fast Reply Help!


jlee2

Recommended Posts

jlee2 Rookie

I am having my wisdom teeth out tomorrow and want to have something soft to eat other than jello. Does anyone know if the kraft instant puddin is LACTOSE FREE?? I know it is safe from gluten as they list it as an allergen and if the modified cornstarch was from gluten they would say, but I am also lactose free. I was planning on making it with lactaid milk. Thanks!!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ravenwoodglass Mentor

I am having my wisdom teeth out tomorrow and want to have something soft to eat other than jello. Does anyone know if the kraft instant puddin is LACTOSE FREE?? I know it is safe from gluten as they list it as an allergen and if the modified cornstarch was from gluten they would say, but I am also lactose free. I was planning on making it with lactaid milk. Thanks!!

Cornstarch is gluten free. If the label lists dairy then it would not be lactose free unless it says lactose free. Since I think dairy is one of the big 8 allergans it will be on the label if it is in the product.

kareng Grand Master

Kraft is really good about labeling all the allergens and any gluten. Dairy is required in the US to be noted in the ingredients.

I just looked at a box of pumpkin pudding I have and it doesn't look like any dairy( lactose). That's just in the powder. If you add the milk or Lactaid it would have dairy.

sunnybabi1986 Contributor

I had my wisdom teeth taken out last summer and I ate a lot of tomato soup. Here's a recipe that's fairly simple and you can use Lactaid milk to make it lactose free for you:

Ingredients:

1 cup chopped onion

1 Tablespoon oil

1 Tablespoon minced garlic

2 teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ground mustard

2 teaspoons ground coriander

1 can (28 oz) diced tomatoes

2 Tablespoons tomato paste

3 cup milk

1 cup chicken or vegetable broth

1 cup cooked lentils (optional)

Prep:

Heat oil, add onion, and saute for about 3 minutes or until soft but not brown. Add garlic and spices. Cook for another minute or so. Carefully add tomatoes and tomato paste. Simmer for 4 minutes. Add milk and broth. Simmer 4 more minutes, stirring occasionally.

Carefully transfer mixture to food processor or blender; process or blend until smooth and return to saucepan. Stir in lentils(if you like) and heat through.

It'll make a big batch so you'll have lots to warm up later :)

jlee2 Rookie

That recipe sounds absolutely delicious! Thanks for sharing, I will have to see if my hubby loves me enough to make that for me tomorrow when we get back!

shopgirl Contributor

Don't stress too much about the wisdom teeth. My mouth ached some for the first day and I felt absolutely fine the next day. I was just paranoid about the socket. :) By the second day, I was eating soft rice and noodles.

Plan to veg out with a good book or a few movies.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Don't stress too much about the wisdom teeth. My mouth ached some for the first time and I felt absolutely fine the next day. I was just paranoid about the socket. :) By the second day, I was eating soft rice and noodles.

Plan to veg out with a good book or a few movies.

Yea I agree. Do use the ice packs that the doctor advises you to though. It will keep swelling down. I hope the procedure goes well for you.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jlee2 Rookie

I am back home and survived lol. Pretty sore but definitely livable right now. It's weird because the back part of my

Mouth and cheeks are not frozen anymore but my chin and tongue still are like crazy. I am enjoying some of the campbells newly labelled gluten free vegetable broth! Maybe some pudding next then a nap lol.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I am back home and survived lol. Pretty sore but definitely livable right now. It's weird because the back part of my

Mouth and cheeks are not frozen anymore but my chin and tongue still are like crazy. I am enjoying some of the campbells newly labelled gluten free vegetable broth! Maybe some pudding next then a nap lol.

Glad to hear things went well. Get some rest and heal quick.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...