Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tell Me What Glutened Me From This List:


Monklady123

Recommended Posts

Monklady123 Collaborator

I made pork bbq the other day. Cooked a pork roast in the crockpot with water and some vinegar. The vinegar was "white distilled vinegar" which is supposedly gluten free.

Then after it had cooked for awhile I took off most of the liquid, shredded the meat (on a clean cutting board, using two clean forks). Then I added bottled bbq sauce (yes, I'm lazy, lol). Here's what's in that:

corn syrup

water

tomato juice

vinegar

food starch-modified

honey

salt

paprika

molasses

natural hickory smoke flavor

spice

mustard flour

guar gum

caramel color

garlic and onion powder

some artificial color

No allergen listing at all. I called the company and they're calling the distributor and getting back to me.

But I just wondered if you all had any ideas. I've googled all the suspect things and I see that any smoke flavor might be from barley, which wouldn't have to be listed under the allergens.

Well anyway, just wondered what you all thought. I really should just make my own. Is it hard to make bbq sauce? If that's a dumb question please don't laugh. :P I hate to cook.

Oh, and of course the reason I'm asking all this is that I was sick yesterday and still feeling a bit icky today. That was Saturday night and I had nothing else to eat on Saturday that could have glutened me. I'm sure about that because I ate at home on Saturday. Grits for breakfast, an apple with peanut butter for snack, salad for lunch with the usual stuff and same salad dressing that I always eat (same bottle that's already opened and I've already eaten half of it with no ill effects.)

sigh... :ph34r:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



snifter Apprentice

Food starch modified ?

kareng Grand Master

A lot of BBQ sauces are gluten-free but maybe not all. What brand did you use? I use a local brand and sometimes KC Masterpiece regular flavor which I saw somewhere is gluten-free. ( maybe their website?). I heard that Sweet baby rays brand is too.

Open Original Shared Link

Monklady123 Collaborator

A lot of BBQ sauces are gluten-free but maybe not all. What brand did you use? I use a local brand and sometimes KC Masterpiece regular flavor which I saw somewhere is gluten-free. ( maybe their website?). I heard that Sweet baby rays brand is too.

Open Original Shared Link

Karen, it was the local store brand, Giant Food.

psawyer Proficient

Food starch modified ?

If it was wheat, it would have to say so. It is usually tapioca or corn.

Monklady123 Collaborator

If it was wheat, it would have to say so. It is usually tapioca or corn.

Yes, thanks to this board I know about the modified food starches. But I'm suspicious about the smoke flavoring or where it says "spices". I guess the bottom line is that it's best not to trust anything processed like this unless I've seen a specific reply from the company to say it has no gluten ingredients.

psawyer Proficient

No grain product can be listed as "spices" in an ingredient list in Canada or the United States. In both countries, wheat is a top allergen which can not be hidden.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



starrytrekchic Apprentice

I wouldn't trust the cutting board, if you used to use it with gluten things (esp if it's wood.)

What all did you have to drink?

sunnybabi1986 Contributor

I made this recipe awhile back and it was delicious! You make your own BBQ sauce, pour it over the meat, and cook in the crock pot(like you did) until it's nice and soft...just be sure to use a gluten free soy sauce like La Choy :)

Open Original Shared Link

p.s. I just subbed white vinegar for white wine vinegar, I don't think it makes any difference :)

kate1 Newbie

Theres a really good forbidden list on the home page on here and a safe list and also some possibles that possibly maybe derived from wheat.

I had a similar experience with some gluten free gravy mix and just could not work out what it was that made me so ill. Mine also had caramel in but caramel powder and only going from memory but thought I read it can be a possible can caramel as derived from wheat.Have a look at the list on there it is really long but useful as I am not sure I am remembering right.

my stomach reacted almost immediately to the gravy and I had the runs ALL night.

Mine also had garlic powder, onion powder, mushroom powder and lots of other stuff.

Monklady123 Collaborator

No grain product can be listed as "spices" in an ingredient list in Canada or the United States. In both countries, wheat is a top allergen which can not be hidden.

Yah, I know they have to list wheat. But if something has barley in it are they required to list "gluten"? I know they don't have to list the actual barley since that's not a top allergen. Whatever I was reading earlier said that "smoke flavoring" can be made from grain, but I'm wondering if that grain has to be wheat or could it be barley?

In any case, I won't be buying this brand anymore. :ph34r:

Monklady123 Collaborator

I made this recipe awhile back and it was delicious! You make your own BBQ sauce, pour it over the meat, and cook in the crock pot(like you did) until it's nice and soft...just be sure to use a gluten free soy sauce like La Choy :)

Open Original Shared Link

p.s. I just subbed white vinegar for white wine vinegar, I don't think it makes any difference :)

Thanks for this recipe. It looks pretty easy, even for a non-cook like me! I've added it to my recipe folder and I'll try it next time. :)

Marlie Apprentice

I made pork bbq the other day. Cooked a pork roast in the crockpot with water and some vinegar. The vinegar was "white distilled vinegar" which is supposedly gluten free.

