Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Stevia Is Not Necessarily Gluten Free


Abbaskid

Recommended Posts

Abbaskid Newbie

I inquired of the manufacturer, Wisdom Nutrition, how their stevia was made (Brand Name is SweetLeaf "100% Natural Stevia Sweetener"? I cut-n-pasted the quote from the email: "SweetLeaf Sweetener is blended with Inulin, a prebiotic all natural soluble fiber which aids digestive health. The fiber is solely derived from chicory root." Then they stated "As with all SweetLeaf products; zero chemicals, zero alcohol sugars, zero gluten, zero msg, zero carbs, zero glycemic index and zero calories". Well its its made with the fiber derived from chicory root, and we know that chicory root is NOT gluten free...I have my doubts whether this product is truly 100% free of gluten. I let them know my thoughts so hopefully they will look into it and re-test their product. I won't be getting it, that's for sure.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



dilettantesteph Collaborator

What on earth makes you think that chicory root is not gluten free? It is the root from the plant Cichorium intybus. It is not wheat, barley or rye or derived from them. Of course, during processing it could get contaminated with gluten as anything can, but it is naturally gluten free.

modiddly16 Enthusiast

I'm not sure where you've gotten your information because I've definitely never heard or experienced that Chicory Root is not gluten free. It's a natural herb. So when you say "we definitely all know that Chicory Root is NOT gluten free", please provide us with some documentation of such so we can do our best not to spread false information. Being gluten free is hard enough without inaccuracies flying around!

jerseyangel Proficient

As mentioned, chicory is gluten free.

If the op had a problem with this product, it could be the inulin, which can cause GI issues in some people (like me)--but this has nothing to do with gluten.

sa1937 Community Regular

Chicory root is an ingredient in some of Pamela's Products that are indeed gluten-free.

Open Original Shared Link

GFinDC Veteran

Chicory is a wild flower, not a wild flower child, but just a wild flower.

Open Original Shared Link

It is actually a pretty blue flower that grows in lots of pastures and grassy areas. They use it in some coffee blends also.

Chicory gotz no gluten in it.

But I can see a wild flower child wearing cornflowers in her hair. Why not? :D

I have read on here before a post by someone who had a reaction to a stevia blend. So maybe it is something else in the stevia causing a problem? We can develop intolerances to just about anything it seems. Just check my signature.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

I have read on here before a post by someone who had a reaction to a stevia blend. So maybe it is something else in the stevia causing a problem? We can develop intolerances to just about anything it seems. Just check my signature.

Stevia is in the ragweed family so if someone is allergic to ragweed they may have problems with stevia. I am allergic to ragweed and get an allergic reaction to it but it is not a gluten reaction.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 2 years later...
biancad Newbie

The issue with Stevia (especially the liquid) is that most of them are processed in a gluten facility. I'll be passing my new bottle along to someone else and opting for pure stevia powder.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,875
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Charli.stoz09
    Newest Member
    Charli.stoz09
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...