Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Yeast Extract


GFreeMO

Recommended Posts

GFreeMO Proficient

I am wondering what exactly yeast extract is. I made some soup using Progresso Chicken Broth. It is labeled gluten free. I am wondering however about the yeast extract. I have read that it is made from barley. Is this correct and if so, how can this product be gluten free.

Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JenniLu Newbie

Yeast extract, like MSG, often contains free glutamic acid. I avoid autolyzed yeast, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, & MSG. Not because they contain gluten, but because of the free glutamic acid. MSG can make you feel ill too, if you are sensitive to it. I can tell the difference anyway.

sa1937 Community Regular

I don't know exactly what yeast extract is but I do know Progresso chicken broth is safe and I use it all the time (as well as their beef broth). I do trust General Mills with their labeling.

GFreeMO Proficient

I trust General Mills as well. I use the Progresso Broths all the time and I really love the Chicken Corn Chowder soup. I was just wondering what yeast extract is b/c I have read that it's made from barley. Theirs must not be or I would be sick right now. Anyone know what yeast extract is and where it comes from?

sa1937 Community Regular

I trust General Mills as well. I use the Progresso Broths all the time and I really love the Chicken Corn Chowder soup. I was just wondering what yeast extract is b/c I have read that it's made from barley. Theirs must not be or I would be sick right now. Anyone know what yeast extract is and where it comes from?

I googled it and came up with a couple of links. Actually it's not something we'd add in a hundred years if we cooked totally from scratch. I checked and it's also in the Pacific Foods gluten-free beef broth I bought today.

Open Original Shared Link

Open Original Shared Link

Lisa Mentor
Open Original Shared Link
psawyer Proficient

Although barley can be used in the process to create yeast extract, the amount of barley prolamin (avenin) is less than one part per million in the result. When the percentage of the product that is represented by the yeast extract is considered, the final product contains at most a few parts per billion of avenin--far, far below detectable levels. Yeast extract, and autolyzed yeast, are not things that I worry about.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



GFreeMO Proficient

Thanks everyone for the info. My chicken and rice casserole would not be the same without Progresso broth.

  • 2 weeks later...
GlutenFreeCeliacChick44124 Newbie

Has anyone evet tried Progresso's French Onion Soup, it says Gluten Free, but I was just wondering if there was any bad experences. Thanks!

sa1937 Community Regular

Has anyone evet tried Progresso's French Onion Soup, it says Gluten Free, but I was just wondering if there was any bad experences. Thanks!

Yes, I've used it without any problems.

cap6 Enthusiast

I use the cram of mushroom in recipes with no problems. yummy!

  • 4 years later...
Rick Borchert Newbie

Although barley can be used in the process to create yeast extract, the amount of barley prolamin (avenin) is less than one part per million in the result. When the percentage of the product that is represented by the yeast extract is considered, the final product contains at most a few parts per billion of avenin--far, far below detectable levels. Yeast extract, and autolyzed yeast, are not things that I worry about.

Hi Peter,

 

Is this still your position? I see it matches what the University of Chicago says here:

Open Original Shared Link

 

but this dietician makes a strong case for "maybe" because it depends on the source of the yeast and recommends checking with the manufacturer to be sure:

Open Original Shared Link

 

Thanks for the great site,

Rick

psawyer Proficient

Hi, Rick, and welcome to the forum.
 
My position on this question has not changed.
 
The dietitian you reference has limited credibility in my books because of over-the-top claims like this one. The numbers cited are from Marmite, a product known to be made from spent yeast from the brewing process ("brewers yeast"). We know that isn't safe for us. Further, in Marmite, the yeast extract is not an incidental ingredient, it is the main ingredient.
 
Despite it not being required by FALCPA, most manufacturers in the US voluntarily label any gluten source, including barley. That list includes (among others) Campbell's, Con Agra, General Mills, Hormel, Kraft, Nestle, Unilever, and all their owned brands. As the dietitian noted, in Canada disclosure is mandatory.

So, again, my position remains unchanged.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,798
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Brookssarah89
    Newest Member
    Brookssarah89
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...