Then after it had cooked for awhile I took off most of the liquid, shredded the meat (on a clean cutting board, using two clean forks). Then I added bottled bbq sauce (yes, I'm lazy, lol). Here's what's in that:

corn syrup

water

tomato juice

vinegar

food starch-modified

honey

salt

paprika

molasses

natural hickory smoke flavor

spice

mustard flour

guar gum

caramel color

garlic and onion powder

some artificial color

No allergen listing at all. I called the company and they're calling the distributor and getting back to me.

But I just wondered if you all had any ideas. I've googled all the suspect things and I see that any smoke flavor might be from barley, which wouldn't have to be listed under the allergens.

Well anyway, just wondered what you all thought. I really should just make my own. Is it hard to make bbq sauce? If that's a dumb question please don't laugh. :P I hate to cook.

Oh, and of course the reason I'm asking all this is that I was sick yesterday and still feeling a bit icky today. That was Saturday night and I had nothing else to eat on Saturday that could have glutened me. I'm sure about that because I ate at home on Saturday. Grits for breakfast, an apple with peanut butter for snack, salad for lunch with the usual stuff and same salad dressing that I always eat (same bottle that's already opened and I've already eaten half of it with no ill effects.)

sigh... :ph34r:

I would be suspect of artificial color, smoke flavor, modified food starch means although its not wheat it can be barley, mustard flour.

Keela Newbie

Here is my BBQ sauce recipe, it's easy and takes 10 min.

BBQ sauce aka Sassy Sauce

Yields 3 cups

2 cups ketchup

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon red pepper

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon celery salt

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1/2 cup prepared yellow mustard

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 tablespoon ground black pepper

2 teaspoons dales or liquid smoke seasoning

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons canola oil

Combine everything except oil and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 min. Simmer for 8 min

Remove from heat and whisk in oil.

That's it!

Keela Newbie

Here is my BBQ sauce recipe, it's easy and takes 10 min.

BBQ sauce aka Sassy Sauce

Yields 3 cups

2 cups ketchup

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup cider vinegar

1/2 teaspoon red pepper

1/2 teaspoon paprika

1/2 teaspoon celery salt

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons garlic powder

1/2 cup prepared yellow mustard

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 tablespoon ground black pepper

2 teaspoons dales or liquid smoke seasoning

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

2 tablespoons canola oil

Combine everything except oil and bring to a boil. Boil for 2 min. Simmer for 8 min

Remove from heat and whisk in oil.

That's it!

Did you check your pork? I have bought roast before that had wheat flour on it to help with browning... It's annoying really

pacificfords Newbie

I thought I read somewhere on the site that caramel color can have gluten. I may have read it somewhere elase, but the article was talking about some coca cola products that might not be gluten free because of the caramel color. I am new... just chiming in. :) I have LOTS to learn, but I wondered about that.

possiblyglutensensitive Explorer

Yah, I know they have to list wheat. But if something has barley in it are they required to list "gluten"? I know they don't have to list the actual barley since that's not a top allergen. Whatever I was reading earlier said that "smoke flavoring" can be made from grain, but I'm wondering if that grain has to be wheat or could it be barley?

In any case, I won't be buying this brand anymore. :ph34r:

Spices? Caramel colour? artificial colour? IDK...

I don't think they have to speficy barley (or gluten in general), only wheat.

Jestgar Rising Star

Did you check your pork? I have bought roast before that had wheat flour on it to help with browning... It's annoying really

eeeewwww!! Why would they do such a thing?!?!?

psawyer Proficient

Spices? Caramel colour? artificial colour? IDK...

I don't think they have to speficy barley (or gluten in general), only wheat.

As posted above, grain products can not be labeled as "Spices." Spices, as an ingredient, is gluten-free.

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.
[Emphasis in original]
Monklady123 Collaborator

Thanks Peter. :) I've started a folder in Evernote where I'm keeping on the info on things like caramel color, modified food starch, etc. -- all the ones that we persist in getting wrong. :rolleyes: So much to remember... I can't imagine my gluten-free life without this board and its wealth of information.

I still haven't heard back from the bbq sauce company so I can't give an answer yet.

possiblyglutensensitive Explorer

As posted above, grain products can not be labeled as "Spices." Spices, as an ingredient, is gluten-free.

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

[Emphasis in original]

Where can I get an updated list of gluten free stuff? I had just read in a book I got from the library that caramel color and spices possibly contained gluten

Monklady123 Collaborator

Where can I get an updated list of gluten free stuff? I had just read in a book I got from the library that caramel color and spices possibly contained gluten

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...